We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kurland Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Keurbooms River Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Island Resort(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
141
19
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
19
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquad bikespolo fieldtables laidwonderful lunchhuge groundssouth africagarden routeplunge poolfaded grandeurbeautiful hotel setrose cottagebeautiful estateacres of landwonderful groundsown bathroomattention to detailfour nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This property consistently gets very good reviews from those who stay there, and I accept it may well deserve them. I didn't actually get to stay there, and this is a warning to those who might need to cancel. The hotel requires 100% prepayment to secure a booking. Unusual, but I can live with it. The trouble started when I canceled (several months before deadline) and asked for my money back. And asked again. And again. I have not had the courtesy of a response to any of my emails or faxes. Clearly there is a management failing at best, and at worst perhaps a policy of "go slow, we've got the money". I've had to take it up with my credit card company. Beware.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank FairComment888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at Kurland in January 2013 for 4 nights. The only negative about our stay was that it was not longer. We will definitely venture back when we are next in South Africa.

I found Kurland on iEscape having searched for the best places to stay with children and all I can say is that it did not disappoint.

We arrived just at the end of the "season" so we only had one day when the playroom for the kids was supervised. Ordinarily that would have made no difference to us as our kids will not play in "kids clubs". That said, having spent a few hours in there on the day or our arrival (at their own instigation) they asked to go back there the next day - I almost fell over backwards. There was plenty to do for the kids - horseriding with Lucky, playing in the incredible gardens and of course the pool for the kids was just wonderful.

But it was not all just about the kids. It is an equally fabulous adults retreat. The food and service were excellent. Whether eating in the restaurants or having room service. Nothing seemed too much and the staff were so welcoming.

The location was also perfect - as we could venture out to all the nearby attractions (of which there are many) and come back for some R&R and scones on the verandah each afternoon.

It is not a minimalist retreat, but that is all part of its charm. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alwaysdreaming1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

If you like luxury and old-world charm but delivered in an unpretentious, laid-back manner set in one of the most beautiful parts of the world -- there is simply no better place than the Kurland.
The hotel is owned and operated by the Behr family who have renovated their family estate into a sprawling polo farm and boutique hotel. There are plenty of things to keep children occupied on the property while also being situated a short drive from the beach, mountains, animal reserves, wine estates, artisans, restaurants etc. The rooms are divine -- with fireplaces that are lit and waiting for your return in the late afternoon. Our children had their own suite above us filled with vintage toys, colouring books and a new pack of pencil crayons -- and my daughter loved seeing what kind of cupcakes would be waiting every day on the majestic wraparound porch at teatime.. Our family was made to feel immediately at home here and we all lamented our check out 6 days later. This is a little slice of heaven for those travellers who enjoy the "Relais and Chateaux" attention to detail but don't like stuffy, glitzy hotels. This is the first review I've ever written on Trip Advisor -- that's how great we thought it was! The Ross Family

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I came midweek with my 3 teenage daughters during the South African school holidays not knowing what quite to expect. I shouldn't have been concerned. It was more than a home from home. My daughters busied themselves on the farm, from quad biking to mountain biking to the gym and to do nothing at all in a most relaxed way. The staff were unobtrusive yet helpful, the dining on offer was top class with many comfort foods. The bedrooms and public rooms were sumptuously appointed but not over the top. It was as near to a country house hotel as you get in South Africa. It is a place where you can do as little or as much as you want, all within the confines of this wonderfully scenic estate. I would recommend that you really need to stay a minimum of 3 days to get the full benefit. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neddy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I had the most amazing stay at Kurland last week - I cannot fault anything - the cuisine / breakfast and the Staff were highly commended - nothing was an effort and the setting was amazing
Stayed in Paddock 1
Beautiful space – ideal for a breakaway and family time if needed – well appointed and luxurious / cosy and well balanced.Loved the two day beds in front of the fire place – ideal relaxing time and snooze opportunity – used this space a lot over the two day
Interior décor ambient to luxury relaxation – I felt at home and spoilt – could not wish for more additions or anything to be taken out – superbly balanced décor
Spacious bath was used to explore my inner sanity – it worked and shower ideally spaced for movement
Fresh flowers in the room was a great touch
Amenities highly appreciated
Great space for exploring different nooks and sitting areas – so many to escape to – and very well hidden for privacy if required
Efficient housekeeping - always ensuring comfort and cleanliness

HOTEL AREA: Library and lounge my favourite – scented Kurland candle enhanced the experience – wanted to buy one for the house – but the shop did not have them on sale

Fireplaces dotted around the hotel lends a fantastic ambience to the experience – and the outside area for fire place seemed to be popular for all – we had a healthy attitude to sharing this space with other guests

The view from the outside lounge area onto the estate is magnificent – soothing the space between the hotel and the rolling green hills – the cacophony of birds and sounds of horses was my favourite sound during the stay

I have to say the presence of fresh roses all over the hotel added to the charm of the country feel – beautiful indeed to have this displayed

Well balanced seating areas lends itself to feel that this is your own home and that the guests are all friends sharing this wonderful space with you

Easter table beautifully set out – nice touch – I felt like a kid again.

A truly magnificent escape to the country side / close to Plett and other interesting areas and of course to one of my favourite places – Nature’s Valley – a memorable two days and highlight of my trip as I truly relaxed in the space surrounding me. A mere 20 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Plett - hop and a skip to other local restaurants in the area.

Highly recommended for family / gay travel / honeymooners and for locals to enjoy the restaurant and Kurland specials.

I cannot wait to return to Kurland in the future and wish the management much success in maintaining the high standards so meticulously created.

Room Tip: Stay close to the hotel in Paddock Room 1
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomjcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews