We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, I would recommend, you will not be disappointed”
Review of Thanda Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thanda Vista
Ranked #23 of 85 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2009

This is the second time I have stayed at Thanda Vista and I would recommend to anyone looking for a great Bed & Breakfast establishment in Plettenburg Bay.

Great location,3 minute walk to a lovely beach, 5 minutes from great restaurants and bars. Also close to all the local tourist attractions and golf courses virtually on your door step.

JP and Petro are fantastic hosts and the breakfast is worth the trip alone.

Definitely a 5 star establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haypet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2009

You can come and go as you like,
you can stay and relax or go touring the area which has plenty of things to do

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duncanghay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Superbly presented and managed Guest House in prime position. Would certainly revisit and recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggles470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

This is a superb guest house with attentive and friendly host JP and his wife. They could not do enough with recommendations for places to go, restaurant and taxi reservations and generally making sure everything was in order.
If I had one criticism it would be our room was perhaps a little on the small side but that did not detract from our enjoyment of the establishment.
The breakfasts are superb and JP, although he doesn't do the cooking obviously takes a great pride in the presentation.
The location is about five minutes drive from the centre of town and a short drive to a local shopping centre with amongst other things a supermarket. The nearest beach is about five minutes walk, although it is a beach without any other facilities.
All in all good place to stay and one I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rodski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

I had a delightful stay with JP and Petro at Thanda Vista Guesthouse. Stunning views of the ocean and mountains. Warm, friendly and personal attention received from my hosts and the breakfasts were exceptional!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elzethcoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

We found this guesthouse offers excellent accommodation with a very warm and homely atmosphere. The interior is of impecable taste and one gets a feeling of warmth and friendliness. The hosts are exceptionally caring and excell at giving personal attention.

This is truly top accommodation and a real home away from home.

Highly recommended.

Keith and Elmarie

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KEELJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulvX1362LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Bella Manga Country Escape
Bella Manga Country Escape
#25 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
239 reviews
3 mi away
Bitou River Lodge
Bitou River Lodge
#10 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
233 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Piesang Valley Lodge
Piesang Valley Lodge
#15 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
159 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#14 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#22 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanda Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanda Vista

Address: 8 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanda Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanda Vista is a Bed and Breakfast establishment, just minutes away from the white sandy beaches of Plettenberg Bay situated on South Africa’s Garden Route coast.Intimate, exclusive and private Thanda Vista offers 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms ( all with air-con, DSTV, bar fridge, mini safe, tea/coffee making facilities, etc. There is also a guest lounge with library, music centre and desk-top computer (with free Wi-Fi broadband internet access); a breakfast room with magnificent views of the Bay; roof-top terrace for fantastic whale watching; and on-site parking. Your hosts, long-time Plett residents JP and Petro van der Walt welcome you to Thanda Vista and they promise that, with their intimate knowledge of the area, you'll find there's so much to do you'll want to stay forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thanda Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing