We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything else makes up for the smallish rooms.”
Review of Thanda Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thanda Vista
Ranked #22 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Other places may have larger rooms, but rarely have we had an overall better experience. The proprietors were wonderful, making sure that every detail was taken care of. We had interesting conversation, and they gave us excellent restaurant and siteseeing recommendations.

The bed was very large and comfy (trade-off for making the room seem
small), and the breakfast was varied, plentiful and excellent (including lychee juice!) There were nice touches throughout--calming background music, embroidered plush towels, sightseeing
literature, personal safe, beach towels, etc. The view of the ocean from the room was spectacular.

We really enjoyed our experience here, particularly since we showed up without a reservation, and the hosts made every accommodation that one could possibly want.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mjbphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Robert

Many thanks for staying at Thanda Vista and we appreciate your positive response to your stay here. We always strive to do the best for our guests and if they enjoyed their stay we enjoy what we are doing. Please come back again and tell your friends about Thanda Vista!
Kind regards.
JP and Petro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

When we were there the owners were away but they had employed a married couple as locum managers. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was cooked to our requirements and they were invariably cheerful.
The room was a good size and there was a splendid bathroom with separate shower. It is only a few hundred yards from the beach but we did not go there as the weather was not good.

Room Tip: The area is suburban quiet so all rooms will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Definately recommed this lovely guest house. Very central, excellant and friendly service and rooms were very comfortable. the owners are lovely and very accomodating. Will be sure to book there again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichelleMitch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Michelle

Many thanks for staying at Thanda Vista and we are very grateful to now that you enjoyed your stay here. We always try our best to to satisfy the needs of our guests!

Regards

JP and Petro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Thanda Vista. The hosts are really caring and pay attention to the needs of their guests, e.g. recommending suitable activities in the proximity of Plettenberg Bay. We would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CapeTown-Fan-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We take a lot of pleasure out of knowing our guests appreciate what we do for them.

Kind regards and again thank you!

JP and Petro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The level of service, care and warm hospitality at Thanda Vista are unsurpassed. The hosts do everything possible to make your stay a wonderful experience. The location is perfect and the view is breathtaking!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Ian and Family
It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and to make sure that you were cared for and enjoy yourselves. Many thanks for staying at Thanda Vista. See you next time.

Kind regards

JP and Petro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have been surprised of the excellent service and kindness of the owners.The accomodation was very clean and first class, especially the bathroom. The owners were very attentive and did their best to make us our staying comfortable. The breakfeast was one of the best we experienced in South Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Margit

A belated reply but we appreciated you staying at Thanda Vista en that you had a good time. Many thanks and please come back again!
Regards

JP and Petro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The actual hosts were away the one night we stayed but the people looking after the B&B were great. The room was lovely,breakfast was fantastic and a lovely view of the beach. Great restaurant recommendations too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Londongirl782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
596 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Bitou River Lodge
Bitou River Lodge
#10 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
227 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#14 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanda Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanda Vista

Address: 8 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £76 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanda Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanda Vista is a Bed and Breakfast establishment, just minutes away from the white sandy beaches of Plettenberg Bay situated on South Africa’s Garden Route coast.Intimate, exclusive and private Thanda Vista offers 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms ( all with air-con, DSTV, bar fridge, mini safe, tea/coffee making facilities, etc. There is also a guest lounge with library, music centre and desk-top computer (with free Wi-Fi broadband internet access); a breakfast room with magnificent views of the Bay; roof-top terrace for fantastic whale watching; and on-site parking. Your hosts, long-time Plett residents JP and Petro van der Walt welcome you to Thanda Vista and they promise that, with their intimate knowledge of the area, you'll find there's so much to do you'll want to stay forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Thanda Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing