We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stone Cottage”
Review of Stone Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Cottage
Ranked #34 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Stone Cottage”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Incredible location which is close enough to both the town and the beach to walk. The staff are very attentive but also leave you be to enjoy your time there. The Pierre Boetie suite in particular is amazing with great views of Central Beach. We would highly recommend a stay at Stone Cottage and will most definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    24
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
41
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Leonard Suite over Christmas and loved every minute. The view and the gardens surrounding the balcony is beautiful. The room has everything you need and is serviced daily-an added bonus. I would recommend this accommodation for anyone visiting Plett.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Stone Cottage. The accomadation has a great central location in Plettenberg and is well managed and clean! Management is very active in promoting activities in Plettenberg and more than willing to give tips and/or book activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, U.s. Virgin Islands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were referred to the Stone Cottage by a waitress, not far from there. We found it to be perfect for us, laid back and quiet, yet near restaurants and shopping. The Boetie Pierre Cottage felt more like home than our own condo in the Caribbean! We had a view of the Indian Ocean and it was decorated with Annie's Granny's old photos, etc. and was furnished with everything a person could need. We are back home now and often say how we wish we were back in the Stone Cottage!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 18ROse_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The "suite" we stayed in was really more of a lovely small apartment with a large balcony and a fabulous view of the Indian ocean. Not sure if all the rooms share this view. Delightful gardens, laid back attitude, interestingly furnished and a great value. My son, mother and I stayed for 2 nights and it has been the best place we stayed so far.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennebroek, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We've had a very warm welcome in this lovely - ecofriendly place, situated 5 minutes walk from the beach and te centre of Plett. Our room Leonard with seaview has a nice terrace, next to the joint picknicktable and jacuzzi. The room is beautiful furnished, and is equipped with a kitchenette and private bathroom. Eliza and G were very helpfull and enthusiastic; they arranged some trips for us and gave the suggestion for a hike at Robberg. Robberg was one of the highlights of oud holiday; what an amazing hike this was... Thank you so much for your care.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very nice, comfortable and large family room with kitchen, fireplace, big balcony with fantastic view over the sea. Access to jacuzzi in the common area. Well situated near the central beach, shops and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. We felt at home in the Stone Cottage. We would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Aurelia740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bahari Beach House
Bahari Beach House
#33 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#11 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront ...
#18 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Cottage

Property: Stone Cottage
Address: Cnr Harker and Odland Streets, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, resting on a hill overlooking Plettenberg Bay’s beautiful beaches, from the Outeniqua mountains to the Robberg peninsula, Stone Cottage has stood watching over time and tide for over a century. Passionately restored, this historic guesthouse offers comfortable suites for discerning travellers who welcome a unique and authentic experience. Stone Cottage has been a warm & welcoming home on the road for guests, enjoying the relaxed, eclectic elegance of this iconic home. Filled with reclaimed treasures, art, memorabilia & a sense of humour, this venue has been a retreat for many who have found solace in Stone Cottage’s quietly quirky & creative atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing