We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous guest house!”
Review of Cornerway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornerway House
Ranked #12 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous guest house!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed for 4 days in January as part of our honeymoon and had a really lovely time. The owners, Dee and Robin were brill, very helpful with recommendations and the guest house itself was devine.......so pretty and secluded with a beautiful breakfast area overlooking the pool and a fab breakfast also!
We thoroughly enjoyed the brief time we spent there and would defo recommed it to others of all ages.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    44
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
101
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This lovely home is used exclusively as a guest house (the owners live next door) and what a house it is. There are nice gardens, a covered patio, a pool and all the interior comforts of home. Everything is very pretty and well decorated. We are here in fall, and I cannot imagine how glorious this place must be with the spring and summer blooms.

We have the largest room; there is a luggage rack for one suitcase but it is hard to find a spot for the other one, if you are a couple; we're using the chair. So the largest room is not huge is my point. Comfy bed pillows and nice bed linens but the bed is a bit hard for my taste; my husband is fine with it. Our bath is enormous, lots of hot water and a good strong shower. Wish the toilet were not up an 8" step up. Strong wi-fi throughout the house. Breakfast is the conventional cooked one.

The hosts could not be more charming or helpful. Would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We would like to thank Margaret for her review. We have just one point and that is Sage room where she stayed is not our largest by any means. It is the one she selected when booking on line.

We do hope we see her and her husband again.

Kindest regards,

Robin Pelham-Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Cornerway House for three nights in March and liked it very much. It offers very comfortable accommodation: our room (the Cottage) was attractively furnished and set in a delightful garden. Guests also have the use of a lovely veranda and sitting room and a pleasant pool. But for us the guesthouse really stood out for its charming and helpful owners and manager, who made excellent suggestions for things to do and places to visit. Our time in Plett would have been far less enjoyable without their advice. We would certainly recommend this guesthouse.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Travelling solo and stayed for a few days, lovely room, beautiful gardens, excellent breakfast and the most helpful hosts you could hope to find. Nothing was too much trouble and the relaxed atmosphere in this well run establishment means a definite return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoyslife10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were doing a trip through South Africa and spent 4 days in Plett.. We stayed in Cornerway House, a lovely guesthouse with a beauful garden and a very friendly manager & owners. We stayed in the cottage room and can highly recommend this room => very quiet.
Erik & Rieneke
Amsterdam, Netherlands

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rieneke_de_Weerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We had a nice stay here and the house is lovely
we Enjoyed breakfast and the service was great
We stayed in the cottage and I felt this was a bit tired and smelled musty
I only wish we had booked the main house as I'm sure this would have been better
We did have a nice stay though but I would not recommend the cottage until its had a minor refurb to be honest

Room Tip: Don't book the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Gorley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just to say we had a short but wonderful stay in Cornerway House. It is a beautiful place and we thought the room, setting, hospitality and helpfulness were all fantastic. Our only regret was we didn't stay for longer but now we know where Cornerway House is and we hope one day to be back for more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
1.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#9 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#11 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerway House

Property: Cornerway House
Address: 61 Longships Drive | Western Province, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerway House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerway House **** is a Cape/Dutch style house set in a pretty garden with a swimming pool. It is situated in a residential area and only 7 minutes walk from the golden sands of Robberg beach. It has 7 individually decorated bedrooms all en-suite and with their own entrance. There is also a self catering appartment to sleep 3. Children by arrangement. All dog lovers welcome and pets are alowed by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cornerway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing