We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real treat”
Review of Kurland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kurland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a real treat”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I came midweek with my 3 teenage daughters during the South African school holidays not knowing what quite to expect. I shouldn't have been concerned. It was more than a home from home. My daughters busied themselves on the farm, from quad biking to mountain biking to the gym and to do nothing at all in a most relaxed way. The staff were unobtrusive yet helpful, the dining on offer was top class with many comfort foods. The bedrooms and public rooms were sumptuously appointed but not over the top. It was as near to a country house hotel as you get in South Africa. It is a place where you can do as little or as much as you want, all within the confines of this wonderfully scenic estate. I would recommend that you really need to stay a minimum of 3 days to get the full benefit. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neddy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    19
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
68
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I had the most amazing stay at Kurland last week - I cannot fault anything - the cuisine / breakfast and the Staff were highly commended - nothing was an effort and the setting was amazing
Stayed in Paddock 1
Beautiful space – ideal for a breakaway and family time if needed – well appointed and luxurious / cosy and well balanced.Loved the two day beds in front of the fire place – ideal relaxing time and snooze opportunity – used this space a lot over the two day
Interior décor ambient to luxury relaxation – I felt at home and spoilt – could not wish for more additions or anything to be taken out – superbly balanced décor
Spacious bath was used to explore my inner sanity – it worked and shower ideally spaced for movement
Fresh flowers in the room was a great touch
Amenities highly appreciated
Great space for exploring different nooks and sitting areas – so many to escape to – and very well hidden for privacy if required
Efficient housekeeping - always ensuring comfort and cleanliness

HOTEL AREA: Library and lounge my favourite – scented Kurland candle enhanced the experience – wanted to buy one for the house – but the shop did not have them on sale

Fireplaces dotted around the hotel lends a fantastic ambience to the experience – and the outside area for fire place seemed to be popular for all – we had a healthy attitude to sharing this space with other guests

The view from the outside lounge area onto the estate is magnificent – soothing the space between the hotel and the rolling green hills – the cacophony of birds and sounds of horses was my favourite sound during the stay

I have to say the presence of fresh roses all over the hotel added to the charm of the country feel – beautiful indeed to have this displayed

Well balanced seating areas lends itself to feel that this is your own home and that the guests are all friends sharing this wonderful space with you

Easter table beautifully set out – nice touch – I felt like a kid again.

A truly magnificent escape to the country side / close to Plett and other interesting areas and of course to one of my favourite places – Nature’s Valley – a memorable two days and highlight of my trip as I truly relaxed in the space surrounding me. A mere 20 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Plett - hop and a skip to other local restaurants in the area.

Highly recommended for family / gay travel / honeymooners and for locals to enjoy the restaurant and Kurland specials.

I cannot wait to return to Kurland in the future and wish the management much success in maintaining the high standards so meticulously created.

Room Tip: Stay close to the hotel in Paddock Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomjcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Kurland Hotel recently and had the most amazing time there.
The staff were so friendly and helpful, as for the food OMW just delish all round!!
Chef leon's food was so well presented and really good!!!
It was so nice of him to take the time and chat to us.
We highly recommend Kurland and so beautiful to have a wedding there.
We would love to renew our vows there someday......

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nixx312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

we were very disappointed, expecting this to be a 5* experience. Firstly, it is a good 20 mins drive outside Plett, which means escaping from the very mediocre food is difficult. Secondly, it is very tired, and standards of housekeeping are low- our carpet was never hoovered during a 3 night stay....our fellow guest seemed to be families with small children (which might explain the food) so it was difficult to relax with small kids running around screaming. Our list of complaints is so long as to be tedious. Suffice to say we will never be back.Pity, as it's a lovely location, and could be marvellous...but it needs a whole new management and ethos.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank teech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a superior suite for four days . The children loved having their own space and plunge pool and the suite was beautifully appointed and enormous. We had thought about staying in Plett itself but were very glad we didn't as this place provided a tranquil base from which to unwind for a few days at the end of a hectic two week trip. As other commentators have said you are close to all the attractions ( monkey world, tenikwa and the elephant sanctury ) and the beautiful beach at keerboum ( apologies for the incorrect spelling) but away from any mayhem. The pace is very laid back , it is very kid friendly which make a refreshing change from most luxury SA boutique hotels but the children have a great space away from the main pool We ate both at the main house and at Katerinas and the food was good . If I had to critic the place at all I would say that the service sometimes was less than five star at the hotel from some of the waiting staff. Twice room service tried to deliver food we had not ordered and often at breakfast orders had to be given more than once . The staff at Katerinas were however very efficient. This place would do well to have a point person or concierge who circulated at key times making all is running smoothly plus talking to the guests and suggesting activities for them rather like we had in Franschoek, but again that is a matter of personal taste. The test of any place is would you stay there again and our answer is happily .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is the most fabulous place to relax not because the facilities are fantastic (which they are) but because of the feel of the place. It feels little changed from when it was a private home and you are treated as a house guest on a 1930's plantation as if time has stood still. Rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed service is evrywhere though never intrusive, food delicious with evrything you would expext and then some lovely home recipes I had the most delicious teacup full of mince with a chilly sauce and chutney (sounds horrible on the page but go and try it!) when the polo is on (christmas and easter) the atmosphere must be electric especially in Katrinas the totally out of character but hyper cool bar restaurant which would be huge success in London or New York but sits casually here next to one of polo fields.. The owners set high standards but don't take themselves too seriously. We traveled as a couple but would love to come back with all the family!

Room Tip: We had a room with a plunge pool which was glorious !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adolphe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Just coming home from a lovely lunch at Katarina's. Wonderful venue... best in Plett!? We are longtime guests at Kurland Hotel Restaurant for beautiful dinners , being Plett locals. First try of their rather more relaxed venue ... lunch time for the views, just stunning. Lovely food, fresh produce, attentive service. Di's sister charmingly looking out for everyone. We were a party of 8 and I can only highly recommend this place . We will definetely be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
10.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
7.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurland Hotel

Property: Kurland Hotel
Address: Kurland Estate | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurland Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador to the finer things in life, Kurland is the ideal family and honeymoon retreat along The Garden Route. Situated in the foothills of the Western Cape Mountains on on a vast and beautiful private estate, complete with its own polo club, Kurland hotel is the stuff of holiday fantasies. This luxury boutique hotel, within reach of secluded beaches and a great variety of activities, has buckets of character, a never-be-bored menu of things to do, fine cuisine and staff who know the true meaning of the word ‘hospitality’.Over 50yrs ago Baron Peter Behr discovered a coastal paradise of exquisite beauty near Plettenberg Bay on the Garden Route in South Africa and purchased the estate which he named Kurland after the Baltic province where he was born. In 2000, Behr’s grandson Peter, and his wife Dianne, transformed the family homestead into a Luxury Boutique Hotel which sits at the heart of a 1700 acre estate of stunning natural beauty, perfect for country pursuits. Today, Kurland is a peaceful and luxurious sanctuary which offers highly personalised service, fine cuisine and excellent facilities. Its location within the Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve allows guests the chance to enjoy equestrian activities, forest walks, unspoilt beaches, water sports, and extreme activities such as bungy jumping or sky diving. Kurland also boasts its own championship polo ground, private stables and tuition centre – perfect for guests who wish to learn to play themselves or simply sit and back and marvel at the professionals. Adult guests at Kurland will enjoy the hotel’s 12 luxurious suites, sumptuous interiors, peaceful library, gorgeous rose gardens and well equipped spa whilst parents will relax safe in the knowledge that the needs of younger guests are also very well tended to by Kurland’s experienced team of nannies. Children will relish in Kurland’s facilities – two, three and four bed loft rooms have been cleverly created above the main suites, each with en-suite bathroom and play area and they can choose to dine in ‘Children Only’ Dining Conservatory, Private Playroom or by invitation at the excusive Chef’s Table in the kitchen.Retaining its age-old reputation for great hospitality amidst spectacular natural beauty, Kurland has received a number of accolades including Runner-up in the prestigious Tatler Hotel of the Year awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurland Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing