We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great escape - perfect quiet location with attentive service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great escape - perfect quiet location with attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night before a week at Beacon Island. Luckily the highly attentive GM of this small upscale hotel upgraded our room to a larger one with great sea views. The location is certainly stunning and all the staff make an effort to make you feel special. In terms of managing expectations - some features are a little tired for a 5 star hotel, such as the old shower door, and the dinner was not quite up to 5 star standard (nor cheap). But breakfast was superb and the overall experience excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denzil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    18
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
85
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I spent a night here at the end of March. What an experience. I was looking for something away from the normal "city" that has enveloped Plett and thats exactly what I found. The hotel is situated perfectly so that you feel like you are miles from anywhere. The perfect place for some headspace. I was travelling alone this time and found The Plettenberg to be the perfect welcoming space to be in. As there are only 10 rooms, it has an aire of exclusivity, as a single traveller you never feel uncomfortable in the public areas, because it is never crowded, and just blissfully private and relaxing and welcoming. The staff were fantastic and service was perfect. I was so smug in my find I decided to cancel my other dinner arrangements and stay at the hotel. Perfect choice - fine dining, perfect Fillet, good wine - all the boxes were ticked. The Views are incredible, the rooms are perfectly situated with comfort and privacy being top priorities. Complaints: None - Observations: The hotel sign for the turn off is a little misleading but I called reception and was quickly corrected on where I had missed them. The bathrooms whilst perfectly clean and functional, just dont carry the same feeling and style that the rest of the hotel indulges in. These are mere observations and didn't detract from my stay - Its exactly what I had hoped it would be and possibly just that little bit more. I will definitely be going back, but next time for at least 3 nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouringTrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 18th crown wedding anniversary in this amazing hotel hidden away from the rest of the world. The staff from booking til the last minute when we left were awesome. Caroline, Kyle, Michelle, Tebogo, Natasha & Michelle from the Spa really made our experience a memorable one. The view from our balcony, the private beach experience, private dinner on our balcony, the private jacuzzi experience, the awesome spa treatment, the delicious meals truly made our wedding anniversary the one to remember for all time. Thank you Plettenberg Park Hotel and Spa for adding to our already amazing travel experiences.
Regards
Mala & Kenny Moodley
Centurion, South Africa
Mala Moodley

Room Tip: Room 206 view to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalaMoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel used to be a house, and is located right on the cliff by Robberg, and since becoming a hotel, it is a very private one with only 10 rooms. This means the staff get to know all guests and help them with dinner reservations, meal preferences (the chef came to our room to discuss vegetarian menu options for dinner), and anything else one may need.

The spa is cute and a good way to spend a rainy day in Plett, as when the sun shines, the private beach or the pool overlooking the sea is the place to be.

The suite we stayed in had an awesome sea view from the balcony, and we fell asleep listening to the waves.

The breakfast buffet was amazing.

A very relaxing place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauritianPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed at the Plettenberg Park for 4 nights, absolutely fabulous. Our suite was lake facing but just as gorgeous as the sea facing suites. We had such an amazing time, the views were breathtaking and we even had our own private beach (hotel was quite guiet). I have never stayed in a hotel where the service was so attentive. The spa faces onto the sea front and listening to the waves crash as I had my massage was the most relaxing experiences I have had at a spa. Cannot fault this fabulous hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

What a fabulous place. We were booked at the Plettenburg Hotel in town but when we arrived they were overbooked, so they placed us (fortuitously) at the Plettenburg Park. We feel SO lucky! The team was incredibly welcoming when we arrived at the last-minute late at night and they could not have done more to make us feel welcome during our two nights there including a romantic dinner on the deck, then a private Braai (!) in our room, and custom-packed lunches for our onward journey. And their pool! We're big swimmers and their pool is almost a full 25 yards and more than adequate for swimming laps. Also, proximity of the hotel to the Robberg Nature Reserve is worth staying there alone! The town didn't seem that great so we just stayed at the hotel -- sitting on their epic deck, swimming laps, and then swimming in their private tidal pool on the private beach and exploring the (private again) path along the cliffs and then hiking in the Robberg. Amazing stay and service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The views from the rooms here are simply unbeatable. We stayed during winter and were fortunate enough to be upgraded, but any sea-facing room would be amazing.

They have a private rock-pool and man-made beach area below the hotel which would be great in summer, along with a fantastic pool area.

The location is in a very private and secluded area, but you are only a 10 minute drive from the main central Plett area, so the location is ideal.

Room Tip: It must be a sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryHalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Farm 4A Robberg Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Fastbooking so you can book your Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plettenberg Park Hotel And Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Park Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing