We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beacon Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

You can't beat this location as it is right on the beach. The rooms appear to be almost brand new. Really nice bathrooms too. A great place to stay in Plettenberg Bay for the money as most hotels are a little pricey here
Just keep in mind that things are not ran in good order as the staff seems out of touch with things. Even coming to the hotel is hard to do. You can see it from afar, but there are no signs or directions on how to reach the hotel. You have to figure that out on your own and this takes a little time and asking questions to passerby's. Room service can't be charged to the room. You must pay cash. Never heard of that! Parking is at your own risk and believe me, there is plenty of risk in South Africa when having any asset you want to keep. And the parking is quite a distance from the hotel. No air conditioners in the rooms. Just ceiling fans. But the temp here on the water is usually very very cool. You dont need the a/c.
Other than the above, it is a good place to stay and really the only choice. Breakfast a mere $2.50 for a full breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

The Beacon Island Resort continues to exceed all the very best expectations. We have been going to BI for over 40 years and consider the staff part of our family. This resort unbelievably gets better each time we go. The recent refurbishment of the resort is a spectacular success and the BI as it is affectionately known remains our second South Africa home!!...Cant wait to get back...
Brian Kirsch

Room Tip: Any of the corner rooms from floors 1 to 4 are an absolute win due to their large size, balconies an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownGuide9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Beacon Island Resort is the best resort I have ever been to, it's unique and second to none. My stay at the resort was just fantastic and exceptionally refreshing, being at 'home away from home'. Wow! it was just the best holiday I ever had and I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moses T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Mostly occupied by families with timeshare points and can be very busy during December and January. Well run, excellent service and good food at affordable prices. Recently refurbished, spectacular views, two pools and endless white sandy beaches. Guests can sun bathe on a lawn that goes right up to the rocks and the sea. Entertainment for kids and a daily program for guests.
I've been going there for more than 20 years. Will be back in December.

Room Tip: The rooms are identical but corner rooms are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzipurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I loved our holiday. It has all the facilities you need and more importantly when it rains there is enough going on to keep you entertained.
Staff was brilliant, food was good and cocktails even beter. THX
I'll be back!

Room Tip: They all seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vannie_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Another great week's stay at the Beacon Island Resort.
Welcomed back by name and made to feel right at home .
The staff are brilliant from the pool attendant to room cleaners and management.
Was offered a room choice,very comfortable bed...Made use of the gym for the
first time and loved it..We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My family and I spent a weekend at this beautiful resort and found it to be a top class establishment.
Their staff are well trained and friendly and go the extra mile to ensure their guests are comfortable and happy. I particuarly enjoyed sitting in the guest lounge early evening whilst enjoying a sundowner and watching the moon rise over the ocean. We also had frequent sightings of dolphins, whales and seals which swim pretty close to the hotel. The location of this hotel could not get any better and the view from the restaurant and rooms is spectacular.
The Spa on the premises has well trained therapists and offers a wide variety of treatments. Well woth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyagerKnysnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
3.5 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
16.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £194 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing