We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch at Katarina's”
Review of Kurland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kurland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Just coming home from a lovely lunch at Katarina's. Wonderful venue... best in Plett!? We are longtime guests at Kurland Hotel Restaurant for beautiful dinners , being Plett locals. First try of their rather more relaxed venue ... lunch time for the views, just stunning. Lovely food, fresh produce, attentive service. Di's sister charmingly looking out for everyone. We were a party of 8 and I can only highly recommend this place . We will definetely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Petra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

We canceled our last night at our hotel in Knysna, just to make it possible to spent one night at Kurland Hotel.
Half an hour in the atmosphere here (the staff, the terrace, the dinning room, but not least the suites, convinced us, that we could not go all the way back to Denmark without this very short stay.
When you read the other review, it has all been written, so we will just confirm, that every single complement could not be expressed better.
The Management, the Staff, the Food, the Terrace, the Setting, but not least the Suites, where all out of this world.
We have travelled all over the world, at stayed on a lot on other great Hotels, but never felt this warm and personal atmosphere.
Neither have we seen so tasteful and at the same time daring decorations all over the place, and off course all the Roses.
We can only recommend the reader of these lines, to pay Peter Behr and his crew a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niels h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This exceeded all expectations. We are a family of five and had one of the beautifully appointed Superior Suites. Absolutely perfect. Everything had been thought of ... one of our children referred to it as home ! The boys went on the quad bikes and our little girl went on the shetland pony. We enjoyed delicious food and drinks on the terrace ... you really do unwind. The breakfast is probably the best hotel breakfast that we have ever had. The staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Beautiful setting and a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londontraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stepping off the Garden Route into the Kurland hotel felt like stepping into a charming English country house hotel. In many ways this could have been deep in somewhere like the Cotswolds, except that there was an Elephant Sanctuary down the road and it was 25c in January!

We were upgraded to a Superior Suite which was luxuriously appointed, with a huge room, four poster bed, lots of space everywhere and a private terrace with plunge pool looking across Kurland's huge grounds, with a polo filed in the distance. The feel is definitely country-house, with the decor being on the chintzy side (but tasteful). The building s are surrounded by rose gardens and the whole aspect is very peaceful....until we got onto one of their quad bikes to explore the estate!!

The food was in keeping with the feel of the hotel, from the afternoon tea and home-made cakes, served on the veranda of the main building, to the extensive breakfast, and the beautifully prepared dinner. Probably not the very best or most innovative food in the Western Cape, but wholesome, fresh and plentiful - what you would expect from a country-house hotel.

The service was very personal, with lots of advice on local activities from the staff. The spa looked inviting, although we did not really have time to sample. The laid back atmosphere was a great antidote to the surrounding area, including Plettenberg itself, and was perfectly timed after a lengthy drive down the Garden Route.

Kurland is also perfectly located for the attractions to the east of Plettenberg, including the Elepahnt Sanctuary, Monkey World and Birds of Eden (all 5 minutes away from Kurland) and the natural wonders of Storms River and Natures Valley.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We have stayed at Kurland Polo on numerous occasions and have enjoyed every stay. The style is rustic country hotel with a luxury edge. Expect a very relaxed stay with the option of plenty of activities in the estate and surroundings. Food is superb - with tea and cake every afternoon on the veranda overlooking the polo fields a must. Kurland is very child-friendly so if you don't like kids around check when you book if any kids are due to be there. The main hotel building is pretty old (that's part of the charm) so expect a few niggles here and there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonEspley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I had a business meeting with a very keen polo player on holiday so i only stayed one night. The whole place is very horse (polo) focused. It has amazing facilities for polo so if you want a luxury polo hotel it does not get better. The rooms are large and personal and very nice ( not modern but very well done) the service was great and the food was superb. If you not into polo and just want a great stop over then this is great but if your not into polo and want to stay for an extended time then activities are limited. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliotbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Although I was not a hotel guest at Kurland, I visited the estate with my fiance to scout for a potential wedding venue. When we drove up to the builiding over looking the main polo field, we were shocked at how the building looked in complete disrepair. For a supposedly 5 star estate, this building had rotten wood planks, well worn white paint that was chipping off everywhere. Inside it looked terribly outdated. There were no recent polo trophis or framed photos, it seems it's hey day was in 2003-2004.

The hotels famous rose garden was not impressive either. The pathways between the roses had so many weeds, and the roses looked like the needed to be pruned.

The owners really need to update the estate, I don't understand how this place can be rated 5 stars, when the spectacular Vineyard hotel with it's well manicured gardens and magnificant suites is only 4 stars. I think we will definitely get married at the latter, Kurland really needs a makeover.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurland, Owner at Kurland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

We always consider criticism seriously. In this case, perhaps the criticism was a bit harsh? This young lady visited the Polo Pavilion as a potential venue for her Wedding. She was accompanied by a Hotel Manager. She was advised that the Pavilion had been used the day before for a 200 person social event; in was still being `cleaned up’ at the time of her visit. Due to the previous day’s function, which included a Disco in the main Bar and Trophy Room, trophies had been removed for safety’s sake, as also many of the Polo Photographs. In so far as `white paint chipping off’ is concerned, the Pavilion was in the process of bi-annual maintenance work for the forthcoming Polo Season. The critic, we believe, was aware of this…if not, she may have seen the builders’ ladders and other material beneath the building.
Regarding the Rose Garden, and it’s pathways needing attention, we mention that we have recently received an Award from the Knysna Rose Society, the Members of which are regular visitors to our Hotel. Although we take pride in all our gardens, they are purposely not `manicured’ as a City Hotel’s garden would be, we are a Country Lodge’. Finally, and with respect to our critic, roses are not pruned in mid-summer.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
10.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
565 reviews
14.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
763 reviews
24.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
10.2 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurland Hotel

Address: Kurland Estate | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £289 - £565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurland Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador to the finer things in life, Kurland is the ideal family and honeymoon retreat along The Garden Route. Situated in the foothills of the Western Cape Mountains on on a vast and beautiful private estate, complete with its own polo club, Kurland hotel is the stuff of holiday fantasies. This luxury boutique hotel, within reach of secluded beaches and a great variety of activities, has buckets of character, a never-be-bored menu of things to do, fine cuisine and staff who know the true meaning of the word ‘hospitality’.Over 50yrs ago Baron Peter Behr discovered a coastal paradise of exquisite beauty near Plettenberg Bay on the Garden Route in South Africa and purchased the estate which he named Kurland after the Baltic province where he was born. In 2000, Behr’s grandson Peter, and his wife Dianne, transformed the family homestead into a Luxury Boutique Hotel which sits at the heart of a 1700 acre estate of stunning natural beauty, perfect for country pursuits. Today, Kurland is a peaceful and luxurious sanctuary which offers highly personalised service, fine cuisine and excellent facilities. Its location within the Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve allows guests the chance to enjoy equestrian activities, forest walks, unspoilt beaches, water sports, and extreme activities such as bungy jumping or sky diving. Kurland also boasts its own championship polo ground, private stables and tuition centre – perfect for guests who wish to learn to play themselves or simply sit and back and marvel at the professionals. Adult guests at Kurland will enjoy the hotel’s 12 luxurious suites, sumptuous interiors, peaceful library, gorgeous rose gardens and well equipped spa whilst parents will relax safe in the knowledge that the needs of younger guests are also very well tended to by Kurland’s experienced team of nannies. Children will relish in Kurland’s facilities – two, three and four bed loft rooms have been cleverly created above the main suites, each with en-suite bathroom and play area and they can choose to dine in ‘Children Only’ Dining Conservatory, Private Playroom or by invitation at the excusive Chef’s Table in the kitchen.Retaining its age-old reputation for great hospitality amidst spectacular natural beauty, Kurland has received a number of accolades including Runner-up in the prestigious Tatler Hotel of the Year awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurland Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing