We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpackers Beach House Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The staff are very friendly - the guy on reception when we arrived was great. Location is great, it is right on the beach. Very chilled atmosphere, very clean. We stayed in Bliss which was a fantastic room - excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi guys!

Hope the rest of your trip has gone great! thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it.

Happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon!

Cheers
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    31
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
34
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Friendly owners and staff, superb location right on the beach, serene accommodation with comfy bed and crisp linens, tea and coffee in the room plus a bar fridge. The patio with its sparkling pool and shady umbrellas look right out to sea and good eating places and bar are just a few steps away.

Room Tip: My room was looking out onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

beautiful location, easy, relaxed. staff was very friendly, parking more than easy. beach is right in front of the house. our room with bathroom was beautiful. wifi could be better, though :) go for it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natasa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, General Manager at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello there

Thanks so much for your great review. We have managed to sort out the wifi :-) so you can enjoy it on your return!

warm regards
Ninette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hello&please forgive the late response. I must say we really had a great time on our stay with u guys&we mostly appreciated your helpful board with list of activities we could do as we were completely blank. Keep up the good work u really made our trip a memorable one. THANK YOU once again... Mr&Mrs Unathi Mbanga

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Unathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beach House Lodge. The best part about this place is that it's literally right on the beach. Having a drink in the evening on the patio overlooking the beach and sunset was definitely a highlight. We stayed in the dorm room, which was OK. The beds were a little wiggly, but the room was clean. The private rooms looked much nicer. The manager was great, he really went out of his way to take care of us and make sure we had a good time. Also - the homemade breakfast is great and very filling, totally worth the 40 Rand!
They're still working out a few kinks, but overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lolodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello

Thanks for your super review! next time you come down to Plett contact me and I will give you a repeat business discount on a private room. Since your stay we have actually given the venue a bit of a face lift, did some painting etc as well as sorting out a few other things. I am sure you will be impressed should you return.

All the best!

Kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

There's no way getting closer to the beach, as with staying at the Backpackers Beach Lodge - except sleeping on it! So it's very well located and central to the shops and restaurants! We specially liked the helpful staff & nice atmosphere - big thanks to Ivan ;-) told you i'd mention you! Also the double-bed room we slept in, has a really big bathroom, a very cosy bed and ocean-view. And as Plettenberg is a lovely place to stay, we'd love to come back one day!
The only bad thing was, that wifi didn't work, as booking.com said they'd offer. But we were told they're working on it! But we were offered to use their office-computer -> so thumbs up!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michaela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed only one night at the Beach House Lodge but we really enjoyed it; the room was really big and overlooking the sea; at night you can listen to the waves - just amazing!
Definitely the best address in Plettenberg.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stelilsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, General Manager at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi!

Thanks for taking the time to send us a great review. Just to mention to future guest, both our double rooms and the family units are sea facing with awesome views of the ocean and beach.

We hope to see you soon and perhaps this time stay for 2 nights or more? :-)

Warm regards
Ninette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
3.2 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#21 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#19 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#9 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesth...
#28 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Beach House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Beach House Lodge

Property: Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Address: 5 Meeding Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At backpackers beach house lodge we brag a perfect location on the main beach of Plett and only 3 streets away from Plett central. We are a 4 Star Backpackers and lodge (TGSCA)Plettenberg bay is a haven for outdoor and nature based activities, all of which our experienced staff will gladly organise and book for you. We offer a comprehensive information centre at our front reception and can advice on all activities available in and around Plett. When staying with us you will qualify for a discount at selected activities and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Beach House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing