We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible talkers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Reviewed 17 July 2014

the worst experience i have ever had at a "backpackers". we were spoken to terribly, sworn and shouted at by management. no duvets in the room, leaking roof and rusty beds. location and charles are the only saving grace. it did not come close to living up to its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jake T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Plettenberg Bay very much. The staff was friendly and very helpful in giving tips for interesting trips nearby. Our daughter fed the "house" seagull. Many thanks for a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Conny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights. First of all the setting is stunning, you could spend a few days simply relaxing on the deck, watching the sun rise over misty mountains and glassy sea, wading in the pool or ocean (it was too cold in winter unfortunately), walking along the beach watching the pods of dolphins jump past. Paradise!

Next to mention is that the staff of this place are great people, they are full of good recommendations of things to do in the area, and just for a good yarn! Some of the stories that Charles told are unreal!

We organised to go to Tenikwa to get close to big cats (see our separate review), walked along the peninsula to Robberg Reserve (a must - plan a whole day here if you can), and Tsitsikamma National Park to see the swing bridge.
(This last recommendation was the only one that didn't really work out. We only had 2 hours and were hoping to visit the waterfall, but this takes 2 hours each way, so we could only do the suspension bridge. The admission was also 80pp rand when we expected 40. Only come here if you have at least half a day to spend)

The facilities were in top shape too. We stayed in the dorm room due to budget considerations, but it was spacious, clean, and we were offered a heater during the night as it was cold. The dorm had a large connecting bathroom with an awesome hot shower. The kitchen was well equipped. Charles offered to make us coffee every day, he really went out of his way for us. Another bonus for us was that we had the whole place all to ourselves over a weekend. That's low season for you! It will be a lot busier in summer.

Overall a friendly, beautiful and relaxed "backpackers". They've only been around for a few years, and these guys are at the top of their game. We highly recommend them!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SamfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi There wonderful couple Pam and Sam
We thank you immensely for your expressive and detailed review and for taking the time and effort to do so. It was an absolute pleasure to host the two of you and hope to be able to accommodate you again in the near future.You are quite right 2 days is not enough considering the amount of activities that there are to do ,we would love to plan a week next time for you so that you can fully enjoy our beautiful and scenic Plettenberg bay.
Kindest regards your hosts,
Len and Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

First off, it probably helped that it was the off-season, so 5 of us shared the family suite at 40% off. Charles, the manager, is truly excellent. He cooks, braais, offers boundless advice about what to do in and around Plett; and even knows how to spot whales from shore...

The backpackers spills right onto the beach which is an utter pleasure, especially for those on a budget. Can't believe that it was this cheap and this good. Lots of things to do in half hour drive around Plett, so use it as a base to explore the surrounding Garden route attractions. We very much preferred it to Knysna.

Cons: No WiFi when we were there, so check before you book. Did not serve alcohol (although they didn't charge us corkage for wine that we brought) - Charles did say that they were weeks away from obtaining a liquor license. No free breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JenJP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Jen

Thank you for supporting us, we really appreciate it. You will also be very happy to know that our WIFI is up and running (thank goodness) and we received confirmation that our liquor license is approved as well. So on your next visit to us....first round of drinks on me!

Charles also sends a hearty thanks for mentioning him in the review.

Have a great day.

Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location,location,location,perfect for us and 3 yr old Marco for our stopover back home to Cape Town.The flatlet was perfect for our needs and Charles was always a willing help-full host. We already planning a brief stopover again when on-route to PE.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vaughn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Marco

Thank you for your great review. On behalf of Charles we welcome you for your return trip which will be accommodated with a free sunrise breakfast.

Keep well
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed in the 2 sleeper room and was more than impressed by the room as well as the awesome view.

Great value for people not wanting to fork out the extra for a B&B.

Great service as well from the team as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Murray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Mr O'Murray

Thank you for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards
Len and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

we really enjoyed our (2nd!) time here.
very friendly staff,great service,lovely rooms and a braai area with the most amazing view over the sea! we will definitely be coming back a third time!
lisa and chris

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa & Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard F, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hello Lisa and Chris

Thank you so much for your support! We look forward to your stay third time round! Let us know when you will visiting? A breakfast on the house for the two of you will definately be in order ;-)

Warm regards
Len and Ninette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.2 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#6 of 71 in Plettenberg Bay
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#13 of 71 in Plettenberg Bay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
2.7 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 71 in Plettenberg Bay
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Beach House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Beach House Lodge

Address: 5 Meeding Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £1 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At backpackers beach house lodge we brag a perfect location on the main beach of Plett and only 3 streets away from Plett central. We are a 4 Star Backpackers and lodge (TGSCA)Plettenberg bay is a haven for outdoor and nature based activities, all of which our experienced staff will gladly organise and book for you. We offer a comprehensive information centre at our front reception and can advice on all activities available in and around Plett. When staying with us you will qualify for a discount at selected activities and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Beach House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing