We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed at a few places in Plett before, but this one is special.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpackers Beach House Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
pretoria
1 review
“Stayed at a few places in Plett before, but this one is special.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The value far exceeds the price. Best bet would be to go for the Room with a View. Also, try to have a braai while you there, the setup is perfect.
Management are very helpful and friendly, and makes you feel that you can ask for any assistance without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonckjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear valued guest

Thank you for your great review and taking the trouble to send it. We appreciate all feedback and especially the complements :-) We hope the rest of your journey was a success and an enjoyable one.

Hopefully see you soon!

Kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    31
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
34
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were a group of teenagers weren't looking for something to expensive on the beach front, close by to everything just one disadvantage is as of June 2013 they didn't have WiFi in the lodge but he said that it will be coming within a month, great service there are three rooms one room has place for 6 people on bunk beds (which has a bath room inside) the other two rooms have a master bed, we had a great time, next time we come to plet we will for sure go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Levi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear valued guest
We appreciate you taking the time to send a review and once again apologize for the problem with wifi, we trust that this should be sorted out soon and sure by your next visit all should be working
Kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

There is no way you can beat these guys we had an epic stay super friendly staff right on the beach you can have a drink overlooking the a section of the main beach great rooms and very safe if you're looking for a place to stay in plett by my experience this is the best for sure!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thechad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear valued Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to send your review,it is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you in the very near future.
Kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Three mates and myself arrived early on Saturday monring and weregreeted by Charles at the front desk who extended a warm welcome to us. We enjoyed a clean and neat sleeping area, safe places to leave our valuables and a working kitchen and fridge tokeep our groceries in. The pool, braai and bonfire facilites provided much entertinament and allowed us to enjoy a really good vibe!

This is definitely the most upmarket and well run backpackers we have stayed in and definitely will be returning! The staff are super friendly and accommodating and I would highly recommend this spot to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Wesley thank you so much for taking the time to send your wonderful review ,we really appreciate it and hope to see you soon.
Regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Amazing spur of the moment surf trip up to plett, found a cool looking back backpackesr with a cheap rate, to be honest wasnt holding only to any hope of what we actually experienced. In marketing satisfaction is defined as the difference between expectation and experience - my word were we more than satisfied! Charles the man who looks after the place was maybe the most hospitable host i have ever had the pleasure of meeting, went out of his way to make sure our stay was amazing. The location and actual beach house is beyond insane, cant imagine chilling in this spot in summer! The fire pit is awesome and the place is spotlessly clean, you know this when you cant even find sand in a BEACH house! Cant stop smiling from one of the best weekends away we have ever had! So so so much stoke! Thank you so much again for having us!

Room Tip: dorm rooms are a budget option, not the most comfortable matresses in the world but thats what you e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillSouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hi Sara
Thank you so much for your wonderful review it is greatly appreciated, we would love to accommodate yourselves again should you be passing by this way.Thank you for choosing backpackers beach house as your prefered accommodation in Plett.
kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Amazingly helpful and knowledgeable management and staff.
This converted beach house has amazing views and impeccably clean rooms and facilities. Easy to find from town but the only one of its kind located right on the beach. Think VIP accommodations for affordable prices.
We enjoyed our breakfast on the deck overlooking the sun rise & the whales swimming on by.

Beach House Backpackers will take care of you from recommendations of restaurants to potential discounts on local touristy attractions. Staff has a lot of experience in the tourism business which also comes with connections!

Our favorite stay on the Garden Route!!!

Room Tip: Dorms are great and affordable! If you can- GO FOR THE SUITE! Worth every rand ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraMarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hi Sara
Thank you so much for your wonderful review it is greatly appreciated, we would love to accommodate yourselves again should you be passing by this way.Thank you for choosing backpackers beach house as your prefered accommodation in Plett.
kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

people there are very friendly and keen to help, location is brilliant as you can 'roll' out of the bed to the beach ;-) - the kitchen you can use is always clean and got everything you need. Service 100%!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear valued guest Thank you for choosing backpackers beach house as your preferred accommodation and thank you for your great review. We look forward to hosting your stay should you pass this way again.We do cater for all ages and was nice to have the young crowd at your time of stay.
kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
3.2 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#21 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#19 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#9 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesth...
#28 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Beach House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Beach House Lodge

Property: Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Address: 5 Meeding Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At backpackers beach house lodge we brag a perfect location on the main beach of Plett and only 3 streets away from Plett central. We are a 4 Star Backpackers and lodge (TGSCA)Plettenberg bay is a haven for outdoor and nature based activities, all of which our experienced staff will gladly organise and book for you. We offer a comprehensive information centre at our front reception and can advice on all activities available in and around Plett. When staying with us you will qualify for a discount at selected activities and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Beach House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing