We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food in a fabulous setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant food in a fabulous setting”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We returned 5 times during a 3-week holiday to eat the Grand Cafe and this should be a firm indication of how good this restaurant is. Great food, excellent service, perfect ambience, exceptional view. A hidden gem in Plett. On second thoughts, perhaps I shouldn't have written this review in order to keep it a secret!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charl v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    96
    25
    15
    15
See reviews for
38
252
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle Of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I booked an overnight stay for my girlfriends birthday in room 6. The staff were very helpful and friendly both when booking and during our stay as it was our first time in Plett. The room was stunning with two fantastic balconies - very individual in style and well thought out. We would strongly recommend The Grand Cafe and rooms for a stay in Plettenberg Bay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johnny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I had lunch at The Grand with some old friends last Saturday.
The place wasn't busy but the service was shocking. The food took forever and when it did arrive, the food was mediocre at best. The salads we ordered were poor- Woolworths could have done a better job. They also don't seem to understand the concept of fresh fish, perhaps it was fresh when it was frozen.... The chips were not even cooked, they ran out of ice and told us that "someone has to walk to the garage to get your ice"- we laughed!
When we asked t see the Manager as I wanted to send my tasteless fish back, it took about 10 minutes for a guy who I doubt was actually the Manager to show up. He removed my plate and didn't offer any alternative and it was simply removed from my bill..
When I complained to the hostess as we were leaving, she was less than interested.
Great way to treat customers who just spent over R1300 for a less than average lunch.
The view, however, is beautiful so I guess they have that going for them.

Room Tip: Keep your expectations on food and service low, go for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRBBZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Had stunning bfast with kids wasn't necessary to stay in hotel to enjoy this (as most hotels require). Stunning sea view. Suitable seating for good and bad weather. Staff very friendly and helpful. They also serve lunch and dinner to the public - although we did not have either sure it will be on same level as the breakfasts.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Liezelp1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here with my husband in November. Beautiful rooms and amazing bathroom. Very eclectic with views to die for. Staff we're very friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for us. Lovely little touches, especially the night we came back in from a thunderstorm to find a little hot water bottle in the bed. If you are looking for something a bit different I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at the Grand Cafe and Rooms for three nights. This hotel exceeded my expectations in many ways, but particularly the warm, friendly, and helpful staff. We had room number 7 which was large and extremely comfortable. Eclectically furnished, it featured a small balcony with a marvelous view of the bay. After doing the cheetah walk on a cool day in the rain, we returned to the cozy lounge and enjoyed a nice glass of wine by the fire. My only criticism would be of the showers, which as other reviews have noted, tend to spray water all over the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a really special and one of a kind experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had an enjoyable three night stay at the Grand Cafe and Rooms. The hotel is very shabby chic but comfortable. We stayed in room six which had a large king size bed, a bath by the window overlooking the sea, double shower and a sitting area. My only criticism was that the water in the showers went everywhere - by everywhere I mean the ceiling, walls and on one occasion over the room!

The staff were friendly and welcoming.

The food in the cafe was ok - our breakfast was goo don't ow days but disappointing on out last day.

The pool area was next to the cafe and far too public for us,

Overall this is a nice place to stay for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a bath at one of the windows overlooking the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.0 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Property: Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, our Leopard Lounge and a pool all exclusively for our Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing