We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than a great guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bosavern Guest House
Ranked #14 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Bosavern is a modern styled and warm guesthouse. Great room and excellent facilities, magnificent view of Plettenberg Bay. Great warm breakfast. Viv and Gerald make you feel at home, are very kind and helpfull. Golf? Goose Valley is a nice course, kind of links.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EvanKeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Bosavern Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

When planning our trip to South Africa, we chose our accommodation by picking the number one recommendation on Tripadvisor and everybody was right! We were welcomed by Vivienne as though we were long lost friends. We were shown to our beautiful room, with a stunning view over Plettenberg Bay and, while we came to our senses, Viv made us a cup of coffee and sorted out leaflets and maps of what we could do to make the most of our overnight visit. As well as that, she suggested a restaurant for us to eat in that evening (Nguni; which was lovely) and organised us a taxi there and back. While we waited for the taxi, Vivienne and Gerald invited us to have a drink with them in front of their roaring fire, which was above and beyond the call of duty. It was lovely chatting to them and we were a little disappointed when the taxi arrived to whisk us away!! A great dinner was followed by a exceptionally cosy and comfortable night's sleep underneath a snuggly duvet, with hot water bottle for under our (quite chilly) feet!! Thank you. The one downside of this very lovely home was that the bathroom was much colder than anything we are used to so we could not make as much use of the double shower as we would have liked. We were prepared a delicious breakfast by Abi and sat looking over the bay. Needless to say we were thrilled when we had our first sighting of whales playing in the bay. All in all a wonderful place to stay and we would definitely recommend Bosavern to anyone and will definitely revisit if we are lucky enough to find ourselves in Plettenberg Bay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Boo And Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our hosts were friendly and helpful in the extreme. Accommodation was modern and very comfortable, the view beautiful. The evening wine offering was very welcome. Breakfasts delicious. Excellent value. Highest possible recommendation .....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

With a warm welcome from Viv and Gerald we knew we would enjoy our stay. We stayed for 2 nights, Viv and Gerald ensured we made the most of our time in Plett.
The views are amazxing , so beautiful to look out at whilst eating a yummy breakfast.
The best part of our stay was having a drink and chin wag with Viv and Gerald, such lovely hosts.
The room was very clean well decorated and perfectly furnished. The bed was soooo comfy !
Gerald took good care of Adams surf board and even hosed our car down before we left!
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Beautiful en luxurous guesthouse, very modern decorated. Very interested and nice owners, Vivien and Gerald. Talked with Gerald about South Africa and a lot more, with a nice wine!
Owners made us reservations etc, perfect. Unfortunately the weather was not that good but Plettenberg was a nice town. Amazing views form the guesthouse.
We had a very good dinner at the Fat Fish restaurant, you have to go there!
A guesthouse we recommend, fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Clean white rooms, amazing hosts w/ reception glass of wine. One of the owners, Gerald, even helped us carry our luggage down to our room and booked us a great dinner at The Fat Fish. LOVED Plettenberg Bay and would absolutely come back. The B&B was a beautifully and uniquely designed house for the owners. Calming and serene stay close enough to drive 5 minutes to the adorable downtown area.

Unfortunately, we missed breakfast the next day because we got up incredibly early to go bungee jump the Bloukrans Bridge. Our adorably warm hosts, Gerald and Viv, got up in time to give us each a hug farewell and wave goodbye. We are already looking forward to our return stay at Bosavern House whenever we can get back to South Africa! It was by far the nicest B&B we stayed at for our entire trip! Thank you for the amazing memories, Viv & Gerald!

Room Tip: All bottom floor rooms open via sliding door to pool/deck area!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLCarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After an exciting and strenuous two week vacation in South Africa, we were able to unwind for two nights at this beautiful guest house. The house is architecturally contemporary with extraordinary views of Plettenberg Bay and it's spectacular beaches. All the 5 guest rooms are on the lower level with views of the swimming pool, deck, luscious garden and the ocean. The bedrooms are large and airy and the en suite bathroom with enormous shower is sensational. The upper level is the living area and a beautiful glass enclosed patio overlooking the ocean. It is here that breakfast is served. Breakfast should not be missed and is served by our gracious inn-keeper, Vivien and her lovely helpers. By the way Vivien's husband, Gerald makes beautiful hand crafted wooden ball point pens that he will happily sell. All in all this is a superb guest house with charming owners.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. One room has only a view of the garden. The other have views of the pool...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
786 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosavern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosavern Guest House

Address: 38 Cutty Sark Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £88 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosavern Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosavern Guest House is a stylish, upmarket guesthouse set on a cliff, offering spectacular views of the ocean, the pristine white Robberg Beach and peninsular Nature Reserve, and the green expanse of Plett Country Club. It has a 4 star Guest House Grading by the Grading Council of South Africa. Leisurely breakfasts are served on the patio overlooking the ocean. Lounge around our swimming pool or cool off in its clear water during the summer heat. The 6 well-appointed en-suite bedrooms have free Wi-fi, TVs with M-Net plus DVD players, fridges and tea/coffee trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bosavern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing