We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hosts - excellent stay!”
Review of Thanda Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thanda Vista
Ranked #19 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Warm hosts - excellent stay!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

One of the most best hosts I have come across. The place is clean. Rooms are mid-sized but comfortable. Small details have been taken care of.

The old couple running the place were very gracious. During the (hearty) breakfast one can really feel the warmth, they put in a lot of effort themselves. I highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank whoami345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
114
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Very friendly and welcoming couple running this place. Full of good advice on places to go and obviously very proud of where they live. The arrival is a little formal - owner wanted to know where we'd been and where we were going before we could check in! Could be done at the same time. But very chatty and couldn't be more helpful - allowed me to use washing line, pegs and iron so we didn't look too bedraggled on our onward journey!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had a superb 3 day stay at this delightful B and B. The hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful and their knowledge of restaurants and sites to see were second to none. The large room (Daisy) was beautifully well presented with a garden view. The breakfast was taken on the first floor with wide vistas to the bay/beach area. The breakfast itself was superb and had a wide choice allowing 3 courses if you felt hungry. The hosts really went out of their way to make our stay special with little touches.....eg. allowing us to use their phone and arranging laundry pick up. On leaving we were presented with a small African craft gift. We have very fond memories to take with us.

Room Tip: The Daisy room was quiet and light with a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We had an enjoyable stay with a beautiful view . The breakfast , friendliness and guidance around what's on in Plet was excellent . Thanda Vista is close to restaurants and tourist attractions , easy to find and use as base .Thanks a lot. Cornie & Susan

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Highly recommend, rooms are very clean and tidy with nice and polite staff. The owners JP and Petro are extremely nice people and make you feel very welcome. Their breakfasts are fantastic and the views even better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mikehd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The hotel can only be recommended. The rooms are small but offer everything needed, the hospitality is first class and makes the stay very relaxing.
Especially the breakfast is an ideal start in the day since it offers very tasty meals with ocean view and background music which makes it difficult to leave the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We have positively been surprised about the excellent introduction to the house, the
surroundings, the recommended restaurants, possible excursions.
For breakfast each table was decorated with its specific flag, i.e. we had a small german flag. And breakfast was extremely rich and healthy....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hartwig400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
267 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
185 reviews
5.7 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#5 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanda Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanda Vista

Property: Thanda Vista
Address: 8 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanda Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanda Vista is a Bed and Breakfast establishment, just minutes away from the white sandy beaches of Plettenberg Bay situated on South Africa’s Garden Route coast.Intimate, exclusive and private Thanda Vista offers 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms ( all with air-con, DSTV, bar fridge, mini safe, tea/coffee making facilities, etc. There is also a guest lounge with library, music centre and desk-top computer (with free Wi-Fi broadband internet access); a breakfast room with magnificent views of the Bay; roof-top terrace for fantastic whale watching; and on-site parking. Your hosts, long-time Plett residents JP and Petro van der Walt welcome you to Thanda Vista and they promise that, with their intimate knowledge of the area, you'll find there's so much to do you'll want to stay forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thanda Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing