We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food beautiful view”

The Rod and Reel Restaurant and Pub
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Restaurant that has become a way of life, where quality, service and value are of utmost importance. Our dishes are prepared on order. So sit back, relax and enjoy your meal with us.
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food beautiful view”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This restaurant is on top of the mountain next to Castleton.
You can see the entire coast from Robberg to Keurbooms Lagoon.

The fresh fried fish was some of the best I've had in years.
The beer is cold and service efficient.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GustavWdeBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    12
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not the best in Plett!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had sunday lunch there as a family and the food was not good at all, some of the food was just terrible and unedible, others were just so, so! Not the best food available in Plett. There were just two other tables eating lunch and being in season, Plett is busy busy, it makes you wonder? Prices were comparible for food and wine and service okay but not a great meal by any means!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hellodoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice setting and food”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Went for evening dinner. Not really any atmosphere, but the menu tells a different story. The wine was very well priced. Eat the Angel and Kingklip for mains, with superb veggies. The food was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Centrino583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I ate there for the first time on 15 November 2013 and it was very good. Good, homely food at a good price. We had mussels in a creamy curry sauce and grilled calamari as starters and it was brilliant. The mussels and calamari were very fresh and prepared perfectly.

For mains we had the Surf and Turf (succulent steak and deep fried calamari) and Queen Prawns with garlic butter and rice respectively. Sumptuous vegetables like spinach, pumpkin and beetroot are served with all main meals.

We washed all of this down with wine. Their wine list is not very long, but the wines on offer are drinkable and averagely priced. This is not a wine bar, so you don't expect the best wines in the country to be on offer.

The view from the deck of the restaurant is magnificent, but only when it is not raining. On a warm sunny day, having a beer on the deck will be brilliant.

The waiting staff are friendly and efficient, especially Arthur a.k.a Piet who was a joy and service was his priority.

We enjoyed this dinner so much, that we went there again on 17 November 2013 for their Sunday Lunch Special. For only R85.00 per person you get a three course meal to die for. You have different choices in each course and once again the food was divine. This is probably the best value for money anywhere in the country.

We will definitely eat there again when we are in Plettenberg Bay.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We went here a couple of times while in Plett. As another reviewer says, it's a favorite of the locals. Always fresh, delicious fish but they also have other pub grub and the prices are good. Great view over the bay. It's a little hard to find because it's not downtown, but just ask a local and they'll point you in the right direction. You can dine indoors or out on the patio. There's even a fenced-in playground downstairs for the kiddos!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav-Bug222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rod and Reel Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing