We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best views and hotel in the world!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
boulder, co
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best views and hotel in the world!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Our stay was not only a trip of a lifetime but a truly spiritual experience. The service, scenery and ambiance are all unmatched. Just go there - you'll be treated like royalty.

Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jemgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    18
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
91
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

I spent two nights at The Plettenberg Park Hotel on the 7th and 8th of March 2008 and thought I have to write a few lines to clear up some misconceptions in previous Tripadvisor reviews of this establishment.
The attentive staff (Brett, Kyle, Cindy, Lizelle, Tyler and the rest of their team) really made my stay extra special and provided fantastic service at all times without being overbearing or intrusive.

Whilst some of the lightly coloured couches in the bedroom could do with a good cleaning, the bedlinen, beds, tablecloths, towels and all furniture and decor in communal areas were brand new and sparkling clean. Coupled with the fact that the pool has beautiful lake views and sea-facing views, it sounds like the hotel has undergone a major upgrade all round since reviews posted pre-2008.

No request was too much trouble for the staff and I loved the flexibility of the chef Lizelle, who phoned and enquired what I would prefer for mealtimes and who exceeded my expectations every time!

This hotel is indeed expensive accommodation, as mentioned in previous reviews, however, my experience is that they cater for the well-heeled traveller who places a premium on service and overall quality, rather than being solely price-sensitive. That said, the mini bar was well priced in international terms, as was the wine list in the main dining room whilst all food was of a very high standard. The en-suite bedrooms are hugely spacious and that in itself makes the price worthwhile for me as well as making a refreshing change from matchbox-sized European hotel rooms.

The staff organised a beautiful picnic lunch (complete with parasol, picnic basket, ice bucket, drinks, blankets and towels) for me on the hotel's private beach which is inaccessible by road, and therefore completely unspoilt. As a single traveller I appreciated the attentiveness of the staff members at Plett Park, since one is easily overlooked when travelling alone in bigger sized hotels.

I spent an unforgettable two nights at Plett Park and I'm in the process of finalising my next booking. This is the ultimate get-away for a long weekend or a 4-night stay if you're craving restorative sea views, tranquility, peace, great spa treatments and fantastic food and service.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank lm1Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2008

We had our wedding at Plett Park three weeks ago. Having never seen the place until we arrived the day before, it was a bit of a gamble (especially as we were also flying 22 of our family out for the occasion!) - but the gamble paid off big time. This hotel gave us a wedding weekend we will never forget. We had the luxury of having the hotel to ourselves for three days as we took over all nine rooms. Every single staff member was so attentive without being intrusive, all the small details had been anticipated, the food was incredible, the hotel itself and views out of this world. Even the change of GM three weeks before didn't cause any problems - it just meant that we had two managers overseeing things on the day instead of one! Only down side was that it meant everywhere we stayed during the honeymoon felt like a bit of a disappointment after this!
Jen & Justin - Bristol, UK

  • Liked — Views, service, food, rooms
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2007

We stayed for three nights at Plettenberg park in February.

The reviews which say that the hotel is tired are accurate. It was clearly designed and refurbished about 10 years ago. As it is all very pale and white the furnishings in both the rooms and the central area are looking grubby, and in some cases are frayed and have holes in them - as the previoous reviewer noted - not particularly what you expect from a five star hotel.

The views however are amazing, and if you want somewhere to relax then this is the place. There is no cellphone reception at all at the hotel, the rooms are huge, and if it is cool you have a living flame fire in your room to cosy up to.

The pool is small and has no views. You also need to bear in mind that you will be nearly 5km from the nearest restaurant - so unless you want to pay for taxis (approx 200 rand round trip.) or drive - then you will be eating at the hotel - and when we were there that could have meant eating on your own one night.

I would not however recommend staying unless you are prepared to upgrade to a seaview room - it is the five star aspect to this hotel - without it the hotel would be seriously overpriced.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank JLS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South AFrican living in Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2006

We got married and stayed a few nights at Plettenberg Park. It is located just outside Plettenberg. Upon arrival you have to make a call to the main building for them to open the gates for you. The views are spectacular. Our room was nr:210, the honeymoonsuite. Decor is all wood and white linen with african and a bit of asian influence. The is no cellphone reception available at the hotel's location,so your sort of cut off. There is however a regular phone that you can use in your room. We stayed 5 nights and never did the chef discuss our dinner options with us as mentioned on their website. Dinner was magnificent though. Their breakfasts are also very nice. We used the jacuzzi and staff lit candles for us,but we never got any sparkling wine (as mentioned on website). Staff are all very nice and eager to help whenever. The only thing that bothered me once was when we came back from a day of sightseeing and had to call to the main house to open the gates,nobody answered. We were stuck outside the gates for 15 minutes and very tired. We eventually called a farm nearby that also shares that gate and informed them we are hotel guests and nobody is answering the phone.....Another thing about the hotel is that the condition of the furniture is not the best...In the reception area there is a chair where the springs are literally hanging out from underneath it and in the lounge area the chairs have big brown stains and burn marks on them. You have to be 100% blind not to see it. Not very five star. We enjoyed our stay there but would not give this hotel 5 stars. It was highly overpriced for what we actually received. I have stayed in many 5 star places and I feel Plettenberg Park has potential but it needs to pay attention to detail and keep up with promises.

  • Liked — The view from our showers and bathroom amenities
  • Disliked — Bad condition of some of the furniture
  • Tips/Secrets — Inform friends in advance they will not be able to contact you by cellphone and give them the hotel number.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Whatsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2005

Stayed 2 nights at the end of September. Had the corner room on the upper floor, overlooking the ocean. Even our shower had a view.

Our room was outstanding, breakfast on the terrace was lovely and the location is truly memorable - just a shame the dinner we had failed to live up to its pretensions. The chef obviously has high ambitions without the skill to match.

That said, we'd be more than happy to go back and just go for dinner somewhere else in Plett.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
874 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Farm 4A Robberg Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plettenberg Park Hotel And Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Park Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing