We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner with a BAD ATTITUDE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Position is good although right on a busy car park. Accommodation is very white cold and not at all homely, best suited for summer months. The owner extremely aggressive and unfriendly, he's clearly in the wrong business, not at all accommodating, treats his guests like the are in the army, house rules unreasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest
My apologies regarding house rules ,It unfortunately is something that is necessary to prevent damage and disturbance to fellow guests . I do understand that the annual matric rage is for you to have fun ,but unfortunately we could not allow you to party in the room at 3 am in the morning which disturbs the guests right next door to yourselves.No smoking in the rooms is displayed through out the premises.
Trust you will understand the above .
Regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Beach House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

After searching the whole of Plett for affordable but safe accommodation for the annual Matrics Plett Rage, I found "Rage Heaven" as our boys renamed it! The location can not be more perfect - it is right on the beach, the facilities are run with a "firm" hand (just what our boys needed) and years of experience. The managers arranged transport to and from venues for the kids and in general, kept them in line for the week. The accommodation was clean, spacious and in very good condition. We (the parents) are definitely returning to spend some time there ourselves! I can highly recommend the Beach House as a first stop for all parents having to make arrangements for Plett Rage.

Room Tip: We booked a family unit (queen size bed + double bunks) that had a kitchenette and en-suite bathroom...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in November and found the place to be excellent value. The location is perfect just on the beach and the hostel itself it clean and tidy. We were in the private room with the bathroom across the hall, although it was meant to be solely for our use we did it notice it being used by others. The room itself was superb with its own private access to the courtyard. Charles the owner is a great host and will make you feel right at home. We would recommend it to anyone visiting Plett.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Friendly, familiar atmosphere. Staff always helpful. Rooms in best condition and seaview from the rooms and the terrace. Safe and relaxing stay. For all kinds of guests recommendable. Best accomodation of my whole trip!


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mareike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have spend 3 nights in this hostel. The view from the double room is really amazing. The beds are very good (also in the dorm). The staff is really friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, just a few steps from the beach. I call this hostel a hidden pearl because it is not often mentioned in travel books (like the coast to coast). The only disadvantage is that there is no wifi, however, there is an internet café nearby. But to be honest, you don't need internet here. The hostel owner arranged my next hostel and my Bazbus (backpackers bus) reservation. Really nice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear valued guest

Thanks so much for your awesome review! We are in the process of sorting out the wifi and do apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please contact us if you are in the area again.

Kind regards
Ninette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Well, from the photos on the website to actually spending time at this establishment, it definitely lived up to expectations! What you see is what you get. It has definitely raised the bar for other backpacker resorts in my book. Well done to Leonard Friedman for a fine place!
They cater for all types of travellers, couples, friends doing the backpacker thing even business travellers. Ideally located right on the beach with a boardwalk to the main beach in Plett. Awesome view from the deck above the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Depending on your needs if you are a couple travelling on a tight budget for special occasions the D...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear valued guest

Thank you for the great review! We hope to have you back here with us soon, maybe summer this time?

Kind regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Thanks everyone at the Backpackers Beach House Lodge, and especially thank you Charles!!!
We stayed 4 nights (end Oct 2013) and we felt at home since the beginning! Great place for braii, amazing view from the room and from the table-bar, where you can have the delicious breakfast served. All the staff is very professional and friendly, and the quality of the service/accomodation is way above the standards.
At walking distance along the beach you can also find nice restaurants and pubs, making it the perfect location in Plett!

I would recommend this place to everyone, who want a friendly atmosphere, top accomodation and low price!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Cottage
Stone Cottage
#35 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bliss on Beacon Isle
Bliss on Beacon Isle
#29 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesth...
#33 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Galini Exclusive Homestay
Galini Exclusive Homestay
#25 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Beach House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Beach House Lodge

Address: 5 Meeding Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £1 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At backpackers beach house lodge we brag a perfect location on the main beach of Plett and only 3 streets away from Plett central. We are a 4 Star Backpackers and lodge (TGSCA)Plettenberg bay is a haven for outdoor and nature based activities, all of which our experienced staff will gladly organise and book for you. We offer a comprehensive information centre at our front reception and can advice on all activities available in and around Plett. When staying with us you will qualify for a discount at selected activities and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Beach House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing