We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bosavern Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bosavern Guest House
Ranked #11 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Visited the Bosavern on the recommendation of a friend who stayed there last year. We booked 3 nights B&B as we travelled along the Garden Route. Absolutely stunning with great attention to detail. Vivian runs this B&B Guest House which stands high above Plettenberg Bay. Along with her staff you are looked after royally. The rooms are spotless and extremely comfortable.
Vivian takes great pride in her hospitality and leaves nothing to chance. We were there for Valentines Night and Vivian took it upon herself to book 3 couples into a restaurant as we may have had difficulty getting a booking. We had the option to cancel, if we wished. Gladly we didn't because the restaurant, Nguni, was first class.
The only down side was that we had two days of rain, the first we had encountered in 3 weeks holiday.
If you head to this area you must stay here.

Room Tip: Just book it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
237
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margraten, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Sitting at the poolside, looking down on Plet and the ocean, you feel on top of the world.
Beautiful house, nice rooms, friendly staff. Viv was very helpful, with good tips on where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamm, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Thank you Vivian & Gerald.
Everything was great. The house, the rooms, the wonderful views over Plettenberg and the bay.
We enjoy the breakfast. Vivian was always a good help. We want to return to this lovely Guest House.

Room Tip: All rooms in bosavern are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geralddreyer, Owner at Bosavern Guest House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your kind response, it is appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at the Bosavern Guest House for four nights in February during our Garden Route trip. Viv and her staff were not only efficient and helpful, but also warm and friendly. Viv suggested places to visit, restaurants to eat in and even booked tables for us. The guest house was beautifully clean with spectacular views over the bay and within easy walking distance of restaurants. Breakfasts were excellent. When we visited a beach Viv provided us with a basket and towels. We would recommend the Bosavern to anyone thinking about visiting Plettenberg.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayMagsandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geralddreyer, Owner at Bosavern Guest House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Your splendid response is appreciated
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

A few little extras missing makes this a 'very good' and not an 'excellent'. A few biscuits, a couple of chocolates, some luxury body wash instead of a small piece of soap each would make the difference.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandycroft2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geralddreyer, Owner at Bosavern Guest House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your Wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

When I arrived with my 2guests from overseas at the place, I thought to myself: ah just another B&B. But as soon as the owners, Vivian and Gerald greeted us we new we are in for something special. The rooms, the view from the terrace, in fact everything was beyond expectations.
All three of us are well travelled and we all agreed that this B&B is the best we experienced
Thank you Vivian & Gerald.
.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshejeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geralddreyer, Owner at Bosavern Guest House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Your review on TripAdvisor is very much appreciated
Regards
Gerald and Viv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
167 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

A return visit for us to this lovely Guest House. The building has been superbly designed to fit into the site and to function as a guest house.The decor is very tasteful and the views over Plettenberg and the Bay are wonderful. Viv and Gerald are great hosts and made us feel most welcome and provided recommendations and bookings for restaurants to match our tastes.
A marvellous place to stay on the Garden Route and we hope to return again

Room Tip: They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geralddreyer, Owner at Bosavern Guest House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor
It is very much appreciated
Viv and Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosavern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosavern Guest House

Property: Bosavern Guest House
Address: 38 Cutty Sark Ave, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosavern Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosavern Guest House is a stylish, upmarket guesthouse set on a cliff, offering spectacular views of the ocean, the pristine white Robberg Beach and peninsular Nature Reserve, and the green expanse of Plett Country Club. It has a 4 star Guest House Grading by the Grading Council of South Africa. Leisurely breakfasts are served on the patio overlooking the ocean. Lounge around our swimming pool or cool off in its clear water during the summer heat. The 5 well-appointed en-suite bedrooms have private entrances and patios, TVs with M-Net and DVD players, telephones, honesty bars, under floor heating and tea/coffee trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bosavern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing