We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant and peaceful place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kurland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kurland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very pleasant and peaceful place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were very happily surprised to find we had been doubly upgraded to a luxury suite here, complete with our own plunge pool. The hotel has beautiful grounds, with flowerbeds full of flourishing white and pink roses, and it was a delightful touch to find two vases of fresh roses in our spacious suite.

The main house is quite old with solid wooden floors and lots of blazing log fires. One evening we had a romantic dinner in the library, and the manager and the waiters had clearly gone to a great deal of trouble to make it a special evening for us.

We found all the waiters very helpful and friendly and a real credit to the hotel. The managers were also very helpful in advising on local tourist attractions and booking up for us. On our final evening we returned to our room to find the open fire had been lit, which was very welcoming and made our room very cosy.

We were puzzled that there weren’t more guests staying. (There were only 3 other couples staying whilst we were there, but the hotel apparently has 12 suites.) One reason may be the relatively high cost of dinner there and the limited menu. (Some of the main courses were R230 or R250.) Being used to the high cost of eating out in London, we were not unduly put off, and we wanted the convenience of eating at the hotel. But the prices were certainly higher than (and the quality and range of food not as good as) in other restaurants we had visited in Cape Town and Fransschoek.

Previous Trip Advisor reviews mentioned peeling paintwork. The management seem to have taken note of this as we spotted workmen painting window frames in the main house on our last day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    19
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
72
66
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This place is truly stunning, the grounds, service, rooms and facilities are first class. The staff can't do enough for you and we loved every minute of our stay there. A nice little touch was returning to your room in the evening to be greeted by a roaring log fire. I also read the comment about the owners being aloof and snobbish, not sure who they met but everyone we met there (including the owners) were nothing but friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECharlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

As part of our 30th wedding anniversary trip to South Africa we stayed at the Kurland. The Hotel clearly targets famlies with plenty of things to do for kids such as horse riding and Quad bike trips. However, couples won't be disappointed here as this hotel has everything spacious and very comfortable rooms. Plenty of room in the grounds um about 700 acres actually, giving wonderful walking opportunities. A modest swimming pool but with some seriously comfortable sun loungers. The main reception area has a very pleasent veranda where you can enjoy pre meal drinks or an afternoon tea with cakes.

The restaurant is in the main house and the food we had was very good indeed and what made the evenings more enjoyable was going back to our room and seeing a real fire lit. It was very cosy especially as the temperature drops quite dramatically this time of the year. Overall a very pleasent stay in stunning and spacious surroundings.

Room Tip: Great for families especially those with young teens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedloveswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a fabulous place. The staff were very friendly, room was excellent and the food was good quality. There are great touches like the afternoon tea and cakes, the quad bikes available to explore the estate and the fire lit in your room in the evening. Everything about it was superb, apart from the state of the bicycles. The estate is amazing and we would have liked to have cycled around it. However, the bicycles are not maintained and proved dangerous, we abandoned use after our son fell off within a couple of minutes.
Would recommend, but Kurland please sort out the unsafe bicycles.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FandJ_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My friend and I went for an relaxing night and it turning out to be a superb experience where we were spoilt with fantastic service and food, where where all the staff were professional, charming and welcoming. No request was too much trouble. The room was spacious, elegant and with the finest linen enormous bathroom and decor of an international standard. This quality extended into the dining experience and exquisite rose garden which is set in a landscape with horses trees and infinite rolling lawns.

As a well travelled person I found Kurland up there with one the best places to visit, a definite for your bucket list.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATIA407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We - a family of five with an 18mth old girl and two boys aged 11 and 13 - have just had a fabulous four days at Kurland, and absolutely hope to return one day. There was so much to do on and off site!

Kurland is about 5mins drive away from birds of eden and Monkeyland (both excellent), as well as an elephant sanctuary and big cats sanctuary. And Nature's Valley - which has some gorgeous beaches to visit is about 10mins drive (and were almost totally empty of people despite glorious weather). We didn't get around to the bunjee jumping or sky diving that are also near by... maybe next time! And they're about twenty minutes from Plett Bay, for which the owner (who was not at all aloof as one review suggested) gave us some restaurant recommendations for the one night we went out (can recommend the italian he suggested although can't recall the name...).

But despite all that surrounds Kurland, we spent more time at Kurland itself than out! The boys were well entertained with tennis and cricket, as well as free use of bikes and quad bikes (but got to be over 16 to drive) around the estate. We also headed out horse riding for an hour or so, again just within the estate - it is huge and beautiful. We had dinner at Kurland for three of the four nights we stayed, and were very impressed - the fine dining was just that (although only three main choices each night (meat / fish / veg), might be hard for the fussy, but it is a small restaurant), and the kids were very happy too (their menu range was huge!). The older ones ate with us in the dining room (and the hotel arranged for a lovely babysitter called Heloise to watch our youngest each night), and our little girl ate earlier at a big old table in the kitchen itself - they are very welcoming, "Come in to the kitchen, you're our guests, go wherever you please!" kind of attitude!

Our room was very large - a main bedroom downstairs, with an astonishingly large bathroom, and the boys had a twin room upstairs with their own bathroom. A log fire welcomed us back each night. In fact log fires welcomed us wherever we went - breakfast, dinner, drinks, the library, tea on the veranda... wonderful!

We thoroughly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

After traveling for more than 24 hours, we arrived at the relaxing and lovely resort. The interior was old fashion and authentic. We enjoyed two whole days here playing tennis, exercising, driving four wheelers, biking around the lodge and relaxing. The food was amazing and the staff was very helpful with regards to service and helping us booking activities and outside restaurants. The area is surrounded by several day-activities, such as whale safari, monkey parks and botanical gardens. If you are in the Plettenberg area, this is a hotel you need to visit!

Room Tip: The rooms all had their individual touch and you will be happy with whatever room you will get. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
10.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
11.0 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
7.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurland Hotel

Property: Kurland Hotel
Address: Kurland Estate | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurland Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador to the finer things in life, Kurland is the ideal family and honeymoon retreat along The Garden Route. Situated in the foothills of the Western Cape Mountains on on a vast and beautiful private estate, complete with its own polo club, Kurland hotel is the stuff of holiday fantasies. This luxury boutique hotel, within reach of secluded beaches and a great variety of activities, has buckets of character, a never-be-bored menu of things to do, fine cuisine and staff who know the true meaning of the word ‘hospitality’.Over 50yrs ago Baron Peter Behr discovered a coastal paradise of exquisite beauty near Plettenberg Bay on the Garden Route in South Africa and purchased the estate which he named Kurland after the Baltic province where he was born. In 2000, Behr’s grandson Peter, and his wife Dianne, transformed the family homestead into a Luxury Boutique Hotel which sits at the heart of a 1700 acre estate of stunning natural beauty, perfect for country pursuits. Today, Kurland is a peaceful and luxurious sanctuary which offers highly personalised service, fine cuisine and excellent facilities. Its location within the Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve allows guests the chance to enjoy equestrian activities, forest walks, unspoilt beaches, water sports, and extreme activities such as bungy jumping or sky diving. Kurland also boasts its own championship polo ground, private stables and tuition centre – perfect for guests who wish to learn to play themselves or simply sit and back and marvel at the professionals. Adult guests at Kurland will enjoy the hotel’s 12 luxurious suites, sumptuous interiors, peaceful library, gorgeous rose gardens and well equipped spa whilst parents will relax safe in the knowledge that the needs of younger guests are also very well tended to by Kurland’s experienced team of nannies. Children will relish in Kurland’s facilities – two, three and four bed loft rooms have been cleverly created above the main suites, each with en-suite bathroom and play area and they can choose to dine in ‘Children Only’ Dining Conservatory, Private Playroom or by invitation at the excusive Chef’s Table in the kitchen.Retaining its age-old reputation for great hospitality amidst spectacular natural beauty, Kurland has received a number of accolades including Runner-up in the prestigious Tatler Hotel of the Year awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurland Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing