We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Cornerway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornerway House
Ranked #11 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
1 review
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Huge Thank you to Robin and Cathy. We enjoyed our stay and so did our 2 little dogs. I can highly recommend Cornerway. Friendly, efficient and professional
Kind regards and again thank you
Michelle Bosman



  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle_b871 B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for this review. It was a delight to have you to stay along with your 4 leggeds. Hope we see you all again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    44
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
101
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Ohio, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Cornerway House really is a home from home. The care & attention I received there was exceptional- I felt safe ( important as a solo traveller) comfortable,well-fed & I did not want for anything; neither did I want to leave! From the moment I arrived I was in no doubt about how excellent my stay would be .A secure ,comfortable room with every facility and everything provided- comfy bed,squishy pillows,crisp sheets,flowers in the room and on the breakfast table.Eggs poached, fried or any way to perfection every day by the wonderful "Cornerway House " ladies,Rachel,Gloria & Phyllis.Robin,Dee & Kathy will make sure you are very well looked after and make your stay in Plett one of the bes

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VirginiaS270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review and mentioning our staff. It is a great encouragement for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this location and couldn't have been happier. The staff was very accommodating, the morning breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. Upon arrival we were asked what we would like to do around the area and were given suggestions of places to visit and places to eat. We were very happy with their suggestions.

My father was not feeling well on his way to Cornerway House. We called and asked if we could possibly check in early. The said ABSOLUTELY and made sure not only our parents room was ready but our room was also ready. It's little touches to details like this that were common during our stay at Cornerway House.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 756MikeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and that we were able to be of help to you.
I hope your father has fully recovered?
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Staying at Cornerway House is a bit like staying in someone’s own house. Robin, we didn’t see too much of Dee, was helpful without being intrusive, offering some very useful tips on what to see and where to eat. We thought his suggestion of the fish restaurant, Off-the Hook, excellent and enjoyed reasonably priced meals there for each of our nights in Plettenberg. Breakfast is served on the veranda overlooking the pool, which is large enough for a swim. We had the Veranda Room, a spacious room with plenty of storage and a large shower. Not that we felt at risk but it is worth noting that the safe is only large enough for essential documents and is too small for an iPad or laptop. The parking is secure and undercover. Our only grumble is that we would have preferred a change of towels during our four night stay. When we left the used ones on the floor as a sign for a change, they were just put back on the towel rail. We had a very relaxing time at Cornerway and were given full run of the facilities. Robin even offered the use of the kitchen if we wanted but a visit to Off-the Hook was our favoured option!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Constructive criticism is always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Beautiful gardens, stylish room and verandah in nice colours with lovely details decorated. Great big shower. We enjoyed the breakfast on the pool terrace . But first of all: Thanks for the hospitality and all the tips!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fewosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope the rest of your trip in SA was also great fun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We spent a few nights at this nice place on our trip along the Garden Route from the Cape Town to Port Elisabeth. Dee and Robin and the staff are great people who will go miles to help you along with suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. Their dogs and cats add to the pleasure of visiting this great place. We will definitively come back when visiting Plettenbeg again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us and also for your generous review. We all enjoy in having such interesting people to stay.

Kindest Regards,

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterzing
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Nice B+B in Plettenberg Bay, excellent and friendly people! Very englisch with small swimming pool, nice garden ecc. It was super to stay there so if I return to Plettenberg of course i would return!.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
1.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerway House

Property: Cornerway House
Address: 61 Longships Drive | Western Province, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerway House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerway House **** is a Cape/Dutch style house set in a pretty garden with a swimming pool. It is situated in a residential area and only 7 minutes walk from the golden sands of Robberg beach. It has 7 individually decorated bedrooms all en-suite and with their own entrance. There is also a self catering appartment to sleep 3. Children by arrangement. All dog lovers welcome and pets are alowed by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cornerway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing