We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Whalesong Hotel & Hydro
Ranked #64 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We stayed at the Whalesong for 3 nights in February 2009. The rooms were clean and spacious - lots of character. The service was good as was breakfast. The owners were very helpful in suggesting restaurants and the reception promptly organised transfers. The hotel had a nice relaxing feel.

Previous reviews had commented on noise from the adjacent N2 being a problem - however we did not have any problems in any of our 3 rooms. We also felt very secure.

Overall, a good hotel to explore Plettenberg and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    26
    29
    21
    7
See reviews for
22
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge England
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Arrived in Plett not able to locate the hotel so had to go to the information centre for directions. we discovered it was on the road out of town towards Knysna on an island by services station on a Hill. Lots of security and people hanging around which made us feel uncomfortable, not very friendly staff and rooms in setting of gardens. They feel cold and un welcoming. We relaxed after our long journey on the bed and both started to scratch- it must have been the beds- felt like the room was dirty and slept on top alnight with the heater on and still was cold - in summer !!! As we felt isolated and did not want to drive at night we ate in the hotel resturant which was OK noting impressive though!!
We were glad to leave after our 1 night to our next hotel in knysna and discovered as we left that the hotel is located slap bang next to a massive township - no wonder we felt uneasy there !!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonandGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plettenberg Bay hotels

Littlehampton, West Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Very easy to find but not the best location in Plettenburg Bay.

The staff were OK, restaurant friendly, reception not so, questions were not received well, more of an inconvenience.

Our room was fine but very dark and the access paths were quite steep.

The pool was nice.

  • Liked — Food was good
  • Disliked — Location and steepness of access, especially with luggage
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Our family of four stayed in this hotel for two nights over new year's eve. We had a great time from start to finish. Aubri looked after us and made us very welcome. he recommended an italian restaurant enrico's in Keurbooms Strand and made the booking for us on the first night. This was a top class italian restaurant in lovely surroundings. We spent New's Year eve in the hotel where a 6 course meal, live band and DJ were laid on for us. We were able to watch the fireworks from the hotel balcony and sing in the new year.A brilliant night was had by all. It was a friendly hotel, the thatched rooms were well appointed and ours had a view over the coast line, spectacular.
There was no air conditioning just fans in the rooms, but this was not a problem.
All in all a hotel we will return to, for the service alone.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Little awkward to get around as fairly hilly site
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irish61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We only had 1 night at the Whalesong (which is now also called Legends). We had a bit of trouble finding it, as if you didn't know it was called Legends you would have gone straight past it, as it doesn't say Whalesong anywhere until you get into the hotel - we only knew because we stopped to ask for directions.
The hotel is on the main road out of Plettenberg Bay - only a couple of mins drive from the town, but a bit too far to walk, especially at night. I any case, as it is on a hill, it has a lovely view over the bay (we were lucky enough to have a sea facing room, although we had not booked this).
When we checked in they didn't have our reservation, but it didn't seem to be a problem as the hotel didn't seem that full. When we went for breakfast there was only us and one other couple.
The rooms were lovely - you couldn't fault them. They had lovely high ceilings with wooden beams and thatched roofs - The bathroom was gorgeous with a large bath and the room had a safe and hairdryer.
The main problem was the noise at night - as it was right by a main road we could hear lorries and traffic going past all night. In any case, it was still a lovely place to stay, beautifully maintained with lovely gardens and lots of staff working to keep it looking nice. It had a big spa / beauty place next door, but we didn't get time to go in which is a shame. It's a good place to stay if you have a car, but not central enough otherwise.

  • Liked — The syle of the rooms - very unique, good layout of resort
  • Disliked — The traffic noise at night
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2006

Really wonderful. Beautifully decorated guest lodge with wonderful hosts, Stanley and Lainy.
The real treat however is the whale-watching. I sat on our balcony each evening watching the whales playing in the water just on the other side of the road (hardly used - very quiet).
Don't expect anything from the area surrounding Whalesong Lodge - you're in De Kelders for shark / whale watching, definitely not night life / shopping!

  • Liked — Proximity to whales
  • Disliked — Would be nice to have some decent restaurants to visit in the evening - they're very poor in the area
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2006

Indeed, there was/is a transition period.
The cultural village and shop are closed. The restaurant, with it's new french chef offers a great dining experience. Not much is left of an african theme in the restaurant. It's now in keeping with the name Whalesong.

The grounds are kept immaculate but in the room a nail was sticking out of the floor right next to the bed and the balcony was not cleaned.
Room and bathroom were huge and the thatched ceiling gave it a nice touch.

However that ceiling is clearly not soundproof; the Lodge is right next to the N2 and the traffic only gets less noisy between 0.00 and 4.00 am.

We did spend 3 nights here but left with mixed feelings.

  • Liked — Food and View
  • Disliked — Location right next to N2
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hendrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
108 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Hotel & Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Hotel & Hydro

Property: Whalesong Hotel & Hydro
Address: Marine Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Hotel & Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whalesong Hotel & Hydro is situated in a lush, landscaped garden in Plettenberg Bay, the jewel of South Africa's Garden Route, renowned for its unique scenery and moderate climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Whalesong Hotel & Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalesong Hotel And Hydro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing