We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Describe more than Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Ranked #16 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape May, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Describe more than Excellent”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I will never go an stay anywhere else when I am in Plettenberg Bay except at Fynbos Ridge. We were treated like Royalty. The cottage that we stayed in was excellent. The facilities was more than 5 star. Everything was exceptionally clean. The cottage is totally private and had the most stunning views. This was an experience that I will never forget. It was my birthday weekend and it made me feel even more special. The breakfast was prepared to perfection and our hosts treated us like part of the family. We WILL definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    26
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
101
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the Self catering cottages, and I have a massive regret - it was only for 2 nights - oh how I wish it had been for a week! The cottage Aristea was fantastic - a lovely well appointed cottage. The beds were extremely comfortable and the lounge too was comfy. The shower was wonderful, the best shower in our 24 day holiday! The location was fantastic. As a bird watcher it was great for me to wander down to the pool early morning and see the great variety of birds buzzing around all the fynbos as well as at the bird feeders. Great view of the mountains and was really peaceful here. There is also so much to do at Plett - and we were only a short drive from the town and seafront, with the lovely beaches and great restaurants as well as activities.
We had a great welcome from Mel and Brian and ordered breakfast too, which was really fresh, wholesome and beautifully cooked. We also enjoyed meeting the pigs - what a great friendly place this is! We also ordered a dinner for the second night, asking for Ostrich. The dinner was fantastic and what a great cook Brian is - we absolutely loved the food - great dessert too that we didn't expect but of course ate up!
We spent 22 days in SA (2 days flying) on this holiday and this was my favourite and most comfortable place we stayed at. Shame it was winter but never mind as we did get to sit outside of an evening, but I would love to go back in summer and stay there as the view was fantastic, the scenery awe inspiring and the cottage so comfortable - it was a true home from home - I just wished we had missed out Oudtshoorn and stayed at Fynbos ridge a lot longer. I would thoroughly recommend Fynbos ridge and i do look forward to a return visit in a couple of years time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Brian waited outside as we entered the property welcoming us and showed us our BIG room. We booked Plambago after looking at the different options on the website. This was much larger that we expected and so cozy. We had a walk in cupboard, a huge bathroom with shower and bath and the biggest bed ever. I am sure it can sleep 4 people :o) the doors and windows opened up on a verandah / stoep, overlooking the beautiful mountains. There are many birds. We even saw a Knysna Loerie the morning sipping our coffee outside. The breakfast was really well presented and I loved the Woolworths yogurt for a change and also the mushrooms and poached eggs. The piggies was a bit of a shock at first, although I love animals, but it was strange seeing them as pets around. But I soon got a like in them and they seemed very disciplined and have a personality, almost like dogs. We were sad that we only booked one night. Packing in and out really just does not work and is tiring in the end. We which we rather spend 2 nights here, than rushing off to Knysna. This and the Zinzi restaurant close by was the highlight of our holiday. We will recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: Plambago is huge, very big bed with walk in closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had an awesome stay at fynbos ,from the welcoming to our depart.The place is very beatiful , equipped with all you need away from the tiring city. We stayed with our 2 year old daughter so it's very child friendly.Hiking trails and spectacular views and its located near to all the main attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Devon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at Fynbos Ridge for 2 nights and it was a truly awesome experience. The service was excellent, the rooms were luxurious and the breakfast was great! We will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Breath-taking views, immaculate surroundings, attentive owners, homely and perfect!!! Easy access to shops, swimming pool, walks and gardens. Need I say more? Don't even consider it, just book it! !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JennetWatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Thanks to hosts Brian & Liz for allowing us to share their piece of "HEAVEN".
My wife & I had two glorious nights at Fynbos at the beginning of April.
Just out of the hustle & bustle of Plett, but close enough to enjoy some time on the beach.
Everything was just perfect.The swimming pool is hidden in the fynbos and whilst there saw a number of different bird species.
Incredible birding for anyone interested.
Will definitely be seeing us again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the Country House, but walked to the Cottages, which looked incredible for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
4.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
724 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
#1 of 3 in Harkerville
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Property: Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Address: Look For Brown Road | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Fynbos. Spectacular mountain views. Abundant birdlife. Relax and unwind. We invite you to experience our magnificent Private Nature Reserve. Choose between a luxurious suite in the gracious Cape-style Manor House or a spacious, secluded self-catering cottage. Delicious dining and alfresco breakfasts are available. 5-star TGCSA graded. Carbon Neutral Approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing