We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

My wife and I would like to thank the entire staff and entire team at the Plettenberg Park Hotel for the outstanding service and hospitality provided to us.

We were there from the 1st September 2012 to the 3rd September 2012, celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary. The place is spectacular with outstanding views from everywhere. The room we stayed in (210) was fabulous and the personal touches were great. The dinner prepared for us by Karla on the night of the 1 September was so delicious, my wife and I are still talking about it. The Spa experience was also phenomenal. The staff team at the Spa were very friendly and professional.

Thanks to all at the Hotel that made our anniversary so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasitha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    18
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
88
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

My partner & I stayed at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa in September 2012. What a fantastic experience! On arrival we were greeted with a glass of port to warm the winter chill and led to the most spectacular view we have ever seen. The staff was informative and very friendly. Our room was amazing, we had booked a small room but because we were the only guests we had been upgraded! What a nice surprise. The shower overlooked the ocean and the fire place created such a homely atmosphere.
We had dinner at the hotel both nights of our stay and the chef tailor made the menu to what we were in the mood for. My partner had ostrich fillet which was perfectly cooked to her liking. I had the most succulent, generous portion of king prawns, perfect!
We were very reluctant to have to pack up and leave after only 2 days, we could have relaxed here for weeks.
Great service, great staff that go the extra mile, our new home away from home. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB1982CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We are a South African family of four that stayed there for two nights in September 2012. As all the other ratings the setting of the hotel is perfect. We were extremely disappointed with our stay for the following reasons:
1. At 9pm after supper my wife wanted to bath, the water was muddy and there was no hot water in our room. After complaining and suggesting to call the maintenance manager it was said he was unavailable and there was nothing they could do and suggested to move us to another room, we said it was too late in the evening to pack and move.
2. Rooms were not maintained, our shower head was blocked, the shower door was not closing, the bathroom door was jammed, no two pin plug for the hairdryer, the sliding doors where leaking air.
3. Staff where not experienced enough and our service was slow. We asked for some water at breakfast it was brought to us in a measuring jug from the kitchen.
4. Supper was OK but my fillet steak was cold inside. Extremely expensive and we where charged full rates for our small kids. We where not even offered a coffee after our meal.
5 Breakfast was a disaster, fruit juices where carton type full of preservatives, croissants where either burnt of still frozen inside, there was black dirt from the grills or pans in our food, muffins where the only pastries available at breakfast and they where overcooked. The eggs where overcooked. I had to walk into the kitchen to get some service as I wanted some honey. The cold buffet was very limited and not of a five star hotel. There was no Hot chocolate available at the hotel for our kids.
6. The pool was ice cold and not heated, the Jacuzi was out of order, the spa was closed on Sunday and all the woodwork was rundown and needed replacing.
7. The day we checked out I sat with the young manager DD and listed all my complaints to her, she said they where all legitimate and asked what she could do to make thing right. I suggested that she give me a discount off our stay and said she would speak to the admin manager Caroline. On settling our bill I suggested a discount and the response was quite arrogantly no. Caroline said she would speak to her manager and get back to me, obviously she has the same attitude of the staff as I am still waiting.
My advice as a South African to other potential guests is that this is not at all a exclusive five star hotel as advertised, service is bad, hotel is not maintained and it is very expensive for what it is.
My advice to the Hotel is when people complain take them seriously, when your money is good the hotel should also be good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gvrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We loved our stay at the Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa. We stayed in room 210, which is one of the two that have a shower that overlooks the ocean. Room was really nice, food was amazing and the views from the surrounding grounds incredible. I was really surprised to read some of the negative comments about the service afterwards because we thought they did an amazing job.

Room Tip: Ask for room 209 or 210. It's a higher rate but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Unique location, spectacular service, large rooms, a scenic bathroom and to top it all, Michelles excellent service. Really enjoyed this magnigicent boutique hotel, located on the top of a ravine with, imagine, a private beach. Simply perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for room 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel last week. Hotel was extremely difficult to find as road works have led to hotel's sign being removed so it took me a while to figure out where the entrance was... When we finally made it we were greeted upon arrival and were offered fruit cocktails when leaving the car. The stay was great (realised we were the only guests after a shrot while). Room extremely comfortable and well equipped (trust that we were upgraded) despite one electrical plug being of an unknown type (neither SA nor anything else we saw before) with a breathtaking sea view. Restaurant's chef came to agree diner details - entree and main course were both great and freshly made but desserts were a little disappointing as these were obviously deep frozen dishes that would have benefitted from some additional time before being presented:
Tailored breakfast next morning that tasted very good. A nice swimming pool ending up facing the ocean. We did not try spa and jacuzzi although we could have done so.

If you look for top quality in a great environment in Plete then this is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephDGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Route
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I attended a 60th birthday brunch at this hotel and feel sooo! sorry for our birthday girl. I hope that when paying her bill,she made a huge fuss about the unbelievable bad service. The location is amazing and that is why one expect just the best from this so called 5star hotel. But let me come to the horrible point: The Garden Route was experiencing a heat wave - the day was very well overcasted but extremely hot and humid - the tables were set on the deck outside with no shelter from the sun which came on us fearcely in about 45min. after arrival. We had to ask the one male waiter to please pitch the umbrellas which turned out to be an enormous task as some of the umbrellas were not in a good condition.There were only two waitresses for 22 guests - and I have my doubts about their knowledge of waitressing. The menu looked very impressive - but definately to complicated for the waitressing skills, because only a few orders arrived correct. The entre was a buffet table with fruit,yogurt,cold meats,bread and cheese - I think all this was put out at 8:00 for a function that started at 10:00am. The bread was hard,the butter running,cold meat all curled up, etc,etc. etc. We adviced the waiter(don't know if he was the head waiter - but the only male in sight)to move the table in the shade. It was a battle to get the tea that we ordered (good old SA rooibos). I suppose that the Restaurant was nor geared for 22 guests - some of the cups had a round base put in square centre sourcers - try and balance that - icecream spoons with your teacup and ... really no joke... teapots without lids. Some of the orders arrived an hour later than the first orders been brought out with hollandaise source already forming a crust. 5Star hotel?? I think a 2star would have done better. The on-site manageress never showed a face.

Room Tip: Did not sleep over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L'Avenir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Farm 4A Robberg Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plettenberg Park Hotel And Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Park Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing