We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Cornerway House”
Review of Cornerway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornerway House
Ranked #11 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay at Cornerway House”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed in cornerway house on our trip to Plett Bay and Garden Route. I have no complaints about the ladies who helped with breakfast each day and made the rooms but about the management. The management did not treat the line staff well at all and it was such a shame to see that. We also found a cockroach in the kitchen area which ruined our stay. The room where we stayed smelled very very musky. Overall, it was too expensive for the quality provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    44
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
101
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Well what a nice surprise, such a pretty home set in very pretty gardens. Unfortunately our visit was not during the Summer as it must be lovely to sit and while away a few hours at the poolside. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely sized bathroom, Robin made us feel at home and was very helpful with places to eat. The breakfast was very nice served at the table in the kitchen come dining area, it was nice to meet the friendly cook and also the friendly pets.Lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernyruff2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your very kind remarks and we are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. I do hope that some day in the future you will come and stay again.

kindest regards,

Robin Pelham-Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I was Privileged to be able to stay in Cornerway House Again this Year. - In the Verandah Room with the Wonderful walk in Bathroom which since its addition has tramsforned my stay due to the independence it has allowed me - Thank You SO MUCH IT Means the world. The Bedroom is a lovely airy Bright Space. The Bed is luxurious and the SLEEP QUALITY GLORIOUS. The Breakfast is fit for Royalty and the attention to detail superb. Nothing is too much trouble. Cornerway House to me is My home away from Home. I have reccommeded it to friends. it deserves Five STARS

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairebloomLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Manager at Cornerway House, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Claire

As always it was a pleasure having you with us! We are most pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that the changes we made in the room were of benefit to you. We value your comments and look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards

Caroline Helberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Cornerway House is a little home from home in Plett, with comfortable rooms and a great breakfast, all in a lovely garden setting. We particularly appreciated the quality touches in the room - lots of good specially-blended filter coffee, cotton wool and earbuds and Charlotte Rhys products in the bathroom (what a nice change from chain store cheap stuff), and a much-needed electric blanket. They are also apparently pet-friendly, so a win for people travelling with dogs. Robin was most helpful and recommended an excellent dinner spot. Cornerway is also terrific value for money. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed for 4 days in January as part of our honeymoon and had a really lovely time. The owners, Dee and Robin were brill, very helpful with recommendations and the guest house itself was devine.......so pretty and secluded with a beautiful breakfast area overlooking the pool and a fab breakfast also!
We thoroughly enjoyed the brief time we spent there and would defo recommed it to others of all ages.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This lovely home is used exclusively as a guest house (the owners live next door) and what a house it is. There are nice gardens, a covered patio, a pool and all the interior comforts of home. Everything is very pretty and well decorated. We are here in fall, and I cannot imagine how glorious this place must be with the spring and summer blooms.

We have the largest room; there is a luggage rack for one suitcase but it is hard to find a spot for the other one, if you are a couple; we're using the chair. So the largest room is not huge is my point. Comfy bed pillows and nice bed linens but the bed is a bit hard for my taste; my husband is fine with it. Our bath is enormous, lots of hot water and a good strong shower. Wish the toilet were not up an 8" step up. Strong wi-fi throughout the house. Breakfast is the conventional cooked one.

The hosts could not be more charming or helpful. Would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We would like to thank Margaret for her review. We have just one point and that is Sage room where she stayed is not our largest by any means. It is the one she selected when booking on line.

We do hope we see her and her husband again.

Kindest regards,

Robin Pelham-Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Cornerway House for three nights in March and liked it very much. It offers very comfortable accommodation: our room (the Cottage) was attractively furnished and set in a delightful garden. Guests also have the use of a lovely veranda and sitting room and a pleasant pool. But for us the guesthouse really stood out for its charming and helpful owners and manager, who made excellent suggestions for things to do and places to visit. Our time in Plett would have been far less enjoyable without their advice. We would certainly recommend this guesthouse.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
723 reviews
1.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerway House

Property: Cornerway House
Address: 61 Longships Drive | Western Province, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerway House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerway House **** is a Cape/Dutch style house set in a pretty garden with a swimming pool. It is situated in a residential area and only 7 minutes walk from the golden sands of Robberg beach. It has 7 individually decorated bedrooms all en-suite and with their own entrance. There is also a self catering appartment to sleep 3. Children by arrangement. All dog lovers welcome and pets are alowed by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cornerway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing