We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, good beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whalesong Hotel & Spa
Ranked #66 of 85 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

A group of us stayed 2 nights here during our tour across the Cape and quite agree that it was not the easiest place to find but only because the big sign outside welcomes you to 'Legend Hotels' with Whalesong in smaller letters - actually easy so owners be advised and make it clearer!! Warm welcome and very friendly staff plus lovely spacious rooms. It would seem that it had a complete change of management in the ladt couple of weeks, with restaurant coming back within main ownership so not too surprising that staff were still finding their way but full marks for doing their best and looking after us. If you want to go farther afield to eat it's a Short taxi ride to marina and Phat Fish restaurant which is awesome. (Ask hotel to call Noel for brilliant taxi ride! ) on a practical note hotel location is uphill so possibly not easiest access for people with mobility problems altho I am sure the lovely staff would assist if necessary.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

just returned from a tour and stayed here for three nights - accommodation was amazing - sol relaxed could not understand the reviews that said it was noisy. food was excellent and wine selection was great with reasonable prices. Staff were friendly and could not do enough. I hope to go back to south africa in the future and this hotel will certainly be on the agenda

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

As you arrive you have a stunning view of the ocean, lagoon and Outeniqua and Tistsikamma mountain range, you are welcomed by management in person with a wonderful welcome drink. We where escorted to our rooms and assisted with our bags.

The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast buffet offered all you need for a perfect start. The staff was friendly and very helpful. we where positively surprised as we have read the review before and didn't expect much. Keep up the excellent work and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantele79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Despite a warm welcome from the manager when we arrived, the rest of our time at the Whalesong, was spent trying to keep warm! The heating in the rooms is totally inadequate, one small panel heater cannot possibly heat up such a large area, particularly when many of the bathrooms had uninsulated thatched rooves, as did the man lounge area. Although there was an open fire there, it was not always lit and even when it was is was still bitterly cold.

The stone bathroom floors were freezing and it is a high step up to the bath which makes it potentially dangerous. All rooms face the bay but the downstairs ones don't have much of a view and the sun is on the back of the rooms in the evening, when it would be nice to have had it on the balcony.

The electric blanks were already on the beds when we got there and it is just as well, but we had to keep them on all night and bed socks were still required!

The traffic noise to me was very disturbing, constant lorry traffic on the N2, all night. We found the hotel restaurant food to be quite tasty, but if it was nothing to do with the hotel, it seems a bit odd that the manager and the breakfast staff were all working in the restaurant at night?

Wi-Fi is only available in the public rooms, which means you are more or less stuck with sitting in there for that. I agree that breakfast service was slow and at times seemed very random. When the hot food did arrive it soon became cool. There wasn't much choice of other things either.

The best bit for me was watching the resident rabbits hopping around in the gardens.

Room Tip: Get a room nearer reception if possible to cut down on traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellamanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison at Whalesong Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Bellamanning,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was disheartening to read that your stay at Whalesong Hotel & Hydro was anything less than Legendary. We welcome constructive comments as we believe they can only assist us in bettering our service delivery and can assure you that the points raised have been brought to Management attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Firstly, this wasn’t the easy place to find that we were expecting. Both our Google Maps and Garmin satnav told us that the hotel was at the other end of the road that we were on. So we spent a frustrating time going around in circles until we had to resort to asking a helpful member of the South African Police Service for directions.
At least we got a friendly welcome and a glass of mango juice whilst we were checking in, which took no time at all. We were quite glad of some help with our cases to get from where the car was parked to the lodge. There was something of a rustic theme to the accommodation which was pleasant enough. We certainly had a nice view of Plettenberg Bay from the balcony. The room was reasonably well equipped, no climate control but a ceiling fan which we didn’t need as it was quite cool in the evenings in early April. The bed was more than large enough with a lovely firm mattress and comfy pillows. There is no duvet but you can use warm fleecy blankets if you get too cold. There is a fridge in the room, along with a safe, coffee and tea making facilities and a hairdryer. In the bathroom there is a separate shower and large bath. There was a small old style TV with a few channels available, including Sky News.
There is free wifi available in the reception area but not in the rooms. Breakfast is reasonable with cooked options as well as cereal, cold meats, fruit etc. The restaurant is a short walk from the accommodation although is not owned or operated by the hotel. There is a reasonable choice of food options and it is easier to use than going in search of a restaurant in the town centre which is a short drive away. There is a swimming pool available but we didn’t use it as the weather was not quite warm enough.
A special mention goes to Cynthia on reception who helped with a booking for a local event and allowed me to e-mail the booking receipt to her e-mail address so that we could print it off.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJ862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, (4 in the party staying & 2 more were joining us from another hotel) while touring the Garden Route. On arrival we asked to book a table to celebrate by brother’s wedding anniversary & was told that the restaurant might not be open as is does not belong to the hotel. We went out to the beach & found a great bar where we decided to have dinner. The hotel rang to say the restaurant would be open, but we decided to stay where we were. Because we were driving, we returning to the hotel to finish the night off only to find the bar very poorly stocked. (Only one measure of vodka left) & only 2 beers to choose from. The girl behind the bar was cooking the dinner on 2 gas rings & a microwave for the staff, which made the bar smell. We had one drink & went to bed, so the celebrations were short lived.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Client Liaison & Branding Executive at Whalesong Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Mike B

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are saddened to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Whalesong Hotel & Hydro. As explained by the General Manager, the restaurant is outsourced and their operating times are beyond our control. We note that alternative arrangements were made although you were later informed that the restaurant was open. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the staff member’s actions while on duty behind the bar. The General Manager has confirmed that corrective action has been taken and the stock situation has been discussed with the Food & Beverage Department and the selection has been increased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Having read reviews on Trip Advisor about Whalesong Hotel, we approached our stay there there with some trepidation and low expectations. What a pleasant surprise we had when our rooms (23, 25 & 27) were really very nice. The weather was great so we could enjoy drinks on the balcony looking across towards the ocean. Great bathrooms- large with a bath and shower. A bar fridge was available in each of our rooms and all the usual amenities were provided shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, hair dryer.
The staff were friendly and helpful especially at breakfast when they ran around organising an umbrella so we could sit on the terrace. Breakfast itself was nothing to write home about and bit chaotic in that there were three stations set up without much indication about what was available and where.
If you’re looking for a beach holiday, then you will have a bit of a drive. Straight down Marine Drive but in season (like Christmas) get there early- finding parking can be a challenge.
Otherwise, if we’re passing through Plett again, we would certainly consider staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of Plettenberg Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
817 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
999 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#9 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
837 reviews
753.2 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Hotel & Spa

Address: Marine Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £50 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whalesong Hotel & Spa is situated in a lush, landscaped garden in Plettenberg Bay, the jewel of South Africa's Garden Route, renowned for its unique scenery and moderate climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whalesong Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalesong Hotel And Hydro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing