We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEACON ISLAND PLETTENBERG”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beacon Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cradock
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“BEACON ISLAND PLETTENBERG”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

WOW... what a week of pure indulgence ! This place is the ultimate relaxation spot! From the time you book in to the time you leave.. You are being spoilt. The sea lounge is more than a 180deg lookout on the sea. The bar makes it so easy to order coffee and drinks. You can sit and read a book or just relax and look at the sea. The rooms are immaculate clean and serviced daily every day. The food at Coral Reef Restaurant is the best! The steak --- can not be better.
The Island diner cater mainly for family eating... Portions a bit small when hungry. But very good food. The young staff members are keeping the children occupied through out the day. I love BINGO time. I think this is a piece of heaven on earth ! JUST THE MENU IN THE DINER IS TOO EXPENSIVE!!

Room Tip: Just do the Beacon Island once --- and you will be hooked for ever ! Our unit was on lagoon side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget W W, Director of Sales at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your great review.
We really appreciate hearing about your experience. The Sea Lounge is a great place to relax, isn't it. Even more good news is that the Sea Lounge will be getting a complete face lift this year, part of the Resort Managements dedication to keeping the Resort fresh and up to date, so even more exciting things to look forward to on your next visit!
I will pass on your comment about menu pricing to the owners of the Island Diner Restaurant. Thank you for the input.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,
Bridget
044-5332064
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    203
    36
    16
    13
See reviews for
326
387
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

A great hotel with such friendly and well trained staff. We have a double volume suite with awesome views! Excellent activities for the kids - good food and very clean facilities. We will be back for sure !

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gawie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget W W, Director of Sales at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your loevly review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Those suites are special aren't they!
We hope to wellcome you back soon. Please contact me for any rentals or resale on 044-5332064.
Regards, Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I feel for the price should have breakfast included and the parking need urgently be address as some nights we battle to get parking.The food at the island resturant is terrble needs urgent upgrade need chef.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank J P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget W W, Director of Sales at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your valuable review.
The parking outside the entrance and the large shaded parking area is available on a first come first serve basis. A golf cart is available to lift guests from the shaded parking area right to the entrance. There should be enough parking for all guests. The restaurants in the Hotel are outsourced service providers and Resort management will take up your complaint with the owners of the Restaurant. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I've been holidaying at Beacon Isle for almost 40 years now - first as a girl with my parents and now as a mother with teenagers. The hotel must be one of the few in the world that keeps getting better. While some of the other RCI timeshare hotels have gone down the drain - my parents actually gave their units at Mabula back to RCI - Beacon Isle kept up with the times. They keep renovating, they cater for babies, teenagers, parents and grandparents alike with lots of activities and fun for every age. The rooms are newly decorated and look fabulous and the Captain's Cabin has a totally new and fresh look - we LOVED it! The three restaurants inside the hotel now all belong to the same vibrant couple and the food is incredible - affordable, generous portions and a big variety. There really is something for every taste bud. The juice is a bit expensive - R20 a glass, which cost the same as one of their hearty breakfasts! We also liked the new cocktail area with the swing-chairs on the deck with a stunning see view to boot. Good idea to restrict the area to 18 year and older - just a pity some parents still smuggled their kids in. It make it difficult for the rest of us who abide by the rules and the staff should refuse to serve the children. We were so impressed with the hotel that we decided to buy a second room - and hopefully we will be able to enjoy it for another 40 years!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IVerwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget W W, Director of Sales at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! So glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay year after year. Our Resort Management really prides themself on keeping the Resort up to date, fresh and inviting. Our fantastic entertainmenat team continually strive to keep all ages entertained with lots of activities.
Thrilled that you made the decision to purchase another week!
We look forward to wellcoming you back to the Beacon Island soon!
Regards,
Bridget
0445332064
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I remember this hotel from my childhood days, but had never stayed there. We rented a week through the timeshare division.
The hotel has an amazing location on a rocky outcrop, which means it is effectively in the ocean. Almost all the rooms have sea views. Ours looked straight out to sea with the waves crashing into the rocks outside our window.
The rooms are fairly standard sun international 3 star quality. They are well maintained and the beds were very comfortable.
There are three restaurants at the hotel as well as room service and the food was excellent.
All in all a great hotel and highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SAGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort Manageme... G, General Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
Dear Graham

Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review for The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests.

We are truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your great feedback!

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Reinhard Visser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

After a poor start at the reception desk our holiday kicked of smartly with warm experiences from the rest of the friendly staff. the hotel itself was more that we expected. The facilities, though old, were well maintained and the service friendly and good. Rooms exceptionally clean with the standard maintained through out our stay. Impressive activity programs for all to enjoy and run with enthusiasm. A truly well recommended holiday destination.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Des53020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort Manageme... G, General Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
Dear valued trip advisor reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review for The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests.

My apologies for your rocky start! I am glad the rest of your stay was great.

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Reinhard Visser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I tried to write to Tsogo sun directly but their website isn't Iphone friendly so it's impossible to 'contact us'. They also do not welcome much feedback so this must now be in the public space.
For a hotel is such a prime location it definitely disappoints. The rooms are nice and clean, bathrooms tiny. Staff at reception are friendly and knowledgable but the room service staff are dismal. For a hotel that would lure international guests I am embarrassed. We stayed in a 'family room' there were only 2 towels in the bathroom. We arrived to a tiny shower (only one person at a time in the bathroom for sure) with no shampoo or conditioner (even the cheapest hotels in South Africa provide these amenities). We ate once in the foyer (as that is the best way to subscribe the resturant. Portion sizes were huge - food disgusting. Tried to order room service - no menu in the room. Tried to order ice - twice it never arrived dispite calling again.
Very very loud from the children screaming and running around pushing luggage trolleys into walls, which was fine - but if this is a hotel for Children why don't you have safety barriers at the pools? Parking scarce at night and the further you park away the less safe it feels.
Towels easily accessible - easy access to the beach.
No outside resturant is open at night. Plug points in room amazing. Hairdryer blew hot and cold air despite being on hot.
Very frustrating not being able to charge items to your room- you're in holiday - you don't carry your bag with you everywhere you go (again no warning until I had ordered the coffee with a friend).
Tsogo you are most certainly taking advantage of an excellent location. These are very small things that can turn a guests experience around and avoid making it feel like a budget
hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort Manageme... G, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2016
Dear Sally
Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review for The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests.

I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are a timeshare resort and therefore some items might have fallen short of your expectations. I can assure you that we addressed your issues and truly worked on the once that we can fix. Some items like parking is currently being addressed as we are looking at building an underground parking facility in the near future. Good news, our facilities has been upgraded and you can now charge your food and beverage to your room.

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Reinhard Visser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.7 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Property: Beacon Island Resort
Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing