We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thanda Vista Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
US$628
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$256
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$139
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
US$280
US$273
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$355
US$339
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$70
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$120
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Keurbooms River Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
145
42
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
42
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomb bguest houseweather forecastnational flagattention to detailsuper breakfastlovely ownersroof terracefriendly and helpful hostsnice stayplaces to visita sea view roomfresh fruitplace to stayrooms are cleantop class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

End February 2012 we stayed 5 nights at Thanda Vista. First we had the rooms towards the backyard and then we could change to seaview. Both types of rooms are lovely and we also enjoyed to stay with friends in the lounge area with all the facilities. Breakfast menue was perfect with constant view to the lagoon. Last but not least JP and Petro´s service was so excelent that we felt like being at home. Thanks much for all the recomendations as to eat out and boat trip on Keurbooms river plus organizing the braai.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lothar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights and were more than satisfied with our stay at Thanda Vista, even though we had a stint of bad weather during our stay, we still enjoyed ourselves, thanks to the warm hospitality of our hosts and the clean and refreshing rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Thanda Vista is a really comfortable guest house with truly impressive attention to detail. The rooms are lovely and there's a nice shared lounge area with all the facilities and guides you could need when deciding what to do (or reporting what you've been up to on the web). But the usp that really singled this hotel out for us was the personal interest and advice of the proprietor. We saw loads of things we've have otherwise sailed past through taking advantage of his local knowledge. Highly recommended! And I wish I could make scrambled eggs like that.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 976barbaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at Thanda Vista for 4 nights, from March 14 through to our departure on March 18. We had originally planned to stay only 3 nights but we were enjoying our stay in Thanda Vista and Plettenberg Bay so much we stayed an extra night. Our arrival got off to a chaotic start as we misread the directions that host J P and Petro had sent us and we got totally lost in the town. A quick telephone call to J P soon sorted us out and we found the guest house OK. J P even offered to come out and find us but as we were not where we thought we were it would have been difficult! J P welcomed us on our arrival and told us about all the attractions and restaurants in Plettenberg bay before showing us to our comfortable and well appointed Iris room, beautifully decorated by his wife Petro, sorry J P but the woman’s touch certainly shows! All of the rooms have an individual theme we believe. The TV in the room had several channels and from the male point of view the 8 Super Sport channels were excellent! The room had access to the balcony and we had a table and chairs we could leave out or bring in, depending on the weather and our mood.There is also a comfortable guest lounge with the Plett attractions DVD on loop plus free internet available to guests which certainly cut down on the postcards! One of the very few negative reviews on Trip Advisor mentions that you cannot walk to the centre of the town easily and that it is uphill, this is true but J P mentioned this right at the start of his introduction and anyway it is a short 5 minute drive. We would imagine that 99 percent of people staying there would have a car so it is not a problem. There is a shopping mall 5 minutes away with a Pick And Pay supermarket, ideal for picnic lunches for a day out plus a Woolworths (not the same as the defunct UK store), several other shops and a cinema which we did not use. Among the excellent restaurants we tried in town were the Kitchen Cafe and Moby Dick’s, right on the beach by the Beacon Island resort. J P gave us a discount card to use at nearby Monkeyland and Birds Of Eden, both well worth a visit. We also went to the Knysna Elephant Park, the town of Knysna itself with its spectacular coastal scenery at the East and West Knysna Heads. We also went to the Plettenberg Bay Game reserve where we saw lions, rhinos, hippos, giraffes, buffalo, wildebeest, ostriches and assorted boks. We also went to the beach at Keurboomstrand walking among the rocks until the incoming tide cut short our visit. Another good place to visit is Tsitsikamma National Park, especially the Storms River Mouth and the walk to the suspension bridge. So to sum up a very enjoyable stay with J P and his wife Petro. She was responsible for lovely choice of breakfasts we had each morning . The majority of Trip Advisor reviewers can’t all be wrong can they?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yennieandbobbyeales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a delightful stay at Thanda Vista. The breakfast room overlooked the bay. Food was great. JP was a wonderful source of information- Tsisikama national park, animal parks, nice restaurants. They made our stay even more enjoyable.

Bob Bunch

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews