We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location,location,location,perfect for us and 3 yr old Marco for our stopover back home to Cape Town.The flatlet was perfect for our needs and Charles was always a willing help-full host. We already planning a brief stopover again when on-route to PE.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vaughn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Marco

Thank you for your great review. On behalf of Charles we welcome you for your return trip which will be accommodated with a free sunrise breakfast.

Keep well
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed in the 2 sleeper room and was more than impressed by the room as well as the awesome view.

Great value for people not wanting to fork out the extra for a B&B.

Great service as well from the team as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Murray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Mr O'Murray

Thank you for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards
Len and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

we really enjoyed our (2nd!) time here.
very friendly staff,great service,lovely rooms and a braai area with the most amazing view over the sea! we will definitely be coming back a third time!
lisa and chris

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa & Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hello Lisa and Chris

Thank you so much for your support! We look forward to your stay third time round! Let us know when you will visiting? A breakfast on the house for the two of you will definately be in order ;-)

Warm regards
Len and Ninette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My boyfriend and I only stayed for one night while travelling to JBay. The room we stayed in was FANTASTIC and the people who work here are super friendly ! Wish we could have stayed longer, would definitely recommend to anyone passing through Plett to spend a night at this lovely, on-the-beach lodge !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Manager at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We hope to see you again soon! thank you for taking the time to write this super review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our family enjoyed that this awesome backpackers is literally right next to the beach and offers some privacy in the loft apartment we stayed in. It's definitely worth it and may even return again when visiting Plett.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mpendulo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. When planning your next visit to Plett, please contact us directly and we will give you a special rate! All the best. Len and Ninette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in a deluxe double room with a sea view and it was horrible.

Some of the windows did not shut, therefore i did not feel 100% comfortable as our room was ground level.

In my opinion the whole hotel needs redecorating as it looks dated and tired, but that's only a superficial thing and didn't have much of an impact on our stay in the grand scheme of things.

Other members of our party stayed in a room which was advertised as having an en suite, however this was not the case, they had to go across the hall to get to the bathroom. They were told that this would be for their sole us however this was not the case. if we had known that there wasn't an en suite then we wouldn't have stayed here.

Breakfast was nice.

If you have a big car then there is only 1 space in the car park that is useable without blocking anyone else in as you cannot park next to one another you have to park one car behind the other. One night we were woken up by the staff asking us if we could move our car and let another guest in as we were leaving before the new guests in the morning. We were not parked inconsiderately, there just wasn't enough space. We were due to be up early the next morning and were not happy with the disturbance.

We also found the owner arrogant and unpleasant.

Room Tip: Pay more and go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwatson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear valued guest

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay at Backpackers beach house lodge. We are unsure as to why you did not enjoy the deluxe en suite unit and perhaps if you could be a bit more specific we can look into upgrading the room. It is the first time ever, and one can check through our tripadvisor reviews, that anyone has referred to it as a horrible room. We do understand that everyone has their own opinions and would welcome your advise as how you feel we can better the room as said above. On a safety point of view that the venue i can assure you that the venue is pretty safe and we have had no incident to date in any of our rooms. The windows incidentally do close and it is a pity that you didn't just ask one of the staff members how to close same to give you more peace of mind during your stay. We also over and above this at night when guest have all gone to bed, activate our garden alarm beams, there for giving you a safe and secure evenings sleep.

I agree with you that unfair that my staff members at the time had not orchestrated the parking bays correctly to ensure that there was no necessity to wake anybody up to move vehicles. We have ample parking in the front and rear of the establishment. This has been taken up with the staff member on duty.

I would also appreciate if you could either through tripadvisor or email me personally to let me know who was on duty that you found to be arrogant that we may investigate this matter further.

Kind regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The staff are very friendly - the guy on reception when we arrived was great. Location is great, it is right on the beach. Very chilled atmosphere, very clean. We stayed in Bliss which was a fantastic room - excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi guys!

Hope the rest of your trip has gone great! thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it.

Happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon!

Cheers
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.2 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#4 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#15 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
257 reviews
10.5 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Beach House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Beach House Lodge

Address: 5 Meeding Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £1 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At backpackers beach house lodge we brag a perfect location on the main beach of Plett and only 3 streets away from Plett central. We are a 4 Star Backpackers and lodge (TGSCA)Plettenberg bay is a haven for outdoor and nature based activities, all of which our experienced staff will gladly organise and book for you. We offer a comprehensive information centre at our front reception and can advice on all activities available in and around Plett. When staying with us you will qualify for a discount at selected activities and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Beach House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing