We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation of my whole trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
“Best accomodation of my whole trip”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Friendly, familiar atmosphere. Staff always helpful. Rooms in best condition and seaview from the rooms and the terrace. Safe and relaxing stay. For all kinds of guests recommendable. Best accomodation of my whole trip!


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mareike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    31
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
34
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vledder, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have spend 3 nights in this hostel. The view from the double room is really amazing. The beds are very good (also in the dorm). The staff is really friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, just a few steps from the beach. I call this hostel a hidden pearl because it is not often mentioned in travel books (like the coast to coast). The only disadvantage is that there is no wifi, however, there is an internet café nearby. But to be honest, you don't need internet here. The hostel owner arranged my next hostel and my Bazbus (backpackers bus) reservation. Really nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear valued guest

Thanks so much for your awesome review! We are in the process of sorting out the wifi and do apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please contact us if you are in the area again.

Kind regards
Ninette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Well, from the photos on the website to actually spending time at this establishment, it definitely lived up to expectations! What you see is what you get. It has definitely raised the bar for other backpacker resorts in my book. Well done to Leonard Friedman for a fine place!
They cater for all types of travellers, couples, friends doing the backpacker thing even business travellers. Ideally located right on the beach with a boardwalk to the main beach in Plett. Awesome view from the deck above the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Depending on your needs if you are a couple travelling on a tight budget for special occasions the D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear valued guest

Thank you for the great review! We hope to have you back here with us soon, maybe summer this time?

Kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Thanks everyone at the Backpackers Beach House Lodge, and especially thank you Charles!!!
We stayed 4 nights (end Oct 2013) and we felt at home since the beginning! Great place for braii, amazing view from the room and from the table-bar, where you can have the delicious breakfast served. All the staff is very professional and friendly, and the quality of the service/accomodation is way above the standards.
At walking distance along the beach you can also find nice restaurants and pubs, making it the perfect location in Plett!

I would recommend this place to everyone, who want a friendly atmosphere, top accomodation and low price!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Everything that the other reviews say about Backpackers Beach House Lodge is true! The location is excellent and the staff are charming and very helpful.

There were just a couple drawbacks. We stayed in the private flat. The kitchen wasn't really stocked as if people were really going to cook there. It lacked dish soap for doing dishes, a frying pan, a coffee maker, etc. The bathroom was also very much like a backpackers in terms of cleanliness and less like the beautiful accommodations that were otherwise in the flat. With those considerations in mind, I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaplessTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The value far exceeds the price. Best bet would be to go for the Room with a View. Also, try to have a braai while you there, the setup is perfect.
Management are very helpful and friendly, and makes you feel that you can ask for any assistance without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonckjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear valued guest

Thank you for your great review and taking the trouble to send it. We appreciate all feedback and especially the complements :-) We hope the rest of your journey was a success and an enjoyable one.

Hopefully see you soon!

Kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were a group of teenagers weren't looking for something to expensive on the beach front, close by to everything just one disadvantage is as of June 2013 they didn't have WiFi in the lodge but he said that it will be coming within a month, great service there are three rooms one room has place for 6 people on bunk beds (which has a bath room inside) the other two rooms have a master bed, we had a great time, next time we come to plet we will for sure go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear valued guest
We appreciate you taking the time to send a review and once again apologize for the problem with wifi, we trust that this should be sorted out soon and sure by your next visit all should be working
Kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Cottage
Stone Cottage
#35 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bliss on Beacon Isle
Bliss on Beacon Isle
#29 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
774 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesth...
#30 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Beach House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Beach House Lodge

Property: Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Address: 5 Meeding Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At backpackers beach house lodge we brag a perfect location on the main beach of Plett and only 3 streets away from Plett central. We are a 4 Star Backpackers and lodge (TGSCA)Plettenberg bay is a haven for outdoor and nature based activities, all of which our experienced staff will gladly organise and book for you. We offer a comprehensive information centre at our front reception and can advice on all activities available in and around Plett. When staying with us you will qualify for a discount at selected activities and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Beach House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing