We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Magical place (family haven)”
Review of Kurland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kurland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We were so lucky to be able stay at this amazing hotel. On arrival I was concerned that it would be difficult with small children, but I could not have been more wrong. The hotel must be one of the most child friendly hotels I have ever been to. The staff are wonderful with the kids and there service in general is suburb. Very attentive and caring. The grounds and facilities are fantastic, even in the cold and rain. The quad bikes a massive plus. Well done to all at Kurland, and we hope to visit again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Kurland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Wow,what a place It was my wife's 50th birthday and wanted a palce that was special to spend a night Well we couldn't have chosen better Kurlnd was everything we had heard about and so much more .The room was beautifully furnished,spacious,clean and large classy en-suite bathroom
We walked the farm,saw the horses,rode quad bikes and explored the area This is the most beautiful setting The meals were excellent and lots of warm log fires for winter nights even a fire in our bedroom whichwas very special and a real welcome surprise on returning to our room after dinner I would highly recommend this as a fantastic place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foresthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I was lucky enough to stay here, with my young son, over the Easter weekend. Even with the very wet weather, it was still the most beautiful hotel I have ever visited. The rooms we had were stunning - no other word for it. On Easter Sunday, the dining room was over-flowing with stuffed toys (chicks, bunnies, teddies) and chocolate eggs, for the children to take! A very special memory for my son.
It's such a small hotel that you're not even aware of other guests except at mealtimes - so it would be perfect for honeymooners. Oh, I just can't wait to go back...
The Kurland isn't a home from home - it's much better than that!

Room Tip: If you can afford to go here, it won't matter which room you have, they're all fabulous.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Returned to Kurland for 4 nights after a break of almost 5 years. Worried that it might have lost some of its magic, but soon realised that we were in for the same wonderful experience. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the hotel is still beautifully maintained and the cafe complet with freshly baked cakes in front of a roaring fire on the verandah or in one of the lounges every afternoon was a real treat.

The food was unimiginative, but the croissants in the morning were excellent.

Thanks to all who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Paddock rooms 5 and 6 are the largest. very peaceful, with spectacular views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is an awsome hotel, furnished stylishly and immaculately. Friendly staff, who are helpful. Whilst it is a fairly long drive from Cape Town to Plett, it is also spectacularly beautiful landand seascapes.Plett has a good buzz, very interesting people who stay and visit. And then naturally its superb beaches.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our second trip to Kurland was as magical as the first. We stayed 6 nights after a couple of weeks touring. By then our kids were keen for some other kids for company! They couldn't wait to see Lorna and her kids again and sprinted to the kids club as soon as we arrived. That suited us fine. They left us to enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the main house, especially the sofa by the fire on the verandah, the huge room and glorious gardens. Some days we didn't see them between breakfast and supper. That said there is plenty to do for kids beyond the gates. We did Robberg beach and the Elephant Sanctuary last time. This time we tried Radical Raptors and Puzzle Park, both fantastic.

As previously the service was great, our room a real treat and the mood magical. A great new addition at Kurland is Katarina's restaurant which replaced the gift shop. The decor is typically sumptuous, the staff terrific and the menu well judged. This is a great destination for families - we will be very sad when our kids grow out of holidays with us!

Room Tip: We have only ever stayed in Rose Garden One and we like the fact that we are close to the main house...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mysaddlebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I arivved in Capetown South Africa Jan 10th 2012 and was moved quickly through customs
and to my car I headed East along the garden route to Plettenberg Bay it was about a 6 hour drive along the coast of the Indian Ocean the trip along the coast was stunning to say the least there was just one marvelous scene after another until we reached our destination at the Kurland Hotel .when we arrived we went to a new resturant called Katarinas at the kurland hotel i ordered a steak and it was done to perfection .also the waiters and chef were absolutely fabulous with there warm welcome and great smiles ,since i stayed at kurland for 3 months i visitited Katarinas several times and found they could not dissapoint me the food and service were top of the line i highly reccomend it if you get a chance .also the hotel serves nothing but the best of food an service ,the polo fields and hils around the proprety are awesome and again the people were great It was hard not to be totally happy with the overall property and people I Highly reccomend the Kurland Experience

Room Tip: All the rooms and suites are excellant you cannot get a room that you would not like theyy are all b...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
10.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
554 reviews
14.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
548 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
746 reviews
10.2 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
7.4 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurland Hotel

Address: Kurland Estate | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £220 - £541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurland Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador to the finer things in life, Kurland is the ideal family and honeymoon retreat along The Garden Route. Situated in the foothills of the Western Cape Mountains on on a vast and beautiful private estate, complete with its own polo club, Kurland hotel is the stuff of holiday fantasies. This luxury boutique hotel, within reach of secluded beaches and a great variety of activities, has buckets of character, a never-be-bored menu of things to do, fine cuisine and staff who know the true meaning of the word ‘hospitality’.Over 50yrs ago Baron Peter Behr discovered a coastal paradise of exquisite beauty near Plettenberg Bay on the Garden Route in South Africa and purchased the estate which he named Kurland after the Baltic province where he was born. In 2000, Behr’s grandson Peter, and his wife Dianne, transformed the family homestead into a Luxury Boutique Hotel which sits at the heart of a 1700 acre estate of stunning natural beauty, perfect for country pursuits. Today, Kurland is a peaceful and luxurious sanctuary which offers highly personalised service, fine cuisine and excellent facilities. Its location within the Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve allows guests the chance to enjoy equestrian activities, forest walks, unspoilt beaches, water sports, and extreme activities such as bungy jumping or sky diving. Kurland also boasts its own championship polo ground, private stables and tuition centre – perfect for guests who wish to learn to play themselves or simply sit and back and marvel at the professionals. Adult guests at Kurland will enjoy the hotel’s 12 luxurious suites, sumptuous interiors, peaceful library, gorgeous rose gardens and well equipped spa whilst parents will relax safe in the knowledge that the needs of younger guests are also very well tended to by Kurland’s experienced team of nannies. Children will relish in Kurland’s facilities – two, three and four bed loft rooms have been cleverly created above the main suites, each with en-suite bathroom and play area and they can choose to dine in ‘Children Only’ Dining Conservatory, Private Playroom or by invitation at the excusive Chef’s Table in the kitchen.Retaining its age-old reputation for great hospitality amidst spectacular natural beauty, Kurland has received a number of accolades including Runner-up in the prestigious Tatler Hotel of the Year awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurland Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing