We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nights Sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandalay Guest House
Ranked #19 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Clean, comfortable and lovely attention to detail. Nice views and very comfortable beds!! June, the owner was friendly and helpful. The rooms are a nice, large size and have lots of little touches that makes it that bit nicer and more special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Mandalay Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Mandalay was one of the best guest houses we stayed in during our trip. Our double room was big, bright and airy. The decor was simple and the french doors onto a balcony was a lovely bonus. The plentiful buffet breakfast was just delicious and the warm welcome we received will ensure that next time we visit SA, we will return to Mandalay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarisJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Took a little while to find but a beautiful guest house and lovely, clean rooms, with French windows overlooking a balcony. Swimming pool area is gorgeous. Bit tricky manouvering heavy luggage up the stairs and along the very narrow walkway to the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryHippo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

When we met our host, we found her most used word was "lovely" and we began using it ourselves before we left. This was one of our favorite guest houses in our two week stay in South Africa. We had a room upstairs with two twin beds pushed together, and our friends had another room with a queen bed. Each room had french doors leading out to the veranda that was shared with the three upstairs rooms. It was a lovely place! The rooms were quite spacious, and had plenty of room for two whicker chairs. It was a bit cool while we were there in October, so electric blankets had been added to the beds for us. The beds were made with no top sheet and only a duvet and blanket. The beds were firm and we slept well. The bathroom had a nice glass shower, and a well-lit bathroom mirror. There was even a good mirror in the bed room with an electric plug close by for running a blow dryer. This simple arrangement seemed to be missing in many of the rooms we stayed in on this trip. There were fresh flowers left on our towels, tray, in the bathroom, and there were chocolates by the bed. More "lovely" touches! A coffee and tea service were provided. There was a little road noise, but it is located in a nice residential area with little traffic after bed time. The rental was very affordable and even included a cold breakfast buffet with boiled eggs, sliced meats, yogurt, cereal, bread, fresh fruit and juice. We got up early to hike the Robberg pennisula (one of the best hikes or our lilves) and the hostess offered to pack a breakfast for us if we didn't get back in time. Her recommendation to eat at the Lookout Restaurant at Plettenberg Beach was also great. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank okietraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a warm welcome we had at Plet ! Mma Jane picked us up as we were lost at 8p.m in Plet. The guesthouse is not easy to find but I strongly recommend a visit . Spacious room, excellent breakfast at a cheap price indeed . If you visit Plet this is the palce absolutely to go. Thanks Jane you were great and still remember your kindness. Giusy and Isabella - Italy - August 2013.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giusydegiorgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This B&B is situated on the hillside above the bay, easy to reach from the N2.
The welcome was very friendly and Jane provided good advice on restauarants and things to do in and around Plettenburg bay. The rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Very nice guest house with a lovely pool. The manager is very nice and friendly. The breakfast was DELICIOUS! Prices are reasonable for the location. The room was very comfortable with a nice balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuna186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
3.2 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
279 reviews
1.7 mi away
113 Robberg
113 Robberg
#18 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Guest House

Address: 9 Turakina Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £27 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Guest House is a home away from home in the heart of the Garden Route. Close to all amenities and beaches. Double, single, twin rooms, family suite and self catering apartment all feature balcony or patio with mountain, garden or pool views, en-suite shower, hairdryer, TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Join us for our fresh buffet style continental breakfast to start your day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandalay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing