We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taken - aback!!”

@ Whales Restaurant
Cuisines: African, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A gourmet dining experienceawaits the entire family when visiting @ Whales restaurant, with attentive service, gracious hospitality and a contemporary African cuisine menu. The large sundeck, with expansive views offers an alternative, casual dining experience and is an ideal venue to enjoy light lunches, cocktails and sundowners.
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Although our friends and us were only staying at the hotel (Whalesong) for 2 nights, and we had already decided to eat out the first night and enjoy the cuisine of Whales on the second.
Well, we should have had dinner at Whales on both evenings.
And what "tempted" the tastebuds for dinner, was the superb continental breakfast.that morning.
If the food,service and general hospitality was anything to go by, the evening meal would be "magic".
And so it was,from the welcome of the staff, to the elegant but simple table decor,cleanliness and general ambiance.
All four of us had different starters and mains,from "tapa's" to mussels and steak to prawns and fish.What a delight.
It will be a long way to travel from Gauteng to Plett for dinner, but who knows,it will be worth it.
To Manuela and Candice and the "backroom crew" - Awesome and thank you
Bryan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scorpiobnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at @ Whales Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Bryan,

Thank you for your review! It is always wonderful to read about our team delivering the Legendary service we strive to create. While it is quite a drive just for a good meal, perhaps our winter special will tempt you? Visit our website for more details and we hope we can entice you to return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Restaurant manager went out of her way to make my stay very memorable. No request was too much and variety of food great. Love the fresh fish from the boat idea, can highly recommend the mussel pot, best one I've had in a long time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DutchiesInAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at @ Whales Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear DutchiesinAfrica,

We appreciate you taking the time to post this review and are delighted to read that your visit was a great one. We look forward to welcoming you back to @Whales Restaurant for another delicious mussel pot in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We chose to eat here while on holiday in Plett because of the trip advisor reviews; it was a bit disappointing compared to other places we have eaten at over the last few days. The setting is fantastic, and on a sunny I would visit again but we found the menu a bit limited and the room was cold (we were there end of the season)

1  Thank haz789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at @ Whales Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear haz789,

We are disheartened to read that your experience did not live up to expectations, particularly after the reviews we have received. With the winter season approaching, @Whales can be a little cool, however we have escalated your review to the General Manager to ensure this is actioned. We do however welcome constructive comments, as we believe they can only assist us in bettering service delivery, and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It was quite by chance that my partner and I decided to dine at the revamped @Whales restaurant this Easter weekend and we were thoroughly impressed - we didn't want the evening to end!

The setting is absolutely stunning and offers an elevated view overlooking Plett, Tsitsikamma Mountains, the lagoon and the ocean. We loved the outside deck on a beautiful autumn evening - go early enough so you can enjoy the sunset!

I had the Fisherman's Platter which included prawns, calamari, mussels, a hearty portion of fish, a light rice and crunchy sauteed vegetables. It was absolutely divine and one every seafood lover should try. My partner had steak which he loved and we found the staff very friendly, attentive and relaxed. The interior of the restaurant is warm and inviting, just a lovely place to take your time and enjoy the food, the wine and the views.

In fact, we were so impressed with the food we saw coming out of the kitchen that we went back to sample their range of pizzas the very next day! Clearly made from scratch with lots of really fresh ingredients. Very happy customers. Well done to the new team! I cannot wait to try the Tapas next!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank YB20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Went for Lunch with the family. Charming welcome and attentive service.
Even the kids loved their tapas. Great Value for money. Next time we will try your pizza's.
Never heard of a meatball or african pizza, but the description looks promising.
Pity that we were the only ones. Brilliant idea with your guest comments on wine bottles.
Thanks a lot. We will definately be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lhali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed @ Whales Restaurant also viewed

 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to @ Whales Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing