We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightfull different experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I enjoyed the experience , although I would avoid a lengthy stay. This is a great place to enjoy a few nights. Beware of the noise levels due to the restaurant.TV's are small and could be improved. i would recommend a stay but do not have too high an expectation

Room Tip: Rooms can tend to be noisy as they are postioned above or close to the restaurant and have not been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

We loved our large room with the patio and outdoor shower. The view from the dining room was impeccable so breakfast was always something to look forward to. The staff was so friendly and very helpful. Plus the location was perfect for us to walk everywhere in town!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michella_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights, December 11-15, 2013. After seeing the photos online, we knew we were in for a treat. The location was perfect, quick access to N2, shopping, Lookout Beach, Central Beach, restaurants galore.

Room 5 was exceptional though small in comparison to what we saw in the adjacent rooms. The high bed was super-comfy. There is no shower but the huge tub with handheld faucet was a sensual delight. The decor pleased every sense, no detail was left out. The view was breathtaking and morning coffee on the balcony was a must. Snacks and bath salts and a rose beside the bed, delightful. A bottle of bubbly in celebration of my husband's 50th birthday was an exceptional touch.

We ate breakfasts here (pancakes with apples was delicious), and had late night appetizers. Nothing disappointed about the food and the service was always so personable and prompt.

Parking was amply available on the street and did not cost anything.

We were SO pleased we decided to spend some extra days in Plett. The accomodations were perfect but the surrounding areas were hard to beat for natural beauty. Robberg Park is a MUST, as is Keurboomstrand Beach. There is a lady at KBeach that sells the most delicious homemade samosas! The people here, EVERYONE we came across from gas attendants to shopkeepers to parking "security" at the beaches were the kindest, most courteous folk we have ever encountered.

A big thank you to Thelma at Lookout Beach who "protected" and washed our car to a sparkling shine (after having been on rainy red clay roads for HOURS). People talk about the crime and lack of safety in South Africa but I have NEVER felt safer or more cared for while travelling anywhere.

We will return to both the area and this hotel. Definitely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CravingAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very friendly staff made every effort to welcome us and accommodate any requests. Rooms were wonderfully artistic. Hotel location a stone's throw away from restaurants and shops, and a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Well if you fancy something different then stay here.

We had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights in December, and I have to say it was fabulous although a little quirky, but this added to the fun. Our bed was a good 4ft of the floor with a step to get into it great until you woke up in the middle of the night, but i wouldnt have changed it. We had a shower cubical with his and hers showers side by side, what a lovely idea. I will copy that one at home.
The restaurant was very good and the staff from the management down were just a credit to the Grand.
I will be back.

Room Tip: we had room 6, a very big room with lovey views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert_Mark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

When we previously looked up this hotel we had the perception from the images on the Internet that the rooms looked dark and kinda scary to be honest , my comment couldn't be further from the thruth. This place was magnificent , so so comfortable and great views from our room , to be honest it was probably one of the nicest places we stayed , food was excellent and staff very friendly. We stayed in a total of 9 places along the garden route . This was diff top 2 .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Wonderful small boutique hotel. Beautifully decorated. Excellent service. Food wonderful. Dinner amazing. Terrific ambience and atmosphere. Pool area not wonderful. Lovely views from upstairs rooms. Great place to stay in centre of Plett Excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamgriegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
563 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
760 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
81 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £98 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, our Leopard Lounge and a pool all exclusively for our Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing