We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel , great location , great food , great rooms & great staff !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb hotel , great location , great food , great rooms & great staff !!”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Somewhere special , very different to the normal run of the mil "boutique " hotels . Try it , you wont be dissappointed !!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david7280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    98
    26
    15
    15
See reviews for
38
253
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The Grand was a perfect place to stay in every way. I had read a couple of bad reviews and I have to say I had totally and utterly the opposite view. I think one of the rooms that was mentioned was the beautiful one that we stayed in - Room 6. Although they don't mention this, it has views over the ocean, from a beautiful high ceilinged room with a floor standing bath opposite the other pair of double doors out to the ocean (the bed is also positioned like this). Double shower area, the decor is to die for. It is different, it is very art deco so don't go expecting plain and boring, it's not. It's artistic and has a lot of individuality. The staff were all incredibly lovely, not to mention the restaurant which served the best Calamari I have ever eaten! Breakfast is also very good with a large choice and the chef was happy to change the hot dishes you could order in anyway it seemed. The weather we had was pretty shoddy for summer time and their recommendations were great as to what to do and I thoroughly loved the town as well as the hotel. They were also kind enough to give us a couple of their designed posters! Great place.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bama-AND-Dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Würenlingen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Unfortunately we could only stay one night in this beautiful boutique hotel where we felt immediately at home. Rooms 7 and 8 were absolutely stunning, we loved the comfy beds, the extraordinary bathrobes and huge towels. The rooms are beautiful.
The dinner was very delicious and we enjoyed the food, wine, terrace and the friendly and attentive staff.
In addition we received lots of great recommendations for the rest of our trip.
We definitely recommend the Grand/Plett and will hopefully be back in 2011.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We where overwhelmed by the room nr 8. Huge, Very stylish, great double bed, double shower, balcony, beautiful view over the beach, and and and. We can also reccomend the restaurant - you feel like in the living room of good friends. A must when you are passing Plett.

The staff is also very friendly, helpful and professional. Just great!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiRo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Although we only stayed here one night, we absolutely loved the warmth of this elegant, yet quaint boutique hotel. The food at the restaurant was amazing and the setting for dinner and breakfast was absolute paradise. I could have curled up by the fireplace for an entire week. The staff was warm and friendly and very eager to please. I would definitely recommend this lovely place and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlOnFire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Great location, tucked away in a discreet corner of Plettenberg and just a stroll away from the centre of the resort.....that being said we were reluctant to drag ourselves away from this bohemian gem. If you want traditional and predictable...forget it, but if you are looking for something quirky and stylish then The Grand doesn't disappoint. Our room was dominated by an enormous raised bed and offered amazing views of the bay from its private balcony. The adjoining dressing room/bathroom was just a big and featured a roll top bath and double rainfall showers...stunning. During low season (when we were there) there were few restaurants open; however we were more than happy to stay put and enjoy a few cocktails on the terrace followed by dinner in the wonderful bistro. If driving the Garden Route, I’d recommend making a detour just for the experience of staying in this amazing boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed here in March 2010 as part of our holiday along the garden route.
The Hotel itself comes highly recommended (as mentioned in previous reviews) & we were looking forward to what was sure to be an outstanding boutique hotel experience - Sadly not the case!
The room itself (Room 6) was very pretty with amazing views over the bay especially through the bay windows from our roll top bath! This beauty soon faded when the hotel faults came to light.
The rooms themselves for very rustic /chic but clearly in need of some repair now (holes in blinds e.t.c) - & they don't have air con.
The property is very much a cafe/restaurant (not a very busy one at that) with little emphasis on the hotel side of the business - The service was practically non existent.
When we had dinner in the restaurant on the first night, The menu was very very small, the restaurant was dead & the waiter actually admitted that since the new owners took over it has gone downhill - nice!
They also forgot to mention to us that the cafe/restaurant was closed on mondays so on that day we were literally staying is self catering accomodation - with sperate access to our rooms & no security/staff anywhere to be seen....
The Breakfast buffet was poor - & as a previous review mentioned - lack of essential items (no jams e.t.c) when my wife asked for Decaf coffee - no go (or peppermint tea for that matter).
The pool area is tiny (plunge pool really) with a major major problem that the hotel really needs to sort out ........ The pool is overlooked by a small terrace table with chairs - sounds nice just thinking about it with a Cappucino relaxing in the sun- No! Because this area seems to have been overrun by the restautrant staff for the breaks & general admin!!! Everytime we wondered down to the intimate pool area - there were 3/4 staff smoking away chatting to each other / chatting on mobiles & filling out papers - Not what I really want to see if I am either sun bathing or swimming!! - This pool area seems to have turned into a staff room.

All in all a strange experience - The only way to summarise is to describe it almost as "self catering" because the staff are really not there or there to look after you - We really felt alone & were gone by 8.30am on our final day - glad to be heading anywhere else!!!
This was one of the most expensive rooms (per night) we purchased on our trip but sadly was the worst we stayed in - Read the reviews - dont go!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BYRD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
723 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
534 reviews
3.0 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Property: Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, our Leopard Lounge and a pool all exclusively for our Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing