We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Thanda Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thanda Vista
Ranked #18 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed here unfortunately for just 1 night in November, with a visiting friend from the USA. Host JJ's courtesy and kindness in offering two rooms at an attractive rate set the tone for an utterly deightful experience.
The location is excellent, close to shops, town and other attractions. The rooms are of an exceptionally high standrad of attention to detail and comfort, and were superb.
We left too early for the included breakfast but JJ's wife thoughhtfully provided a small road snackpack for us to enjoy.
If you are going to Plettenberg Bay, you could not make a better choice than this for comfort and value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank furryneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
114
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. Thanda Vista is located on the edge of Plettenberg Bay in a quiet neighborhood not far from the beach. It was no problem to park our rental car on the premises. JP and Petro accomodated us in the Tulip room (nice reference to our nationality). It is a nice size room. Definetely well appointed to and decorated with lots of love. It has a balcony with a lovely view towards the ocean. All the amenities you need are available (TV, laundry service, hairdryer, coffee/tea making facilities incl. rusks for an early morning rise). Free WIFI is available in the lounge. Their eye for details showed itself again by finding a Dutch flag on the breakfast table. They serve a very large breakfast. You won't go hungry for a long time.
Upon arrival we were welcomed by JP. He took the time to sit with us and tell us all about Plett, the places to go, what to do and where to eat. The day we left he also made some recommendations for stuff to do on our roadtrip to Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

End February 2012 we stayed 5 nights at Thanda Vista. First we had the rooms towards the backyard and then we could change to seaview. Both types of rooms are lovely and we also enjoyed to stay with friends in the lounge area with all the facilities. Breakfast menue was perfect with constant view to the lagoon. Last but not least JP and Petro´s service was so excelent that we felt like being at home. Thanks much for all the recomendations as to eat out and boat trip on Keurbooms river plus organizing the braai.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lothar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights and were more than satisfied with our stay at Thanda Vista, even though we had a stint of bad weather during our stay, we still enjoyed ourselves, thanks to the warm hospitality of our hosts and the clean and refreshing rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Thanda Vista is a really comfortable guest house with truly impressive attention to detail. The rooms are lovely and there's a nice shared lounge area with all the facilities and guides you could need when deciding what to do (or reporting what you've been up to on the web). But the usp that really singled this hotel out for us was the personal interest and advice of the proprietor. We saw loads of things we've have otherwise sailed past through taking advantage of his local knowledge. Highly recommended! And I wish I could make scrambled eggs like that.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 976barbaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at Thanda Vista for 4 nights, from March 14 through to our departure on March 18. We had originally planned to stay only 3 nights but we were enjoying our stay in Thanda Vista and Plettenberg Bay so much we stayed an extra night. Our arrival got off to a chaotic start as we misread the directions that host J P and Petro had sent us and we got totally lost in the town. A quick telephone call to J P soon sorted us out and we found the guest house OK. J P even offered to come out and find us but as we were not where we thought we were it would have been difficult! J P welcomed us on our arrival and told us about all the attractions and restaurants in Plettenberg bay before showing us to our comfortable and well appointed Iris room, beautifully decorated by his wife Petro, sorry J P but the woman’s touch certainly shows! All of the rooms have an individual theme we believe. The TV in the room had several channels and from the male point of view the 8 Super Sport channels were excellent! The room had access to the balcony and we had a table and chairs we could leave out or bring in, depending on the weather and our mood.There is also a comfortable guest lounge with the Plett attractions DVD on loop plus free internet available to guests which certainly cut down on the postcards! One of the very few negative reviews on Trip Advisor mentions that you cannot walk to the centre of the town easily and that it is uphill, this is true but J P mentioned this right at the start of his introduction and anyway it is a short 5 minute drive. We would imagine that 99 percent of people staying there would have a car so it is not a problem. There is a shopping mall 5 minutes away with a Pick And Pay supermarket, ideal for picnic lunches for a day out plus a Woolworths (not the same as the defunct UK store), several other shops and a cinema which we did not use. Among the excellent restaurants we tried in town were the Kitchen Cafe and Moby Dick’s, right on the beach by the Beacon Island resort. J P gave us a discount card to use at nearby Monkeyland and Birds Of Eden, both well worth a visit. We also went to the Knysna Elephant Park, the town of Knysna itself with its spectacular coastal scenery at the East and West Knysna Heads. We also went to the Plettenberg Bay Game reserve where we saw lions, rhinos, hippos, giraffes, buffalo, wildebeest, ostriches and assorted boks. We also went to the beach at Keurboomstrand walking among the rocks until the incoming tide cut short our visit. Another good place to visit is Tsitsikamma National Park, especially the Storms River Mouth and the walk to the suspension bridge. So to sum up a very enjoyable stay with J P and his wife Petro. She was responsible for lovely choice of breakfasts we had each morning . The majority of Trip Advisor reviewers can’t all be wrong can they?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yennieandbobbyeales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a delightful stay at Thanda Vista. The breakfast room overlooked the bay. Food was great. JP was a wonderful source of information- Tsisikama national park, animal parks, nice restaurants. They made our stay even more enjoyable.

Bob Bunch

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
708 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
460 reviews
1.0 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
la Vista Lodge
la Vista Lodge
#5 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanda Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanda Vista

Property: Thanda Vista
Address: 8 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanda Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanda Vista is a Bed and Breakfast establishment, just minutes away from the white sandy beaches of Plettenberg Bay situated on South Africa’s Garden Route coast.Intimate, exclusive and private Thanda Vista offers 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms ( all with air-con, DSTV, bar fridge, mini safe, tea/coffee making facilities, etc. There is also a guest lounge with library, music centre and desk-top computer (with free Wi-Fi broadband internet access); a breakfast room with magnificent views of the Bay; roof-top terrace for fantastic whale watching; and on-site parking. Your hosts, long-time Plett residents JP and Petro van der Walt welcome you to Thanda Vista and they promise that, with their intimate knowledge of the area, you'll find there's so much to do you'll want to stay forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Thanda Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing