We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay on the Garden Route!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lily Pond Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Lily Pond Country Lodge for 4 nights in February as part of our drive along the Garden Route. We really enjoyed our stay and loved the modern design and the wonderful lily ponds. The management and staff were great and the food excellent. The evening meal is a set menu. We had thought it might be a little restrictive but we enjoyed each meal. Breakfasts were great as well. The rooms were comfortable and well kept. Ours had a great view of the ponds. For us the peace and tranquillity was a real bonus and on the one day it rained almost all day we were very happy to sit and enjoy the hotel and its grounds. It is a great base for visiting Nature's Valley and Storm's River Mouth and the nearby craft centre is well worth a visit. We purchased a nice ceramic piece made on site.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very nice room, clean and a good size. Very helpful staff and the food is first class. Good location for seeing Storm's River mouth, Nature's Valley, Knysna and Plettenburg Bay. Just a shame about the weather we got but they can't control that I suppose! The Lily Pond itself is lovely when the sun comes out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We liked Lily Pond very much - an ideal location and very peaceful - but with the owners away for 2/3 years sailing round the world, in their absence the management of this lovely property needs sharpening. Lots of little things combined to make for annoyance. We booked two suites doe two days. Our initial welcome was a bit lukewarm, our welcome letters in the rooms were in German (whilst we were very plainly English from our booking correspondence), two of our party did not have hot water on arrival or for several hours thereafter, there was a light out in our room and when we requested use of the whirlpool tub, this was promised but never happened. Complimentary wine helped make up, but at this sort of level attention to detail should be better. Whilst the grounds are superb, they too need more detailed attention - weeds were growing through our terrace decking for example. On the plus side we enjoyed good dinners, fine wines and found the Lodge to be well situated for exploring the local area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are attractively positioned around the pool and garden. By paying more the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBEGocek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyPond2012, General Manager at Lily Pond Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs CBEGoceck
Thank you very much for the trouble & time you took to write your travel experience on Trip Advisor.
We have noted your management comments and appreciated your positive comments regarding your overall stay and dinners.
We were notified of a slow hot water flow & a fused light bulb at +/- 17h15 .The geyser I stripped & repaired while the low energy light bulb over the shower was replaced while dinner was been served, and all was working & hot when dinner was finished.
Regarding the Jacuzzi our apologies, we have now a booking sheet with times, as the Jacuzzi takes a minimum of 4 hours to heat up, which is normally discussed with the guests. We are looking at alternative forms of heating due to Power Sharing through out South Africa.
Regarding the 'weeds' in the decks, these were indigenous ferns, which we are now re-planting.
We all at Lily Pond would like to thank you for staying and that we would like to welcome you back on your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were lucky to visit Lily Pond for two nights in March when the weather was superb. That meant that we were able to make full use of their beautiful gardens and infinity pool.
This a stylish modern property decorated with a wide variety of African art in what, apparently, is the Afro-Zen style. Much more to our liking than the European style of decor that prevails in many Garden Route lodges.
We stayed in a luxury garden room suite that was spacious and sumptuous. These suites are situated just a short walk from the main lodge.
We dined in the the property both nights (it is a 30 minute drive to Plettenberg Bay) and were very happy that we did. They offer a table d'hote menu but are very happy to alter the choice if you have any particular dietary requirements. The food was excellent and the wine list extensive.
Maria (the proprietor) was on hand for breakfast and dinner and made a point of speaking to all her guests. She gave us a number of excellent tips for things to do and places to see in the area. Her manager, Carol, was on her days off when we visited but the two Josephs were very attentive throughout.
I've tried to itemise the various features of the lodge but this doesn't begin to convey what a tranquil luxurious place this is. If you're looking for an upscale lodge on the eastern end of the Garden Route then do consider Lily Pond Lodge.
We'd happily go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: The luxury garden suites are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here with the wife for 2 nights while on The Garden Route. It was faultless.

The staff went out of there way to make our stay as enjoyable and rewarding as possible. They had lots of advice and maps to help us with the garden route.

Food and service in the restaurant was excellent. The grounds and lily ponds are great to walk around. Only stayed here 3 nights but wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: Visit Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve and Natures Valley while your here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andytsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The restaurant serves a 3 course or if you wish a 2 course meal each night of a good standard. The breakfasts are adequate but not exceptional in variety of food. Smokers can be an issue as the smoke can drift in to your eating area. Wifi comes and goes. The rooms are well designed but close to your neighbour which could also be a problem with smokers. The gardens are large with pathways around. Swimming pool and spar are good. Wine tasting and local craft shops nearby. Nature activities in the area being close to the National Park. Nature's valley has a small sandy beach. Ideal stopover but could be extended to more nights.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mpfromp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed at the Lily Pond 29th/31st Jan, what a lovely setting, very peaceful and tranquil set on lovely lily ponds in vast gardens, Staff were friendly and helpful, the food is of a high standard with plenty of choice for Breakfast, the owner does provide an evening meal if you wish to eat there as we did, the food was an amazing 4 course meal at a very reasonable price.

Very near to Natures Valley Beach and Plettenberg Bay.
a lovely stop over when travelling the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
15.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
564 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
275 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Pond Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Pond Country Lodge

Address: R102 Nature's Valley Road, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £110 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lily Pond Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated in the best part of the Garden Route with large colorful lily ponds and indigenous forests, Lily Pond is renowned for its design, tranquility, creative cuisine and relaxing ambiance. This contemporary "Afro-Zen" style Country Lodge is adjacent Tsitsikamma National Park and a 7 minute drive from Nature's Valley beach and lagoon. All 10 suites with air condition, shower and bath, TV and private patio overlooking the lily ponds. Restaurant with good fresh food sets the scene. Pool with wooden decking. Jacuzzi along one of the ponds. English, Dutch & German spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lily Pond Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing