We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Not the usual hotel room, each one is different. A character all of its own in a great location with wonderful views, very nice. Glad we tried it and would certainly recommend. Free parking available.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chipselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

i was booked to stay at a rented villa in Plett but when i arrived there was a huge building site next door which was disastrous....we decided to find alternate accommodation and were lucky to get the last two rooms at The Grande! What a place and what great staff. They were incredibly welcoming and had us settled in swiftly..our room was amazing with the best "bath with a view"..dinner was delicious (i go to The Grande in Cape Town often so knew it would be good) as was the breakfast......If i go back to Plett i will definitely be staying there again...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ChobeNatPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

quirky decor, super staff and great food, both fish and steak. a comprehensive wine list and sensible pricing make this a class place to entertain friends. didn't stay as we have friends and rellys in Plett, but have heard good things about the rooms

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nykwilkyins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This place has a quirky feel to it - with retro decor and antique furnishings. If that's not your scene then you won't like it here. The beds are a quite high so a step is provided for you to get on. Rooms feel very dark because the decor is predominantly dark reds, purples, grey and black. It's definitely not basic. The rooms may be different but they have all the mod cons you can need - espresso coffee machines, TV, satellite TV, en suite shower, stocked bar fridge and lots of space.

The cafe has apparently won awards. I didn't enjoy the chicken I had, I found it bland. My friends had seafood pasta and her food was quite good. The cafe's deck is a really cool spot to hang out and have pizzas.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a nice bath with a view. The downstairs rooms don't have views but they're close...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Famabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Grand Cafe is a breath of fresh air, and far removed from what most people expect of a typical hotel. It's innovative, unusual and fun, with staff who clearly enjoy working there, continuously smile, and who put customer service at the top of their agenda. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in a 'moodily' decorated room, with sweeping views of the bay and coastline, and a 3' high bed that required a foot stool to get up into! We had a bath which was next to one set of double windows so we could look out over the bay from the bath, and a double shower that was part of the lounge! The whole hotel has been designed in a very bohemian fashion, which gives it a very embracing and warm atmosphere. Food was great and the restaurant/bar terrace great for views and relaxing, plus the location in the centre of Plett is perfect for everything. The only down side are the stairs. Quirky and fun, and well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get rooms 5 or 6 as these have the best views over the bay and coastline
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What an amazing hotel. The ambience and attention to detail was by far the best we experienced on our trip along the Garden Route. The room was beautifully designed and so unique - they thought of everything and breakfasts were the best ever -with a fabulous view over the bay. Would highly recommend if you like something a bit different!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel in The Bath House, as part of our 40th Wedding Anniversary visit to South Africa. What an unusual and romantic place this proved to be, very different to any other hotel we have stayed in. Service was excellent and nothing too much trouble. We had our own private pool and courtyard, twin rolled topped baths and beautiful red velvet footstools to help us to get into our giant, raised level bed!! This place has to be seen to be believed - a truly magical experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scooby92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
546 reviews
3.0 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £79 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, our Leopard Lounge and a pool all exclusively for our Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing