We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beacon Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights. Wish we couldt've stayed for longer. So many things to do for the young and old. The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful! Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget W W, Sales & Rental Agent at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for you for your review! So glad you ejoyed your stay!
If you would like to stay longer next time you can rent a weeks accomodation through our Timeshare Sales & Rentals office based at the resort.
Please contact us on 044-5332064.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    184
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
294
347
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

great location, service great, food good quality and reasonably priced. BUT NO AIRCON in rooms. This is shocking for a 4 star rated hotel. We stayed over in Jan with a 20 month old baby and it was hell in the small standard room. Spent many hrs walking around the air con'd public areas with my child sleeping in the pram. Noise levels in the rooms overlooking the pool is high compounded by a massive colony of seagulls flying around at night . Since moved to the opposite side of the hotel it is slightly cooler. Expensive holiday and uncomfortable rooms. They really should point out in their advertising that there is no aircon in the rooms.

Room Tip: in summer, go for the Robberg facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

The resort is located on the beach. The reception was one of the friendliest we have come across. Rooms are clean and newly refurbished. There are various restaurants to choose from and all have spectacular views. The waves crash onto the rocks alongside the hotel and provides hours of viewing pleasure and relaxation. The only issues we had was a delay in room service and noisy windows on windy nights. Overall a great stay and will be considered for future visits to Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reshma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

As usual - to good to be true!! The most beautiful location and lots and lots to do! Highly recommended for all.

Room Tip: All equal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanKeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Had a wonderful time..The staff were fantastic,felt extremely pampered and looked after,every need was catered to.The rooms were beautiful and comfortable,just refurbished .Housekeeping kept the room neat and tidy.The outdoor ,pool staff ,deserve a special mention..Cecil and Nicholas ,the waiter were great.Matt the new entertainment man was great fun .

Room Tip: Views of the sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanseria, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The refurbishments to the rooms, bathrooms and hotel are fantastic, my only feedback is that housekeeping staff should be trained to be more thorough when replenishing the tea, coffee, soap, toilet paper, shower gel etc. After two days of no coffee or tea my wife called housekeeping and they wanted to charge us for replenishing these items. This is particularly poor service as guests are paying +-R1600 per night room only! The food at the hotel was average albeit expensive. I have no objection to paying the same prices for food as the Beverley Hills, Palazzo and other five star Southern Sun establishments, however, I do then expect similar quality cuisine. By way of example, a toasted bacon and egg sandwich at the Beacon Island consisted of 2 slices of bread, 1 egg and 2 pieces of bacon for R48.00 whereas at the Beverley Hills the same order is 4 slices of bread, 2 eggs, 4 pieces of bacon, 1 side salad and 1 portion of french fries for R50.00. The Indigo bay restaurant food was average to say the least. I had the T-bone steak for R120.00 which was supposed to be basted with their "secret basting" but was nothing other than cooking oil - no seasoning, no basting, no flavour! My wife had the LM prawns for R110.00 which had been cleaned and thawed hours before cooking because all the heads were black - not very appetising at all! For these prices I expect a competent chef to be running the kitchen and not sending out average food as a result we ate the rest of our meals out!

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms on 6th floor are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swissfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We travel frequently.

Our choice of accommodation largely depends on the type of trip we do – local and international travel, overlanding, road trip, safari etc. etc. We can go camping in the African bush with just a tent and the bare necessities. And if we feel like spoiling ourselves, we travel in style and only frequent first class establishments.

One such “first class” establishment must undoubtedly be The Beacon Island Lifestyle Resort in Plettenberg Bay, South Africa.
It was our first visit after the major refurbishment and increased efforts to reduce their carbon footprint.

And what a surprise!
It feels like a brand new resort. Not one that has been around for some years. Everything as far as the staff, entertainment and facilities were concerned was perfect as we remember it. But now with the very modern and airy refurbished interior... WOW!

Then the “spin and win” activity presented in the Sea Lounge… do not miss it whatever you do!
Nobody who won, received a prize anything less than about €50 to €100. Whale watching trips, zip line adrenaline rushes over waterfalls, high speed boat trips… you name it.

And then... after visiting any destination, all things being equal, there is only one question we ask ourselves and that is:
Will we return / spend our hard earned cash there again?

In the case of The Beacon Island Lifestyle Resort, it is “yes”. In capital letters.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.5 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Property: Beacon Island Resort
Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing