We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gateaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Ranked #18 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked at Fynbos Ridge for 3 days and we discovered a beautiful place to rest
The cottage was extremely confortable with beautiful furniture together with excellent service
The swimming pool was idyllic with superb views. Our hosts were very kind and helpful and
Brian made a lovely breakfast. We hope to go back one day........

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

We would love to have you back again one day. Thank you for the lovely comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during our 6 week trip to South Africa . We stayed in the self catering studio which is very comfortable and equipped with everything we required. Brian and Liz went out of their way to look after us. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wootton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you! We would love to have you back again when you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

After a long drive from Franschoeck, the sight of Fynbos Ridge and it's tranquil setting was just what I needed. The welcome was great and their advice on where to eat much appreciated. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank grt1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, please visit us if you come to the Garden Route again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A truly magical place. Brian and Liz are perfect hosts who are supported by an excellent team.We stayed in Plumbago which is a lovely room on the terrace with a great view of the hills in the distance. The room was all that could be wished for.
The whole house is beautifully decorated - Liz has great taste and skill and Brian produced some wonderful Dinners for us - his breakfasts really set you up for the day.
We can't wait to return and enjoy the luxury, peace and hospitality of Fynbos Ridge.
Mike & Di Hesford

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nimrod21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

We hope that your first visit to South Africa won't be your last - you will have to come and see the view from your room now....I have redone the garden, and chopped out a lot to open the view up more. Thanks for taking the time to submit a review, and your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is the place where you feel treated like royalty. We had a downstairs room which was huge, big bed, fantastic linen and furniture - luxurious bathroom and private garden and patio. Everything is decorated beautifully. The location is wonderful, private and secure. Breakfast is full of choices and perfectly cooked. Served on the patio with fantastic views of the mountains. Charming and attentive hosts and staff. They have a honesty bar that is well stocked and offer an evening meal that was wonderful. Only thing we would have liked to have seen was a price list at the honesty bar - it just makes everything transparent. We felt the wine at the evening meal was pricey.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh_Ann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for the review, and for the good suggestion. We will be putting a price list into the bar as requested, and should have thought of that sooner! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Coming here for many years Fynbos Ridge is the perfect place to unwind and relax while enjoying spectacular views of the mountains. Impeccable and attentive service, lovely location and charming hosts !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you! We are very blessed to have such kind and loyal guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

What a treat to have stayed at Fynbos Ridge, we had a perfect weekend there. The moment we stepped into the the two bedroom cottage we were won over! The finish and attention to detail in each room is suburb. Comfy beds, great towels, dressing gowns, little box of bathroom items incase you forgot your toothbrush, and the kitchen was so well equipped, even recipe books available so you could cook up a storm! The fireplaces and braai were laid daily and we had the biggest comfiest couch to relax and watch movies together.
Outside there are the most incredible views both from the cottage and the pool area, we were in Plett to visit the area but we just wanted to stay at our cottage, relax by the pool, and eat great meals!
Each morning we were cooked breakfast by our wonderful hosts, Liz and Brian. They were attentive, personable and excellent hosts.
Overall, I can definitely say we loved our stay here! Thank you...

Room Tip: We stayed in Aristea Cottage, perfect in every way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyHaslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for this lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed Plettenberg Bay, we love it here too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
760 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kurland Hotel
Kurland Hotel
#7 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
#1 of 3 in Harkerville
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Address: Look For Brown Road | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £137 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Fynbos. Spectacular mountain views. Abundant birdlife. Relax and unwind. We invite you to experience our magnificent Private Nature Reserve. Choose between a luxurious suite in the gracious Cape-style Manor House or a spacious, secluded self-catering cottage. Delicious dining and alfresco breakfasts are available. 5-star TGCSA graded. Carbon Neutral Approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing