We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Adrienne and Bernie are two people who strive to make Your stay comfortable and their attention to detail is faultless.
From the time we arrived and the time we left - My Parents and My Wifes Mom got the best treatment from warm comforatble rooms to well prepared breakfasts and the information given to surrounding resturants were impecable.
So we - The Viljoen Family - Would like to commend the Bayside Team from the owners to the cooking / cleaning staff a very big Thank You and we'll see You soon in the near future.

Room Tip: The outside cottage is perfect for a couple who want privacy and as a come and go. Fitness Area - g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brentus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
wow Brent thanks so much for the great review! We loved having your family to stay and sharing in all the pre and post wedding excitement. We hope Bayside has added to all those memories Belinda has of Plett and we would love to see you again soon. Thanks also for the foursquare intro. - I have posted a photo! Congratulations to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    32
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
145
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and warm hospitality from Adrienne and her husband. We could not have asked for more and the breakfast was delicious! We were also very impressed by the cleanliness. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jancke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review Jancke and for choosing Bayside for a weekend away from PE. Please visit again soon as our winter rates offer such a good deal! We look forward to seeing you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hospitality, cleaness, breakfast, it was the best B&B in during our trip. The wet towels and orangejuice welcome and the superb rooms made our stay unforgetable. We wil certainly return !! Also the help in finding the best restaurant in Town (The Big Fat Fish) was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much Ben - glad you enjoyed your meal at the Fat Fish - so many of our guests are enjoying the walk along Robberg Beach to the restaurants at Central beach and then taking Noel's taxi home. We hope you visit Plett for longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We only stayed one night and it was a good nights rest.
Do I need to mention the Boss also being the Porter.
Thank you very much we felt right at home and the next time we will stay for longer and enjoy Plettenberg bay !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ElvauDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much Lutz - it was great meeting you and your family and chatting about Namibia - such a pity there was no time for the girls to use the pool and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I had a lovely couple of nights stay in Plett, and found Baydside to be an absolute gem of a place! Adrienne and Bernie were fabulous hosts throughout. We were met with an ice cold drink and given a full and comprehensive introduction the lodge and to Plett itself. We stayed in the Honeysuckle room - a jacuzzi after surfing/bungy jumping and everything else was heavenly, not to mention very novel! Everything had been thought of, through to beach towels and loungers to borrow. On explaining that we would be missing breakfast one of the days, a fantastic packed breakfast was prepared for us which sustained us through until supper! Adrienne and Bernie were also fascinating to chat too, and we managed to put away a fair amount of sherry doing just that. The only VERY minor inconvenience was the distance from Plett main street which is walkable...if you like a good 25min uphill walk! The taxi service that is recommend in the information booklet was great though- was there in minutes, was well prices, and also collected us after an evening in town. Can't recommend Bayside Lodge enough, and I hope we can return one day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for this great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time around Plett and at Bayside - that jacuzzi is very popular! We enjoyed getting to know you and hope to see you again soon! There are plenty more of those adrenalin pumping activities you still need to do!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at Bayside lodge in January 2014 and were really impressed and could find no fault. The rooms were comfortable and spotless with several nice extra touches. The breakfast was the best of our whole trip with a wide choice. Therefore we were disappointed to be advised that the Guest house had changed hands but having read the comments posted since the change over it seems that Bayside is still highly regarded. We will be staying in Plett again and if the new team keep up this high standard Bayside would be are choose.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 785JOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to follow Bayside's posts and for writing this review. We are so happy to be here and 100% committed to carrying Lindy's seamless hospitality into the future. We have so many ambitions and plans to make Bayside even better and we do feel that by living on the property we are adding an extra dimension of hands on hosting. Martha and Ntombi are still here making those delicious breakfasts and we look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Bayside again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very friendly and warm welcome awaited us. Thank you for helping us to keep the grapes frozen and not wanting a sent for it. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff very friendly. Rooms were very clean and they even supplied bathing towels for the sea, thanks we forgot. I will recommend you to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Alberta5313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne E, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
It was wonderful to meet you all and thank you for the kind words. I hope the grapes were a hit at the wedding and the rest of your trip went well. Thank you so much for the delicious Hanepoort grapes which are only finishing now - guests have raved about them on our breakfast platters! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Lodge

Property: Bayside Lodge
Address: 5 Sanganer Avenue | Robberg, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside Lodge, A five bedroomed owner run Bed and Breakfast is perfectly positioned with its proximity to Plett's magnificent beaches, the famous Robberg Nature Reserve, shopping centres, restaurants, sporting facilities (including world class golf courses) and a perfect base from which to explore the Garden Route. We offer quality hospitality and accommodation to suite everyone's taste - be it your honeymoon or a family holiday. Set in a quiet residential area, a mere 3 minutes walk from Robberg beach, Bayside encompasses peace and tranquility with quality accommodation and all the amenities of a four star lodge. We offer personalised service combined with a warm and "home from home" atmosphere. Scrumptious complimentary English and Continental breakfasts are served in the dining room or patio overlooking a tranquil garden with a secluded salt-water pool. Enjoy a sundowner on the patio and watch the birds coming to our birdfeeders and birdbaths in the beautiful garden. There is off street parking and a comfortable guest lounge with lots of references books, brochures and restaurant menus. Wifi and sherry are also included in the room rate and we provide beach towels, games, umbrellas and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bayside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing