We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We spent a fantastic few days at Plettenberg Park Hotel in earlt December 2012. The entire team provided outstanding service and hospitality to us. Carla, Didi, Kyle and all the Michelle's were exceptional and really show that top service is what makes a hotel great.

We had outside guests around on our second last night for dinner for 11 and the evening was a huge success. All your staff were professional, helpful and fun !

All this with the most stunning views possible.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frosties5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    18
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
88
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had an overnight stay here at the Plettenberg Park and Spa travelling along the Garden Route. This hotel is perched on top of a hill and just the main entrance was a bit tricky to find. You just drive up a gravel path which leads up to the hotel. The surrounding area is well-kept and of course the view from the lobby and outdoor terrace is breath-taking! I mean you have such an amazing view to the ocean and peeking over the railing you see the waves crashing against the rocks way beneath you. We were lucky with the weather and since it was not super peak season yet, we had the whole outdoor terrace to ourselves! We just chilled with some bubbly and had lunch on the terrace just taking in the view. We had booked a sea facing room and the room was huge with a sitting area with couches and a fireplace with a king sized bed. The décor was modern maritime and flowed with the look of the whole hotel. The bathroom was of a decent size and came with a shower and bathtub. Walking out into our balcony, we were shocked to see how huge the balcony was! They had two sun lounges there and you still had lots of room and they could have easily put a small table and 2 chairs there which I thought was missing. Since you get the amazing sun set view from your balcony, we decided to lay on the lounges and see the sun set while hearing the waves crashing beneath us with a glass of wine. It just does not get better than this! Breakfast next morning was good with a selection of cold food and a warm dish that you can order to your liking from the menu. If you feel like it, you can just walk out the main entrance and on the left is a trail which brings you to the top of the cliff which offers an even better view from above. Remember to bring your walking shoes of course and you can also walk down the cliff to the hotel’s private beach if you feel like just lying down and getting a suntan. Service was excellent throughout and when we came back from dinner that night, the room was turned-down and the fireplace was lit and the room prepared for the evening! We switched off the fireplace of course since it was not that cold but a few brownie points for being proactive. The biggest selling point is of course the view and setting of the hotel right on top of the cliff. Overall I would rate the hotel very good and not excellent only because of the price which is a bit on the expensive side.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CNTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

My husband spoilt me with a spa morning at the hotels spa and wow what a treat!!!! The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful and set high up On a cliff face. The views are unbelievable and the friendly staff and ambience inviting. We had an amazing chocolate and vanilla body scrub and hydrating wrap followed by an invigorating full body massage. Michelle is so lovely and even allowed us to lounge on the private beach-due to the resort not being full.

We left feeling as though we had been to an exotic destination-rejuvenated, uplifted and determined to visit again SOON!

Room Tip: We viewed the VIP room and its exquisite....the shower is something to behold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livetotravel986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

My wife and I would like to thank the entire staff and entire team at the Plettenberg Park Hotel for the outstanding service and hospitality provided to us.

We were there from the 1st September 2012 to the 3rd September 2012, celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary. The place is spectacular with outstanding views from everywhere. The room we stayed in (210) was fabulous and the personal touches were great. The dinner prepared for us by Karla on the night of the 1 September was so delicious, my wife and I are still talking about it. The Spa experience was also phenomenal. The staff team at the Spa were very friendly and professional.

Thanks to all at the Hotel that made our anniversary so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasitha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

My partner & I stayed at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa in September 2012. What a fantastic experience! On arrival we were greeted with a glass of port to warm the winter chill and led to the most spectacular view we have ever seen. The staff was informative and very friendly. Our room was amazing, we had booked a small room but because we were the only guests we had been upgraded! What a nice surprise. The shower overlooked the ocean and the fire place created such a homely atmosphere.
We had dinner at the hotel both nights of our stay and the chef tailor made the menu to what we were in the mood for. My partner had ostrich fillet which was perfectly cooked to her liking. I had the most succulent, generous portion of king prawns, perfect!
We were very reluctant to have to pack up and leave after only 2 days, we could have relaxed here for weeks.
Great service, great staff that go the extra mile, our new home away from home. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB1982CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We are a South African family of four that stayed there for two nights in September 2012. As all the other ratings the setting of the hotel is perfect. We were extremely disappointed with our stay for the following reasons:
1. At 9pm after supper my wife wanted to bath, the water was muddy and there was no hot water in our room. After complaining and suggesting to call the maintenance manager it was said he was unavailable and there was nothing they could do and suggested to move us to another room, we said it was too late in the evening to pack and move.
2. Rooms were not maintained, our shower head was blocked, the shower door was not closing, the bathroom door was jammed, no two pin plug for the hairdryer, the sliding doors where leaking air.
3. Staff where not experienced enough and our service was slow. We asked for some water at breakfast it was brought to us in a measuring jug from the kitchen.
4. Supper was OK but my fillet steak was cold inside. Extremely expensive and we where charged full rates for our small kids. We where not even offered a coffee after our meal.
5 Breakfast was a disaster, fruit juices where carton type full of preservatives, croissants where either burnt of still frozen inside, there was black dirt from the grills or pans in our food, muffins where the only pastries available at breakfast and they where overcooked. The eggs where overcooked. I had to walk into the kitchen to get some service as I wanted some honey. The cold buffet was very limited and not of a five star hotel. There was no Hot chocolate available at the hotel for our kids.
6. The pool was ice cold and not heated, the Jacuzi was out of order, the spa was closed on Sunday and all the woodwork was rundown and needed replacing.
7. The day we checked out I sat with the young manager DD and listed all my complaints to her, she said they where all legitimate and asked what she could do to make thing right. I suggested that she give me a discount off our stay and said she would speak to the admin manager Caroline. On settling our bill I suggested a discount and the response was quite arrogantly no. Caroline said she would speak to her manager and get back to me, obviously she has the same attitude of the staff as I am still waiting.
My advice as a South African to other potential guests is that this is not at all a exclusive five star hotel as advertised, service is bad, hotel is not maintained and it is very expensive for what it is.
My advice to the Hotel is when people complain take them seriously, when your money is good the hotel should also be good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gvrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We loved our stay at the Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa. We stayed in room 210, which is one of the two that have a shower that overlooks the ocean. Room was really nice, food was amazing and the views from the surrounding grounds incredible. I was really surprised to read some of the negative comments about the service afterwards because we thought they did an amazing job.

Room Tip: Ask for room 209 or 210. It's a higher rate but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Farm 4A Robberg Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plettenberg Park Hotel And Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Park Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing