We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime Staff”

@ Whales Restaurant
Cuisines: African, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A gourmet dining experienceawaits the entire family when visiting @ Whales restaurant, with attentive service, gracious hospitality and a contemporary African cuisine menu. The large sundeck, with expansive views offers an alternative, casual dining experience and is an ideal venue to enjoy light lunches, cocktails and sundowners.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sublime Staff”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Restaurant manager went out of her way to make my stay very memorable. No request was too much and variety of food great. Love the fresh fish from the boat idea, can highly recommend the mussel pot, best one I've had in a long time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchiesInAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at @ Whales Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear DutchiesinAfrica,

We appreciate you taking the time to post this review and are delighted to read that your visit was a great one. We look forward to welcoming you back to @Whales Restaurant for another delicious mussel pot in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great setting, limited menu”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We chose to eat here while on holiday in Plett because of the trip advisor reviews; it was a bit disappointing compared to other places we have eaten at over the last few days. The setting is fantastic, and on a sunny I would visit again but we found the menu a bit limited and the room was cold (we were there end of the season)

Helpful?
1 Thank haz789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at @ Whales Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear haz789,

We are disheartened to read that your experience did not live up to expectations, particularly after the reviews we have received. With the winter season approaching, @Whales can be a little cool, however we have escalated your review to the General Manager to ensure this is actioned. We do however welcome constructive comments, as we believe they can only assist us in bettering service delivery, and thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As a local, I thought I'd tried it all... The new @Whales is an absolute must!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It was quite by chance that my partner and I decided to dine at the revamped @Whales restaurant this Easter weekend and we were thoroughly impressed - we didn't want the evening to end!

The setting is absolutely stunning and offers an elevated view overlooking Plett, Tsitsikamma Mountains, the lagoon and the ocean. We loved the outside deck on a beautiful autumn evening - go early enough so you can enjoy the sunset!

I had the Fisherman's Platter which included prawns, calamari, mussels, a hearty portion of fish, a light rice and crunchy sauteed vegetables. It was absolutely divine and one every seafood lover should try. My partner had steak which he loved and we found the staff very friendly, attentive and relaxed. The interior of the restaurant is warm and inviting, just a lovely place to take your time and enjoy the food, the wine and the views.

In fact, we were so impressed with the food we saw coming out of the kitchen that we went back to sample their range of pizzas the very next day! Clearly made from scratch with lots of really fresh ingredients. Very happy customers. Well done to the new team! I cannot wait to try the Tapas next!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YB20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Great Service and delicious tapas”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Went for Lunch with the family. Charming welcome and attentive service.
Even the kids loved their tapas. Great Value for money. Next time we will try your pizza's.
Never heard of a meatball or african pizza, but the description looks promising.
Pity that we were the only ones. Brilliant idea with your guest comments on wine bottles.
Thanks a lot. We will definately be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lhali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay at plettenberg”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

situated on a beautifull spot in plettenberg bay is the whale song hotel. with lovely views and a stunning restaurant. staff is realy friendly and professional. the manager is totally hands on with everything. I will realy make a holiday again at this hotel and restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaco02014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed @ Whales Restaurant also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to @ Whales Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing