We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts”
Review of Cornerway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornerway House
Ranked #10 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Great hosts”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Cornerway House for three nights in March and liked it very much. It offers very comfortable accommodation: our room (the Cottage) was attractively furnished and set in a delightful garden. Guests also have the use of a lovely veranda and sitting room and a pleasant pool. But for us the guesthouse really stood out for its charming and helpful owners and manager, who made excellent suggestions for things to do and places to visit. Our time in Plett would have been far less enjoyable without their advice. We would certainly recommend this guesthouse.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    45
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
103
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Travelling solo and stayed for a few days, lovely room, beautiful gardens, excellent breakfast and the most helpful hosts you could hope to find. Nothing was too much trouble and the relaxed atmosphere in this well run establishment means a definite return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoyslife10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were doing a trip through South Africa and spent 4 days in Plett.. We stayed in Cornerway House, a lovely guesthouse with a beauful garden and a very friendly manager & owners. We stayed in the cottage room and can highly recommend this room => very quiet.
Erik & Rieneke
Amsterdam, Netherlands

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rieneke_de_Weerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We had a nice stay here and the house is lovely
we Enjoyed breakfast and the service was great
We stayed in the cottage and I felt this was a bit tired and smelled musty
I only wish we had booked the main house as I'm sure this would have been better
We did have a nice stay though but I would not recommend the cottage until its had a minor refurb to be honest

Room Tip: Don't book the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Gorley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just to say we had a short but wonderful stay in Cornerway House. It is a beautiful place and we thought the room, setting, hospitality and helpfulness were all fantastic. Our only regret was we didn't stay for longer but now we know where Cornerway House is and we hope one day to be back for more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Great location not far from the beach in probably the nicest bit of Plett. Friendly staff/owners. and good value too. There's also the added bonus of a great restaurant (Scotties) just 200m up the road. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This B&B is my favorite of all time. I was amazingly impressed to every corner of this place. The owner put so much effort to make this place perfect is what I admire the most.

We were given a room upon our check in. This room was like a cottage home with every single item perfectly placed in the room. I already knew Im gonna have a great stay for 2 nights. Unfortunately, the bathroom lights were gone. The owner moved us to another room in a separate building. Double glass doors opened to this nice warm well designed room with completely different theme, decorations from the previous room. The room is not big but it had everything we need and beyond. I especially liked the towel warming tubes in the bathroom and the beddings.

Robin was so helpful and gave us some good travel tips in South Africa. Breakfast was so delicious anf set in a beautiful dining area beside the pool.

We had dinner across the street recommended by Robin and it was so delicious as well.

This B&B is obviously been touched up by a very dedicated interior designes (I think Carolyn is) and it's taken care by someone who really cares it like their own new purchased home.

It should be in those home and garden magazines. If you like home and garden stuff, cornerway is a place you for sure will enjoy! It's perfect home away from home B&B. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
4.4 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
774 reviews
3.4 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerway House

Property: Cornerway House
Address: 61 Longships Drive | Western Province, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerway House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerway House **** is a Cape/Dutch style house set in a pretty garden with a swimming pool. It is situated in a residential area and only 7 minutes walk from the golden sands of Robberg beach. It has 7 individually decorated bedrooms all en-suite and with their own entrance. There is also a self catering appartment to sleep 3. Children by arrangement. All dog lovers welcome and pets are alowed by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Cornerway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing