We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revamped and a great honeymoon destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We went to this hotel on honeymoon off-peak, soon after it was revamped. The guests are generally a bit older, although there were some families and younger people, and we didn't have a problem with them.

It's a self-catering timeshare resort, but the Island Diner restaurants in the hotel are very good, and you can always pop off to the nearby Spar for provisions, which is what my wife and I did.

Plett is well situated for exploring the Garden Route, and the hotel itself is magnificently situated. The indoor pool and entertainment area are a bit disappointing, but we were using the hotel as a base to explore the Garden Route. If you are younger you probably would get bored if you stayed on resort all time, but it has the basics (pool, DSTV, etc) to keep one entertained.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank leetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
There are newer reviews for Beacon Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2007

My husband and I were the youngest people here by about 40 years! The hotel appears to be exactly as it must have been in the 70's or 80's, and it is quite basic. Rooms do not have airconditioning and instead have ceiling fans.
It seems to be a place that older South Africans go year after year, and the daily activities that were listed made us feel like we were in Butlins (eg, Bingo on the terrace...)
The setting is beautiful however the hotel is a long way from any restaurants or bars / cafes which, although close, are not really walkable due to the hotel being at the bottom of a steep hill... unless you are super fit you will need to drive everywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pedalmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2006

A greay place to stay, it can be as quiet or as hectic as you like. Lot's of alternative food options. Lovely views and staff always so helpfull.
Have never experience anything like that of the people from Vancoover, it must have been school holiday time when they were there -so what would you expect, kid are kids everywhere. When yiour kids leave home you don't choose kids weeks.
Lot's of places of inetrest to visit around, take car if venturing on a dolphin experience trip - it can be rough sea even when it looks calm.
We always rent a week from some timeshare owner who can not use it themselves.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uk2sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2006

Great Location, but this is a hotel for kids. It is not somewhere I would recomend going unless you have children between the ages of 2 - 6. Tons of screaming kids, the restaurants were booked every night. room service would take from 1 - 2 hours. It cost quite a bit for what you got.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TravelbugVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
113
Reviewed 19 January 2006

I am from the USA and bought timeshare 5 years ago. The Beach is similar to ogunquit Maine/Wells Beach but the water is much warmer. Picture a hotel on a small rock peninsula with a half a mile of beach to the left and 2 miles of beach to the right. People Walk the beach in search of the elusive Pansy Shell. Touching the Rock at the Robberg Nature Rserve (highly recommended) is a badge of honor. The waves literal break underneath the rooms on the Ocean side. We saw whales swimming about 200 yards from us one Aug. It is typical in Feb to see 300-500 dolphins swim by a couple times per day. If you have kids, a trip to Monkeyland is recommended. They have an entertainment staff that has activities for kids. I have played volleyball with the staff, gone golfing at the Plett country club, and scuba diving. Some of the entertainment is a little hokey like the egg toss, bingo, and quiz. The retired types seem to like this. If you play bridge, there is almost always someone to find a game with or you can play duplicate at the Plett country club on Mondays. They have a music staff that plays 3-4 nights per week and they have a farewell Caberet that is very entertaining. It is like a cross between the Hasty Pudding Club of Harvard and a high school talent show. The staff is extremely friendly and most of the people working there have been there a long time. The snorkeling from the small private beach is great and there is a reef about 30 yards out lots of fish. In summary, the location and view is unrivaled. The staff is exp and friendly, and The hotel area is safe. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No se pierdan la vista al mar! Las olas rompen en el balcón. Es algo ruidoso, pero realmente vale la...
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MartinaS1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
3.5 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £97 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing