We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Lodge towards the Eastern End of the Garden route”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lily Pond Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Luxurious Lodge towards the Eastern End of the Garden route”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were lucky to visit Lily Pond for two nights in March when the weather was superb. That meant that we were able to make full use of their beautiful gardens and infinity pool.
This a stylish modern property decorated with a wide variety of African art in what, apparently, is the Afro-Zen style. Much more to our liking than the European style of decor that prevails in many Garden Route lodges.
We stayed in a luxury garden room suite that was spacious and sumptuous. These suites are situated just a short walk from the main lodge.
We dined in the the property both nights (it is a 30 minute drive to Plettenberg Bay) and were very happy that we did. They offer a table d'hote menu but are very happy to alter the choice if you have any particular dietary requirements. The food was excellent and the wine list extensive.
Maria (the proprietor) was on hand for breakfast and dinner and made a point of speaking to all her guests. She gave us a number of excellent tips for things to do and places to see in the area. Her manager, Carol, was on her days off when we visited but the two Josephs were very attentive throughout.
I've tried to itemise the various features of the lodge but this doesn't begin to convey what a tranquil luxurious place this is. If you're looking for an upscale lodge on the eastern end of the Garden Route then do consider Lily Pond Lodge.
We'd happily go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: The luxury garden suites are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    53
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
260
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here with the wife for 2 nights while on The Garden Route. It was faultless.

The staff went out of there way to make our stay as enjoyable and rewarding as possible. They had lots of advice and maps to help us with the garden route.

Food and service in the restaurant was excellent. The grounds and lily ponds are great to walk around. Only stayed here 3 nights but wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: Visit Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve and Natures Valley while your here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andytsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The restaurant serves a 3 course or if you wish a 2 course meal each night of a good standard. The breakfasts are adequate but not exceptional in variety of food. Smokers can be an issue as the smoke can drift in to your eating area. Wifi comes and goes. The rooms are well designed but close to your neighbour which could also be a problem with smokers. The gardens are large with pathways around. Swimming pool and spar are good. Wine tasting and local craft shops nearby. Nature activities in the area being close to the National Park. Nature's valley has a small sandy beach. Ideal stopover but could be extended to more nights.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mpfromp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed at the Lily Pond 29th/31st Jan, what a lovely setting, very peaceful and tranquil set on lovely lily ponds in vast gardens, Staff were friendly and helpful, the food is of a high standard with plenty of choice for Breakfast, the owner does provide an evening meal if you wish to eat there as we did, the food was an amazing 4 course meal at a very reasonable price.

Very near to Natures Valley Beach and Plettenberg Bay.
a lovely stop over when travelling the Garden Route.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed 2 days at this wonderful place.
It was our first visit and we had A warm welcome.
Our room was very nice and comfortable no complains at all.
We were lucky to have wonderful weather so we could relax at the pool with a nice glass of wine.
The dinner and breakfast were delicious.
We will defenatlely come again.

Greetings,

Ron & Rik

The Netherlands.

Room Tip: The luxury garden suites are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We returned to the Lily Pond logde in the hope to continue the experience. We have to say that we now have mixed feelings on the lodge. Let's try to capture the good, the bad and the rest.

On arrival we were welcomed by Joseph, one of the staff. It was somewhat uncomfortable, on the one site we mentioned that we already have been here before but this did not stop him to explain all the ins and outs of the lodge. Then a quiet walk to the room and that was it. One would have expected a more warm welcome.

The rooms remain lovely, with a lot of privacy (we took the honeymoon suite) but in a second glance we felt that maintenance was due. We have loose elements in the bath, most of the mounted elements (toilet paper holders, towel holders and door-opener) were loose. The television was dated from times when you had tubes and the footstool was damaged. We decided not to mention this afterwards but directly. The friendly host mentioned it would be fixed on the day. This day still has to come as we left for the next location.

For a upper market lodge, we paid 2100 rand per night, we would have expected also some extra's like airco (it was hot and humid at the time we were there) and not only a minimalistic fan which served only part of the room/bed. Opening the windows / sliding doors was not an option as you would be eaten alive by the mosquito's. On the upside there was a comfortable outside shower which we used a lot.

The breakfast for average guesthouses would be ok, but for the upmarket lodge, you would expect more. To be cynical, you could count the fruit in the bowl on two hands, SA has great fruit in abundance why not share this with the guests like you see in other guesthouses on the harden route. And then making your own toast whilst waiting for your eggs to arrive makes you too much feel at home... It all looks to much measured to save money, while with the same effort it could be presented much better and give you that expected sense of luxury.

So is it all doom and gloom? No we do not think so. They serve a great dinner at night for those who do not want to drive. The swimming pool is great and you are served with coffee or cold drinks during the day. But this does not weigh up against our overall mixed feeling.

Would we book again? To be honest we don't know...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After the first visit 2 month ago we came back to this lodge again just to find our first impression confirmed or even topped. This is a perfect place for combining a well designed and relaxing place to stay with a delicious 3-course dinner, cooked and served with perfection.
Very friendly and helpful management and staff, beauliful gardens and pool and spacious and well designed rooms make it a great value for money.
Ideal to stay more than one night for discoviring all what the surroundings have to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouroperatorHajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
15.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
268 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
651 reviews
2.4 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Pond Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Pond Country Lodge

Property: Lily Pond Country Lodge
Address: R102 Nature's Valley Road, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lily Pond Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated in the best part of the Garden Route with large colorful lily ponds and indigenous forests, Lily Pond is renowned for its design, tranquility, creative cuisine and relaxing ambiance. This contemporary "Afro-Zen" style Country Lodge is adjacent Tsitsikamma National Park and a 7 minute drive from Nature's Valley beach and lagoon. All 10 suites with air condition, shower and bath, TV and private patio overlooking the lily ponds. Restaurant with good fresh food sets the scene. Pool with wooden decking. Jacuzzi along one of the ponds. English, Dutch & German spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lily Pond Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing