We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The magic is still there”
Review of Kurland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kurland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The magic is still there”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Returned to Kurland for 4 nights after a break of almost 5 years. Worried that it might have lost some of its magic, but soon realised that we were in for the same wonderful experience. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the hotel is still beautifully maintained and the cafe complet with freshly baked cakes in front of a roaring fire on the verandah or in one of the lounges every afternoon was a real treat.

The food was unimiginative, but the croissants in the morning were excellent.

Thanks to all who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Paddock rooms 5 and 6 are the largest. very peaceful, with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    19
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
68
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is an awsome hotel, furnished stylishly and immaculately. Friendly staff, who are helpful. Whilst it is a fairly long drive from Cape Town to Plett, it is also spectacularly beautiful landand seascapes.Plett has a good buzz, very interesting people who stay and visit. And then naturally its superb beaches.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our second trip to Kurland was as magical as the first. We stayed 6 nights after a couple of weeks touring. By then our kids were keen for some other kids for company! They couldn't wait to see Lorna and her kids again and sprinted to the kids club as soon as we arrived. That suited us fine. They left us to enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the main house, especially the sofa by the fire on the verandah, the huge room and glorious gardens. Some days we didn't see them between breakfast and supper. That said there is plenty to do for kids beyond the gates. We did Robberg beach and the Elephant Sanctuary last time. This time we tried Radical Raptors and Puzzle Park, both fantastic.

As previously the service was great, our room a real treat and the mood magical. A great new addition at Kurland is Katarina's restaurant which replaced the gift shop. The decor is typically sumptuous, the staff terrific and the menu well judged. This is a great destination for families - we will be very sad when our kids grow out of holidays with us!

Room Tip: We have only ever stayed in Rose Garden One and we like the fact that we are close to the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysaddlebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlock Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I arivved in Capetown South Africa Jan 10th 2012 and was moved quickly through customs
and to my car I headed East along the garden route to Plettenberg Bay it was about a 6 hour drive along the coast of the Indian Ocean the trip along the coast was stunning to say the least there was just one marvelous scene after another until we reached our destination at the Kurland Hotel .when we arrived we went to a new resturant called Katarinas at the kurland hotel i ordered a steak and it was done to perfection .also the waiters and chef were absolutely fabulous with there warm welcome and great smiles ,since i stayed at kurland for 3 months i visitited Katarinas several times and found they could not dissapoint me the food and service were top of the line i highly reccomend it if you get a chance .also the hotel serves nothing but the best of food an service ,the polo fields and hils around the proprety are awesome and again the people were great It was hard not to be totally happy with the overall property and people I Highly reccomend the Kurland Experience

Room Tip: All the rooms and suites are excellant you cannot get a room that you would not like theyy are all b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Kurland is just beautiful. We did three days over our wedding anniversary and the place is just full of roses. The room has probably the best bathroom you could hope for. Service is as you would expect outstanding and the food exceptional. Its a place to walk and there are plenty of things to do locally. Ideal for a short break from reality. We loved it and will be going back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bald-EagleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in Kurland over New Year's 2011/2012 as a family (my husband & me, my mother and our 20 months old son) and loved the property.
It is definitely for guests seeking a non-standard luxury hotel – this means if you like large resorts like Pezula/Knsyna with all standard amenities, this might not be the ideal choice. Kurland is small, with lots of personalized attention, just 12 rooms, and a very individual, nice old-school charm to it, giving you the relief of not thinking "I have seen this a hundred times before". It is really more a luxury homestead than a hotel.
Staff and management (specifically George, the owner) were all lovely, extremely committed, highly flexible and truly thinking ahead. Eg, the housekeeper realized on the first evening that our little son was sleeping in his room while we were having dinner when she wanted to do the turndown service. Hence she showed up an hour earlier all the following nights to avoid disturbing him.
Suites are located in a magnificant garden with lots of fragrant roses and other great flowers. Magnificent rose bouquets adorn the entire place. The suites are actually small houses with an upstairs loft for children and are ideal if you travel as a family and still want your privacy. Depending on your travel group size and composition, you can choose suites with indoor or outdoor staircases between the two floors. Rooms are nicely old-fashioned in decor and immaculately kept.
Food is excellent, and the chef is very flexible to accommodate special requests as I am a vegetarian and my husband was eager to find a beef fillet every day. The principle seems to be one of excellent ingredients, deliciously and simply prepared – there is no artificial fuzz around the food. Very adequate wine list of good South African wines.
Overall, Kurland strikes a very fine balance of catering excellently to families with children while leaving adults some real peace and quiet for grown-ups. The children's facilities are nicely tucked away behind the spa, with a special kids' pool, indoor and outdoor play areas and a baby plunge pool. It allows children to run around and also be noisy, while the main pool still offers tranquility for adults to relax. The children's dinner in the conservatory behind the kitchen was a great choice for our son, who clearly found it more entertaining to eat with other children than sit through a long dinner with us. You can easily dine on the veranda and keep an eye on your room with a babyphone. Overall, we found that Kurland wholeheartedly welcomes children without making the hotel a place where they rule the house. As a couple before having children, we would have enjoyed Kurland as much as we did now.
The overall estate grounds are huge, with a lot of space to take a walk, mountain bike, go horseback riding, watch polo or go quad biking, which was a key pastime for both my husband and son. Kurland also offers complementary pony riding for children, and Lucky, the guide, was very friendly and patient.
We also liked the casual atmosphere of the house – there is no specific dress code, you can walk into the kitchen and ask questions to the chef, and all the staff really makes an effort to ensure you have a relaxed time. We even found are car washed every morning. When we needed sunscreen, the staff offered to go to Plett and get it for us.
If you are energetic enough to leave Kurland, there are a lot of activities to do in the region, from wildlife parks to beaches and forests. However, we didn't even manage to explore the entire estate in three days.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRGangsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights, two of which were unplanned as we were meant to be staying at another property, but loved the Kurland so much that we decided to come back! This is a wonderful place to unwind and enjoy beautiful scenery, amazing staff and great food - we especially enjoyed evenings at Katarina's by the fire. All in all, a very special place, which has fast become our favourite in South Africa. We can't wait to come back. Thank you very much to all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomad031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
10.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
534 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
13.9 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
138 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurland Hotel

Property: Kurland Hotel
Address: Kurland Estate | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurland Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador to the finer things in life, Kurland is the ideal family and honeymoon retreat along The Garden Route. Situated in the foothills of the Western Cape Mountains on on a vast and beautiful private estate, complete with its own polo club, Kurland hotel is the stuff of holiday fantasies. This luxury boutique hotel, within reach of secluded beaches and a great variety of activities, has buckets of character, a never-be-bored menu of things to do, fine cuisine and staff who know the true meaning of the word ‘hospitality’.Over 50yrs ago Baron Peter Behr discovered a coastal paradise of exquisite beauty near Plettenberg Bay on the Garden Route in South Africa and purchased the estate which he named Kurland after the Baltic province where he was born. In 2000, Behr’s grandson Peter, and his wife Dianne, transformed the family homestead into a Luxury Boutique Hotel which sits at the heart of a 1700 acre estate of stunning natural beauty, perfect for country pursuits. Today, Kurland is a peaceful and luxurious sanctuary which offers highly personalised service, fine cuisine and excellent facilities. Its location within the Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve allows guests the chance to enjoy equestrian activities, forest walks, unspoilt beaches, water sports, and extreme activities such as bungy jumping or sky diving. Kurland also boasts its own championship polo ground, private stables and tuition centre – perfect for guests who wish to learn to play themselves or simply sit and back and marvel at the professionals. Adult guests at Kurland will enjoy the hotel’s 12 luxurious suites, sumptuous interiors, peaceful library, gorgeous rose gardens and well equipped spa whilst parents will relax safe in the knowledge that the needs of younger guests are also very well tended to by Kurland’s experienced team of nannies. Children will relish in Kurland’s facilities – two, three and four bed loft rooms have been cleverly created above the main suites, each with en-suite bathroom and play area and they can choose to dine in ‘Children Only’ Dining Conservatory, Private Playroom or by invitation at the excusive Chef’s Table in the kitchen.Retaining its age-old reputation for great hospitality amidst spectacular natural beauty, Kurland has received a number of accolades including Runner-up in the prestigious Tatler Hotel of the Year awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurland Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing