We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Style”
Review of Grand Africa Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Africa Rooms
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We where overwhelmed by the room nr 8. Huge, Very stylish, great double bed, double shower, balcony, beautiful view over the beach, and and and. We can also reccomend the restaurant - you feel like in the living room of good friends. A must when you are passing Plett.

The staff is also very friendly, helpful and professional. Just great!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiRo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2010

Although we only stayed here one night, we absolutely loved the warmth of this elegant, yet quaint boutique hotel. The food at the restaurant was amazing and the setting for dinner and breakfast was absolute paradise. I could have curled up by the fireplace for an entire week. The staff was warm and friendly and very eager to please. I would definitely recommend this lovely place and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlOnFire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Great location, tucked away in a discreet corner of Plettenberg and just a stroll away from the centre of the resort.....that being said we were reluctant to drag ourselves away from this bohemian gem. If you want traditional and predictable...forget it, but if you are looking for something quirky and stylish then The Grand doesn't disappoint. Our room was dominated by an enormous raised bed and offered amazing views of the bay from its private balcony. The adjoining dressing room/bathroom was just a big and featured a roll top bath and double rainfall showers...stunning. During low season (when we were there) there were few restaurants open; however we were more than happy to stay put and enjoy a few cocktails on the terrace followed by dinner in the wonderful bistro. If driving the Garden Route, I’d recommend making a detour just for the experience of staying in this amazing boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed here in March 2010 as part of our holiday along the garden route.
The Hotel itself comes highly recommended (as mentioned in previous reviews) & we were looking forward to what was sure to be an outstanding boutique hotel experience - Sadly not the case!
The room itself (Room 6) was very pretty with amazing views over the bay especially through the bay windows from our roll top bath! This beauty soon faded when the hotel faults came to light.
The rooms themselves for very rustic /chic but clearly in need of some repair now (holes in blinds e.t.c) - & they don't have air con.
The property is very much a cafe/restaurant (not a very busy one at that) with little emphasis on the hotel side of the business - The service was practically non existent.
When we had dinner in the restaurant on the first night, The menu was very very small, the restaurant was dead & the waiter actually admitted that since the new owners took over it has gone downhill - nice!
They also forgot to mention to us that the cafe/restaurant was closed on mondays so on that day we were literally staying is self catering accomodation - with sperate access to our rooms & no security/staff anywhere to be seen....
The Breakfast buffet was poor - & as a previous review mentioned - lack of essential items (no jams e.t.c) when my wife asked for Decaf coffee - no go (or peppermint tea for that matter).
The pool area is tiny (plunge pool really) with a major major problem that the hotel really needs to sort out ........ The pool is overlooked by a small terrace table with chairs - sounds nice just thinking about it with a Cappucino relaxing in the sun- No! Because this area seems to have been overrun by the restautrant staff for the breaks & general admin!!! Everytime we wondered down to the intimate pool area - there were 3/4 staff smoking away chatting to each other / chatting on mobiles & filling out papers - Not what I really want to see if I am either sun bathing or swimming!! - This pool area seems to have turned into a staff room.

All in all a strange experience - The only way to summarise is to describe it almost as "self catering" because the staff are really not there or there to look after you - We really felt alone & were gone by 8.30am on our final day - glad to be heading anywhere else!!!
This was one of the most expensive rooms (per night) we purchased on our trip but sadly was the worst we stayed in - Read the reviews - dont go!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BYRD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Having done our own research, this was recommended by a trusted quality travel magazine a few years ago. We duly stayed here. I would describe it as boho chic. We had an upstairs room and balcony with an amazing view of the beach. The rooms, (the bathroom was as large as the bedroom) had a ceiling fan (not air conditioning) which we found fine as we kept the doors open to the balcony. (We then spent half the night thinking we were going to get bitten!) The floors were varnished concrete, upon which you had to step onto a velvet pouffe to climb into bed which stood about 35 cms from the floor. My pouffe slid away and I ended up being flung on the floor. It was hilarious, but not the next day when I found the bruises! The lighting was minimal but we had a candelabra with 5 candles. I hope I am giving the picture. The public rooms were old sofas with old magazines to peruse. Staff were very pleasant and the food seemed okay but not fantastic as we were lead to believe with the gushing article we had read.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stopped in Plett along the Garden Route and happened to walk into this hotel. We were given one of the two rooms upstairs, facing the ocean and it was absolutely amazing, the best place we stayed at during our entire time along the garden route.
The room has a balcony overlooking the ocean and the room has an old world charm with a raised king sized bed, wooden dressers and large wooden doors opening up to the balcony. We slept with the balcony doors open each night and fell asleep to the sounds of the waves, woke up to the sunrise.
We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our 3 weeks trip to cape town and surroundings.

Having seen a review of the hotel on Mr and Mrs Smith we expected a nicely decorated boutique hotel.

What we found was completely different. This is a restaurant with a few (about 7?) rooms at B&B standard or lower. The restaurant is beautifully done, very comfy with amazing views and friendly staff. However, the rooms didn't live up to hotel standards that you expect for paying £200 for a room a night. The shabby chic design would have been okay and welcome if things had worked and if the rooms had been clean.

To name just a few examples:
- there were cigarette butts on the balcony when we arrived.
- there was only a bathtub and no shower, the water took about 15 min to drain after a shower
- hair dryer didn't work
- sweets offered were past it's use by date
- buffet breakfast wasn't ready at breakfast opening time and was generally VERY poor (i.e. dry croissants, no butter, no jams, orange juice, yoghurt, some fruit, mouldy cheese and ham, boiled egg - that was all!). After complaining we were offered breakfast from the restaurant menu for free that we would have otherwise been charged for even though the room rate included breakfast.
- cleaner forgot keys in our door for more than 30 min, which means that anyone was able to access the room
- Neither aircon nor fan.
- The decor wasn't particularily pretty or decoratd in an antique style. Chandelliers, bed etc were all of some kind of cheapish looking metal.

All in all I really think this is past it's prime and I really advise you not to stay here! Go for drinks, lunches or dinners to enjoy the atmosphere and deco in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
272 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Africa Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Africa Rooms

Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £95 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, our Leopard Lounge and a pool all exclusively for our Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Africa Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing