We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An English cottage feel in the middle of South Africa”
Review of Cornerway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornerway House
Ranked #11 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Upon entering the premises, you feel like you're transported into a lovely English garden. The rooms are an extension of that feel with beautifully decorated beds, lovely heated towels (much appreciated in winter!) and toiletries to meet all your needs. Breakfast is an experience on its own with the works (I'm talking Full English Breakfast). If you're ever in Plettenberg Bay looking for a place to stay. This is it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but I particularly liked the one right at the top near the owner's hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jintymikmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Manager at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed our English Garden and it seems the English breakfast was a perfect match. Hope you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Looked at many Guest houses in this area before booking with Cornerway House but this place really jumped out at me. Was travelling with a friend and introducing her to what the Cape province had to offer to a British Tourist and this place didn't disappoint.
We booked two rooms the sage and the rose rooms for 3 nights. We arrived to a warm welcome from the owner Robin and were shown our rooms and given wonderful advice for eating that evening. After a good nights sleep we met Kathy who is the Manager of the guest house who couldn't have given us any more help on the attractions surrounding the area.
Breakfast is served in the formal dining room in the cooler months and on the stoop in the summer. Plenty to choose from and freshly cooked to order.. I like the way all guests sit together and are made to feel very welcome.
The swimming pool which unfortunately didn't use due to the cooler temperature looked so inviting. The gardens surrounding the house are totally immaculate and tranquil with alot of bougainvillea.
To sum up I would advice anyone single couples and families to try this guest house. It doesn't offer panoramic views of the coast or a contemporary feel. What it does offer is traditional comfort in the highest degree. Warmth and comfort to a traveller wanting to chill and relax after a day out with everything to help the traveller unwind.
You get a lovely sitting room to relax and two outside areas either by the pool and at the front of the house and also get covered secure parking for your car. You also get the two most friendly dogs Hercule and Zebadie and Cynthia the cat that welcome you home.

Room Tip: there was no fitness centre or room service. There is a good gym close at hand and you literally 3 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davmar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Manager at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found it very comfortable. Do hope you come vist again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have traveled much of the world and have stayed in virtually all categories of accommodations. Cornerway house truly is in a class of its own. The level of personalized service is unparalleled and is on par if not exceeding some world renowned chains such as the Shangri-La. Always friendly and accommodating the staff ensure that all their guests are tended to and no one is left wanting. Cornerway House provides its guests with an all encompassing atmosphere of comfort and peace, be it while having a morning coffee by the garden watching the sun rise or a nice quite evening next to the fireplace with good book.

This was truly an experience to remember and hope to have the opportunity to return and revisit this remarkable establishment. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohan_DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

What can I say?? Thank you so much for such a glowing review. As you know it is our mission to do everything possible to accommodate our guests and make their stay memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just a lovely place to stay.. We really cannot fault a thing about Cornerway House. The breakfasts were delicious and the staff were so friendly.. Robin and Kathy were just fantastic.. Just Fabulous..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for very generous review. Isn't breakfast the most important meal of the day?? We are so pleased you enjoyed ours. Hope to see you again in the next while.

Kind regards.

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Three of us stayed 5 nights - we could not have been made more welcome. Robin and Kathy were extremely friendly and helpful giving us lots of useful local information. The breakfasts were A1 and the rooms very comfortable - the best B and B we used in our three week visit to SA!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

It is always fantastic for us when guests book for two nights and then stay for five. Thank you so much for you review. I do hope we see you agian in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We previously stayed in One Hanois when we went to Plett but unfortunately it is no longer in business. We booked at Cornerway house,(Tino terrace room) but were a bit disappointed because the room was really small and the double doors opened on a path to other rooms. On the pictures it looked like it has a private little courtyard, but that was not the case. The cushions and the bedding were not of very good quality, and a outside light by the window which we could not switch off were not so nice. The bathroom was also a bit small for two people. I would definately not rate this establishment a four star.
We enjoyed the breakfasts on the stoep, but everything is a bit outdated. On the positive side, the owner were friendly and our room very clean.
Every day we had very nice outings and experiences and that made our holiday enjoyable.

Room Tip: Did not see the other rooms, but do not choose the Tino terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Jeanette.

I am so sorry that your room was not up to your expectations. The cushions are in-fact an African rustic linen.

We are pleased that you found your room clean. This of course is a major standard for us and also you had a good breakfast and found us helpful.

Kind regards.

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The owner and manager were so friendly and hugely helpful. They made lots of suggestions and offered to make bookings and reservations to help us make the most of our visit from boat trips to beautiful restaurants and it is thanks to them that we had the most amazing time in Plettenberg Bay and we hope to return.

The B&B is easy to get to and very secure with gated parking. Our room was very comfortable and a good size. The bathroom was excellent with a nice big shower. The breakfast was great with lots of options and set us up for the day.

I highly recommend this B&B and to the owner, manager and staff - thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Just, Thank you, Thank you for your very generous review. I certainly do hope you come and stay with us again.

Kindest regards.

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#9 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#14 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
215 reviews
3.4 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#3 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerway House

Address: 61 Longships Drive | Western Province, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £62 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerway House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerway House **** is a Cape/Dutch style house set in a pretty garden with a swimming pool. It is situated in a residential area and only 7 minutes walk from the golden sands of Robberg beach. It has 7 individually decorated bedrooms all en-suite and with their own entrance. There is also a self catering appartment to sleep 3. Children by arrangement. All dog lovers welcome and pets are alowed by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cornerway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing