We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Awesome Backpackers”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our family enjoyed that this awesome backpackers is literally right next to the beach and offers some privacy in the loft apartment we stayed in. It's definitely worth it and may even return again when visiting Plett.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mpendulo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. When planning your next visit to Plett, please contact us directly and we will give you a special rate! All the best. Len and Ninette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    31
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
34
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in a deluxe double room with a sea view and it was horrible.

Some of the windows did not shut, therefore i did not feel 100% comfortable as our room was ground level.

In my opinion the whole hotel needs redecorating as it looks dated and tired, but that's only a superficial thing and didn't have much of an impact on our stay in the grand scheme of things.

Other members of our party stayed in a room which was advertised as having an en suite, however this was not the case, they had to go across the hall to get to the bathroom. They were told that this would be for their sole us however this was not the case. if we had known that there wasn't an en suite then we wouldn't have stayed here.

Breakfast was nice.

If you have a big car then there is only 1 space in the car park that is useable without blocking anyone else in as you cannot park next to one another you have to park one car behind the other. One night we were woken up by the staff asking us if we could move our car and let another guest in as we were leaving before the new guests in the morning. We were not parked inconsiderately, there just wasn't enough space. We were due to be up early the next morning and were not happy with the disturbance.

We also found the owner arrogant and unpleasant.

Room Tip: Pay more and go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwatson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear valued guest

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay at Backpackers beach house lodge. We are unsure as to why you did not enjoy the deluxe en suite unit and perhaps if you could be a bit more specific we can look into upgrading the room. It is the first time ever, and one can check through our tripadvisor reviews, that anyone has referred to it as a horrible room. We do understand that everyone has their own opinions and would welcome your advise as how you feel we can better the room as said above. On a safety point of view that the venue i can assure you that the venue is pretty safe and we have had no incident to date in any of our rooms. The windows incidentally do close and it is a pity that you didn't just ask one of the staff members how to close same to give you more peace of mind during your stay. We also over and above this at night when guest have all gone to bed, activate our garden alarm beams, there for giving you a safe and secure evenings sleep.

I agree with you that unfair that my staff members at the time had not orchestrated the parking bays correctly to ensure that there was no necessity to wake anybody up to move vehicles. We have ample parking in the front and rear of the establishment. This has been taken up with the staff member on duty.

I would also appreciate if you could either through tripadvisor or email me personally to let me know who was on duty that you found to be arrogant that we may investigate this matter further.

Kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The staff are very friendly - the guy on reception when we arrived was great. Location is great, it is right on the beach. Very chilled atmosphere, very clean. We stayed in Bliss which was a fantastic room - excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi guys!

Hope the rest of your trip has gone great! thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it.

Happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon!

Cheers
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Friendly owners and staff, superb location right on the beach, serene accommodation with comfy bed and crisp linens, tea and coffee in the room plus a bar fridge. The patio with its sparkling pool and shady umbrellas look right out to sea and good eating places and bar are just a few steps away.

Room Tip: My room was looking out onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

beautiful location, easy, relaxed. staff was very friendly, parking more than easy. beach is right in front of the house. our room with bathroom was beautiful. wifi could be better, though :) go for it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natasa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, General Manager at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello there

Thanks so much for your great review. We have managed to sort out the wifi :-) so you can enjoy it on your return!

warm regards
Ninette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hello&please forgive the late response. I must say we really had a great time on our stay with u guys&we mostly appreciated your helpful board with list of activities we could do as we were completely blank. Keep up the good work u really made our trip a memorable one. THANK YOU once again... Mr&Mrs Unathi Mbanga

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Unathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beach House Lodge. The best part about this place is that it's literally right on the beach. Having a drink in the evening on the patio overlooking the beach and sunset was definitely a highlight. We stayed in the dorm room, which was OK. The beds were a little wiggly, but the room was clean. The private rooms looked much nicer. The manager was great, he really went out of his way to take care of us and make sure we had a good time. Also - the homemade breakfast is great and very filling, totally worth the 40 Rand!
They're still working out a few kinks, but overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lolodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello

Thanks for your super review! next time you come down to Plett contact me and I will give you a repeat business discount on a private room. Since your stay we have actually given the venue a bit of a face lift, did some painting etc as well as sorting out a few other things. I am sure you will be impressed should you return.

All the best!

Kind regards
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Cottage
Stone Cottage
#35 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bliss on Beacon Isle
Bliss on Beacon Isle
#29 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
773 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesth...
#31 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Beach House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Beach House Lodge

Property: Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Address: 5 Meeding Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At backpackers beach house lodge we brag a perfect location on the main beach of Plett and only 3 streets away from Plett central. We are a 4 Star Backpackers and lodge (TGSCA)Plettenberg bay is a haven for outdoor and nature based activities, all of which our experienced staff will gladly organise and book for you. We offer a comprehensive information centre at our front reception and can advice on all activities available in and around Plett. When staying with us you will qualify for a discount at selected activities and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Beach House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing